Be careful of using mouthwash that contains alcohol…

Standard

Last year I served on a grand jury panel and one juror showed up for the first time after the panel had already been in place for over 5 days.  Curious about the absence, as the court is very strict about absence from this duty, we inquired and found out that this individual’s brother had died of throat cancer and he himself found out after the funeral that he too had the same cancer.  The doctors attributed both brothers cancers to daily use of alcohol mouthwash.  Shortly after this time I met a woman who was introduced to a group I was joining on a theater outing and after being introduced she announced to all that Australia had banned all mouthwashes containing alcohol.  She got everyone to agree they would search online about the relationship between use of alcohol mouthwash and cancer.  After I did my reading I was astounded.  I again saw the industry pandering to the dental professions and big advertising that make us all think how critical this is for daily hygiene.  To play this all forward I hope you too will do your homework about the dangers of using mouthwash with alcohol.  We were led to believe that strong burning sensation was cleaning up the germs, viruses and bad breath.  In fact it is burning the tissues creating oral sores and often cancerous tissues.  When smokers use this alcohol laced mouthwash it increases the effects of damage more so.  So you are asking what’s my option?  Alcohol free products are safer.   I try to stay with companies that have a good track record producing  natural products.  There is another natural suggestion to use fennel seeds.  You may notice at Indian restaurants they have some seeds for mouth fresheners (some have colored candies that are full of sugar, so stick with the plain fennel seeds in hindi called sounff).  A suggestion for home use is to make a pot of herbal mint tea (or other herbal variety) and steep the fennel seeds until boiling.  Keep the seeds in this tea and chew throughout the day(s).  It helps reduce colic,  burping, gas and indigestion along with making your breath fresh.  Here’s to your good health!! Namaste.

49 responses »

  1. I had never heard anything about alcohol in mouthwash causing cancer, but after reading this post I definitely will be switching to an alcohol free or natural mouthwash. I can attest to the fennel seeds working just as well, as I always take some when they are offered at Indian food restaurants. Obviously fennel is also much safer and won’t exacerbate any gum problems like alcohol. I just wish I knew sooner that mouthwash with alcohol had such detrimental effects. I will definitely be telling my friends and family to do some research on the subject in the future.

    • Yes do keep sharing this information to help others stay safe. I noticed that you have moved ahead with the assignment which is wonderful but also #1,2,5 are missing, if you have already completed do print them out and bring to class for full credit, thanks again, OM

  2. This posting was quite interesting to me, for a couple reasons. First of all, I had no clue that my mouthwash was made with any kind of alcohol. Secondly, I never would have thought that alcohol inside of a mouthwash product could lead to cancer! How could something that promotes a healthy clean mouth, and something that kills germs and bad breath, create more harm than good? Fortunately i have decided against mouthwash long before I read this article simply because It took too much time away form my already busy morning after I had already brushed my teeth. Now that I know mouthwash containing alcohol could lead to certain death, I will most certainly stray away from it and its harmful effects.
    Lastly, this article also made me a little disappointed with our governments regulation of drugs and alcohol. How could one overlook something as harmful and dangerous as alcohol riddled within a product most people use daily. Even children use mouthwash occasionally, although probably containing a significant less amount of alcohol, even any amount could be just as harmful. Knowing what I know now, I will try to tell those around me about the harmful effects of mouthwash containing alcohol for the benefit of their health and safety. In the future, If i truly need mouthwash, I will be sure to check if it contains any amount of alcohol in it; my tissues inside my body are much more important that a having an over-the-top dosage of breath freshener.

    • Aurora, do know that foods/products are produced by corporations and their primary concern is to make profits not for peoples well-being…when time permits do look at the latest post on the blog to view the film “Hungry for Change” to understand about the industry things that citizens are usually aware of and do share this with friends and family…it ends being free on 3/31…Namaste

  3. Moneace Smith

    I have done the Isha Kriya this day about seven times and it has helped my body stretch and I have been more in tune of what my body wants and needs. I have never felt so connected with my body then I do now.

    I find this very interesting seeing as dental and hygiene professionals do push that people use specific products to help in the use of a clean mouth. What has become more outrageous s that there have been no commercials or informative news on this issue to let everyone know about the causes and and affects of alcohol mouth wash.

    What I believe should be done since the affect of alcohol mouth wash are extremely dangerous like causing lung cancer there should be a recall of any products like mouth wash with alcohol in it. I find this very informative at the same time extremely outraged at the FDA.

  4. I did not realize that mouthwash with alcohol could be so damaging to the body. Now that I know this information I will be careful not to use it. I also did not know what fennel seeds were up until now. Now knowing that they work just as well as mouthwash I will be sure to use them in the future after eating. I will be sure to tell everyone I know that mouthwash containing alcohol is dangerous and fennel seeds can be used to replace it. I have been practicing Isha Kriya 3-4 times this past week. I have had a lot of homework and tests, which ultimately means i have ben very stressed out. I have seen that the more I practice this the more relaxed I feel and the more I can concentrate.

  5. Sometimes I wonder if we are doing anything right for our health! So many of the things that are meant to help us really end up hurting us. I don’t use mouthwash on a regular basis, and usually chose the natural ones when I do, such as Tom’s of Maine. I will pass this message along to my family.

  6. I had never heard of the dangerous effects of mouthwash containing alcohol, but after reading this post, I will definitely be switching to a more natural brand. I have experienced the burning sensations talked about above with my current mouthwash and it’s very worrying now that I am armed with this information. My father told me that Tom’s of Maine makes a great natural brand that is alcohol-free and as a Mainer myself, I am very excited to try it!

    I found the other post about success mantras very interesting. All of us want to be successful in our own way, and these mantras help maintain a larger picture on the journey to the end result by focusing on the present, rather then the distant future. I especially appreciated the part about not fixing on failure, and if you do fail, you can only learn from it and take a lesson away from it. I also found it very interesting that one of the mantras was to embrace the people and things you dislike. Altering your personality to be many things to different people, while still being loving and accepting, and being open to doing things you do not like, can only make you a stronger, more capable person and I hope to do this more.

    I practiced the Isha Kriya 3 times this past week. After our performance week, I got sick with a bad head cold and found it very difficult to breathe easily while doing the Kriya. Hopefully it will be much better this week, now that my health is back on track.

  7. This was super shocking to read, but then again it seems like everything that isn’t 100% natural causes cancer nowadays. Its sad to think that corporations would sell something to us with the knowledge that it causes the lining in our mouths to erode. People buy this product with the intent of having good hygiene and its a shame to know they’re unaware that it’s results are quite the opposite. I luckily don’t use mouthwash very often because I think that brushing and flossing is sufficient and I also don’t like the sting of the wash. Since I’ve got older I’ve been very mindful of what ingredients are in the products I use. I try my hardest to use organic and natural products. Even though its a bit more expensive — I definitely feel like I’m doing less harm to my body.

    • Lena, so good that you are aware of how important it is explore the contents of products before purchasing and that you value your health most. Do listen to post dated 8/1, comment, print and bring in for full credit along with your weekly log about your Isha Kriya, Namaste

  8. This is not the first time that I have heard of the dangers of mouthwash that contains alcohol, and for this reason I will only use alcohol-free mouthwash. I find it terribly disturbing that dental care brands continue to manufacture alcohol-based mouthwash and the oral health industry continues to promote such products despite the link between alcohol-based mouthwash and oral cancer. I think natural oral hygiene alternatives are great. I am a huge fan mint tea. I have also tried the plain fennel seeds, or sounff, they have a nice licorice flavor.

    Last week I did the Isha Kriya fives times. I find that this practice is very helpful after classes when I am mentally fatigued and need a moment to recollect myself. I feel as though all my thoughts become untangled and afterwards I am able to refocus and work more effectively. And when I am physically tired, this practice has helped me regain energy so I do not have to depend on naps that leave me groggy.

    Michaela

  9. It was alarming to read that mouthwash can cause cancer. I have never been big on using mouthwash, mainly relying on careful brushing and flossing. I am glad to know this information now though because if I ever do use new products for my dental routine I can be aware of any burning sensations and consider not using those products.

  10. This is very interesting- where there any specific companies being charged? I know that my friends and I always talk about how much we hate listerine because of the burn. Very good information, surprising.

  11. This is true. I have seen and read cases regarding this issue. I also learned unfortunately that it is the best, cheapest and LEGAL way for a person to obtain alcohol for consumption. I remember in middle school my teacher in health class that all of us could buy alcohol and it would be legal! I thought this teacher was nuts! But when he described the amount of alcohol contained in a bottle of mouth wash enough to get a person drunk, I was surprised. I just thought that alcohol was a special one for rinsing bacteria of the mouth. When I used mouth wash, it would burn my gums, dentist would tell me its because I don’t brush well enough. I disagreed and said no. I said I think you are just saying that to me so I can schedule more appointments so you can charge me unnecessary money and bogus appointments. I got that look of being a smart ass and then he suggested that I try hydrogen peroxide. It cleans MORE thorough than mouth wash with alcohol and brightens teeth.

    I have been so busy this week with the kids being home from school and such that I only got to practice Isha Kriya one time this whole week and I was so relaxed afterwards while mediating, I fell asleep, for over 2 hours without realizing it! Glad classes resume soon, so I can get back on track on my regular schedule!

    • Raaisha, glad you have some prior experience with the problems of commercial mouthwashes do keep informing others. Also, do listen to post dated 8/1 post your comments, print and bring in for full credit, thanks, OM

  12. That’s crazy! I had no idea and thought that I was just being hygienic! It seems like everything we use will kill us these days! Everywhere we go to help ourselves we end up doing more harm than good! I will definitly be researching better mouth washes to use. As a girl who had braces for years from age seven I have become very protective and perfectionistic about my teeth. After having metal in my mouth for so long nothing will mess these up again!

  13. Wow, the whole time i read this my mouth was wide open. Mouthwash was something i grew up with in my household and i even use to sometimes now. But i wont be anymore. That is just so crazy, the coincidence between the cancer and the mouth wash. I will definitely be telling my family about this. Im glad you wrote this as well as gave an alternative option.
    I have never heard of fennel seeds but im interested in trying them out as well as making tea, i like that it also helps with digestion. i have been looking for something to help me and this was a great find.

    -Ashley Otero

  14. This is useful information ! I use mouthwash and did not know of these dangers. I will certainly use this knowledge to my advantage and switch my routine. I heard through word-of-mouth that mouthwash also makes humans docile, more easily molded. A conspiracy theory? Maybe, but maybe not… ooOo

    • Megan, good to see you are catching up on assignments, do be sure to complete all 3 parts of each assignments, this one also included your Isha Kriya comments and post 8/1 “Listen to..”
      When you have the other two parts done, do print them out and hand them to me in class to get full credit, thanks
      1

  15. I had no idea that mouthwash could affect our bodies like this, I understand that everything that we use and put in our bodies has effects on our health. When dentists recommend and the media too, that mouthwash is an important part of our hygiene and something we need to use for our well being, it juts goes to show that now we need to do some research on our own to make sure that the product we use are safe or safer and more natural that other so that they actually benefit us instead of harming us. I will make sure to check the mouthwash I and my family use and pass on this information. Thank you!
    I have done the isha kriya this week before going to bed an it has allowed me to sleep better and deeply, no necessarily longer, but well enough to be awake and more energized throughout the day.

    • Thanks for being pro-active about products that you and your family ingest…keep sharing…be an advocate…the planet needs more big mouths! Your Kriya will continue to bring blessings. OM
      2
      n.b. awaiting your comments on audio 8/1 for full credit, thanks

  16. I am really glad you shared this with us, I had never known that there was anything wrong with mouthwash. I wonder how many other things I do not know are harmful that I use. This week I did the Isha Kriya three times before bed on separate nights and I found that it was easier for me to fall into sleep as I often experience anxiety just before drifting off.

  17. That’s frightening. I have always used mouthwash containing alcohol all of my life? I still wouldn’t feel complete if I didn’t rinse once a day with something.

    I have been extremely busy this week and only did the Isha Kriya once outside of class on Sunday morning. I felt sleepy but forced myself to do it anyway and sat in the center of my room with my windows and blinds open. The sun made me feel happy and it was easier to wake up and breathe and visualize my OMs. It was the perfect time to practice since it was quiet throughout my apartment since everyone was most likely still asleep. I prefer to do Isha Kriya on the weekends simply because I don’t feel rushed and my mind isn’t preoccupied with ‘what’s next.’ I try my best to find time on Wednesdays (my busiest day) to practice. I do it between class on my two hour break. Even then, all I can usually think about is how I’d much rather raise my legs against the wall and just breathe their instead of visualizing OM. So I do that after I’ve completed the Isha Kriya and that always gets me ready for the second half of my day. :]

    • Meghan, if you prefer to use a mouthwash if its a commercial product make sure it reads “alcohol-free” even better look for naturally made products. OM may be new for you to utter but I hope that you may learn and value the science behind chanting sanskrit as the positive ideas actually manifest in your cells which only enhances every aspect of YOU! The more you practice and gain benefit you will learn from your own experiences that to allow for the small amount of time only is a benefit for all the other hours in your day. My hope for you is that you may come to learn this value for yourself one day soon. Namaste
      n.b. looking for your comments on the other part of this assignment before full credit is given…8/1″Listen to Part One…”

  18. There are so many other options for keeping your mouth clean and working on dental hygiene … I was never keen on the idea to use a heavily-concentrated alcohol solution to KILL germs in my mouth. It’s the same idea I have with antibiotics — it means “anti life,” and it kills more than just the bad germs, and can do damage too if not countered with water and probiotics. The alcohol burn from mouthwash always seemed like a big no-no for me, so whenever I do buy mouthwash, I opt for the non-alcoholic, natural sorts. I do find, however, that just general dental hygiene including regular tooth brushing and gentle flossing keeps the mouth plenty clean, as well as maintaining a healthy diet and drinking water. No need to burn your mouth with alcohol when you could just brush and be getting a more thorough clean in the end… It’s so frustrating that there is so much correlation with throat cancer/ulcers with alcoholic mouthwash, and the products are still sold in stores. So many things should NOT be sold … cigarettes …. alcohol-based mouth wash … so many household cleaners …. it’s sad to see these products used by so many and then the users just pay for it in the end. Sad world…

    • CJ…we can make the world a safer place by investigating about commercial products and sharing with others about any dangers we find…the more we educate ourselves and share what we learn with others we offer a chance for a consumer base to be proactive and ultimately the industry will have to listen when sales fall.
      2

    • Glad you are wiser and can stay healthy and inform others
      will look for the other parts of this assignment for credit, if already done do print and bring in, thanks

  19. It does not surprise me to hear that mouthwash causes cancer. I feel that in current times, many products (including food) contain many chemicals that can cause cancer. Lately many different people have told me that many of the things I eat or use such as baby carrots, instant soups and processed food causes cancer. After hearing all these stories, I do not even know what to use/eat and what not to. I think it is really scary to think of all the things that a product can go through before it reaches our hands. It seems as if many big companies do not even care about the health of their buyers. They only care about the money they make at the expense of our own health. Moreover, these big companies have great advertising campaigns that make us think that we need their product, especially hygiene products. An example of this is shampoo (even though I don’t think it causes cancer). Our hair doesn’t really need shampoo but in the 1970, many shampoo companies with their advertisement made us believe that we needed it. Now everyone uses shampoo because they think they need it, when in reality, putting all those chemicals in your hair are the worst thing you can do to damage it. I am a very picky person with teeth but I was never able to handle the burn inside my mouth whenever I used mouthwash. After reading this, most certainly I will not use it in the future.
    I have been practicing the Isha Kriya and I have noticed something interesting in my body. Whenever I focus on my breath, certain parts of my body (places where I store anger, fear and stress) “activate”. In other words, I start to feel a little bit of pain in those places. This has happened to me a couple of days consecutively. Overall, the Isha Kriya has helped me to release tension in certain parts of my body.

    • Juanita, so proud of how seriously you have applied yourself to your yogic studies this semester…you are a blessing and your friends and family will certainly benefit from your insight and calm, thanks.
      3

  20. This is really surprising. I believe I’m currently using a mouthwash that doesn’t have alcohol in it just due to personal preference, but I have a hard time trusting it since its from a brand that makes mostly alcohol based ones. I’m definitely going to look into alternatives. I love fennel seeds, though, and I would have no qualms incorporating that into a daily routine. This does make me think about my other toiletries and how much could really be harming me. I had been reading into making my own deodorant out of natural oils, baking soda and corn starch. Maybe its time to clean out my medicine cabinet a do a “natural” make over. Thank you for the reminder of how dangerous corporations can be!

  21. I always knew that an excessive number of mouthwash brands contained alcohol, but I was unaware of how many potential health risks I was saving myself from by purchasing an alcohol-free alternative. I also did not understand the significance of the “alcohol-free” labels that can be seen on shelves world-wide. This post has opened up my eyes to the fact that if not made or used correctly, almost anything can be terribly harmful to the body, mind or both. It is petrifying to think I could contract throat cancer from using mouthwash made with alcohol just as it is to imagine getting brain cancer from using a cell phone.

    The more I practice the Isha Kriya on my own, the more I am able to tap into and utilize all of my senses to the best of their abilities. I practiced this week again twice Monday, Thursday, Saturday, and Sunday as well as once on Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday for 15-30 minutes. I find that the more time I spend on meditation outside of class, the stronger its effects are when I am in class and can feed off everyone’s energy.

  22. I had never heard of the dangerous effects of mouthwash containing alcohol, but after reading this post, I will definitely be switching to a more natural brand. I have experienced the burning sensations talked about above with my current mouthwash and it’s very worrying now that I am armed with this information. My father told me that Tom’s of Maine makes a great natural brand that is alcohol-free and as a Mainer myself, I am very excited to try it!

    I found the other post about success mantras very interesting. All of us want to be successful in our own way, and these mantras help maintain a larger picture on the journey to the end result by focusing on the present, rather then the distant future. I especially appreciated the part about not fixing on failure, and if you do fail, you can only learn from it and take a lesson away from it. I also found it very interesting that one of the mantras was to embrace the people and things you dislike. Altering your personality to be many things to different people, while still being loving and accepting, and being open to doing things you do not like, can only make you a stronger, more capable person and I hope to do this more.

    I practiced the Isha Kriya 3 times this past week. After our performance week, I got sick with a bad head cold and found it very difficult to breathe easily while doing the Kriya. Hopefully it will be much better this week, now that my health is back on track.

  23. This is just alarming. Who would have know mouth wash with alcohol could cause cancer ? This goes to show you that the producers of these products do not care about the they are marketing. It is definitely scary to know that a product that I use on a daily basis can cause harm. I used to think if you feel the sting or burn while rinsing that meant the mouth wash was effective. That is how these products are advertised and I fed into ! I am an arts management major and should know better about marketing products. I was definitely fooled.

    • Now you are informed and hope you spread the information with family and friends…do know that capitalistic societies are generating money not benefits for consumers primarily unless motivated by aggressive consumers. I hope that you have completed all parts of the assignment will look below, thanks

Leave a Reply

