Can you guess what the Secret for success with the Yamas is?

Standard

At last, yes this is the final reading from John McAfee’s book, “The Secret of the Yamas.”  Here is a quote from this chapter: ” If we observe ourselves in our relationships – through our actions, thoughts and feelings as they are happening-then we will catch a glimpse of the ego.  In that light of awareness the ego will vanish, and in its place a profound silence will blossom.  In that silence is all beauty.  It is infinite, unknowable and not separate from ourselves.  It is immortality.”

Thanks for being a part of listening to my readings and I hope they have provided some useful food for thought and the quieting of mental chatter.  I do hope you may continue to stop by here on a regular basis as a subscriber.  I also look forward to your comments about your experiences and ideas.  Namaskaram

190 responses »

  1. Listening to “Can you guess what the Secret for success with the Yamas is?” allowed me to ponder my actions and how they are carried out in the present moment. McAfee states, “Divided the thought into the thinker” and because of this we can not separate thinker from ego. I found this to be crucial to comprehending my responsibility towards my present actions. The author continues to explore these ideas by saying humans become caught in a moment of beauty or horror and as a result we forget who we are. No thinker or actor takes into account our response to these moments, instead we experience itself is the only thing that exist. This lack of pondering self awareness creates a space of blame rather than acceptance and openness. There is no ego without thought, one must step out of the thinker or the actor without feeding into our egos. As thinkers or actors we reflects on how this object affects our ego, it must do so to exist. By doing this we are feeding into separating ourselves from the infinite movement of life from the present moment. I have found this idea helpful in order to approach day to day task with more honesty and happiness. When thoughts are constantly reorganize themselves my ego demands permits thoughts which is just a result of my instability. By recognizing these thoughts and feelings in presence I can reflect on my own ego and what it actually has a lack of.

  2. This reading talked about the Ego, and how through separating ourselves from our ego we divide our existence. The ego can only be in the past, or the future, but never the present. We would not be who we are without the ego, as it preserves our thoughts and experiences and in turn can reveal to us our true desires and qualities whether we want to admit it or not. We must be open to understanding that we cannot exist without the ego, but that we must not let our ego control the way we see and live in the world. By experiencing profound beauty that takes us away from time we finally find silence within ourselves and can experience the present moment undisturbed.
    This reading wasn’t about removing the ego, it was more about becoming aware of it and accepting it into who you are, and in return this self-awareness will lead to letting ourselves be present and allowing the ego to take a back seat even for a precious moment. The ego can be toxic and negative, as it is greedy and selfish.
    In a time where everyone is cultivating their own ego through social media, it is hard to separate ourselves from the ego and what we want versus what we truly need. Our ego reminds us to seek out our selfish pleasures and while we must not fall into the trap, we must not deny a part of ourselves. The divide is there to keep us from acting out on such behaviors and desires, but we must not act like it is not who we are at the most honest and selfish level. Through noticing these desires, and thoughts we become more aware, and therefore more likely to grow in love, patience, self-control, maintenance of the self without being driven by your ego. And through these motivations we can step away from that part of ourselves and remain present.

  3. This chapter suggests that an ego can only exist in the past, and can can display itself in the future, but can not exist in a present moment. I have heard something similar to this being described before, but this time I had a different view of it. When we dwell on the past and use this to predict the future, this results in increasing our ego. This continuous flow of thoughts throughout our daily lives creates more tension, which has the potential to snowball into negativity if a change in our mindset does not occur.
    I find that changes in our lifestyles and being open to change is so important for learning from our mistakes and bettering ourselves for what works best for us. My desire for self awareness and realization of identity is what has motivated me to create changes to better myself. I think it is important that for me to grow as a person I should be open to thinking of ways to calm my ego. I found that in this process yoga has been so helpful. Yoga has helped me reach a place of stress free being and has calmed my thoughts to just be one with my energry and not get strung out about minor details of my day. Yoga has helped me find that inner peace I have been looking for to help me recognize my own individuality. Since the begining of my yoga practice at the start of the semester, I often find myself in meditative states that help me cope with stress without even being conscious of it. These expiriences have gave me confidence and strength to know that I am in control of my own destiny and identity.

    • So happy you have accepted your yoga practice so fully and already see the difference. This is wonderful and unfortunately rare, so congratulate yourself on your personal development!

  4. I think this article brought up an interesting idea of the thinker being created by the thoughts. Existence is a difficult thing to think about or even talk about. Not everyone is willing to question their own existence because of the difficulty of the topic. It is not easy to become aware of yourself and your surroundings. Taking things as they are is always the easiest way to live. Questioning things becomes very frightening because there are not many answers and not much evidence of potential answers. Lingering in this way of thinking becomes dangerous as well because you would be separated from the reality we all share. I think a balance of this way of thinking and being active in society is important.

  5. Similarly to August 16th, this is about looking at the world as bigger than ourselves. We can look at relationships we have, including the relationship we have with the past and future and when we do that we realize that we undervalue the present moment. I know that my most profound moments of clarity have come from where I sat down and really looked at myself in the present. As you put it, the ego is noticeable and because of that we can see our flaws and decide what to do to change them in the present.

  6. The Secret of the Yamas explores a theme which is having negative effects on the path society is taking today, the ego. People struggle too much detaching themselves from their craft or their purpose in life. Many things are not meant to elevate a person or to portray them a certain way, but rather to allow a much deeper connection or appreciation of what this may be. For me, dance is something which many struggle in detaching themselves from the art or just being one with the beauty of it. I believe that one should always stop and analyze what it is that they are doing and what it allows them to experience rather than thinking of what effect it has on other’s views of oneself. I often struggle with this, but I hope that I can develop the strength to control my mind to stay away from this way of thinking. We live not to exert our power or expertise upon others, but to appreciate what we are benefiting from our everyday actions and enjoying being one with ourselves.

    -Melanie Ramos

  7. This week I was able to practice Isha Kriya three times, and I would practice this before going to bed. With my very busy schedule, it was difficult to pause for this, but I hope to gain the mental control to allow myself to do this throughout the day. Having never practiced any sort of meditation I would become distracted at times or feel myself tracking time. On my second and third practices I started to see this go away slightly and I am becoming more in touch with myself in this process. I think once I master this more it will have significant impacts on my mental strength and well being. I often go to sleep with my mind full of problems that only build up as the days go by, and it is nice to just pause and let these problems escape for just a few minutes. Practicing Isha Kriya is something which allows me to step outside of my life and dedicate time to myself. The daily struggles of life can be draining and this is a form of refreshing the mind and flushing out any bad energy that lingers.

    -Melanie Ramos

  8. The reading made me think of this reoccurring theme that I’ve seen in yoga practices, which is the separation of the self. Naturally through our consciousness, we separate thinking and the thinker, we are driven by subjectivity which in turn drives separation. Oneness is something counter to our essential being, we are constantly divided against the act. For example, the process of using the “I” as a way of separating ourselves from the world. The bird does not fly, I see the bird fly. This concept seems appropriate in acknowledging subjectivities in thought and action, however it does create a psychic divide between the actor and the world. “ the thinker creates distance between itself and its object”. This process is laid to rest when “in profound beauty and danger we forget ourselves the individual I disappears, there is no center from which we experience, only the experience itself exists.”

    Before going to bed, rather than reading or watching a tv show, I practiced my breathing. I focused on my breathe and suddenly noises and sensations, the draft form the window, the electricity running through a faulty lightbulb outside, became increasingly apparent to me. There was a profound layer of the world I had not experienced in my bedroom. Through removing myself from the experience, allowing for silence and the absence of memory, I felt more. That instance presented itself to me before listening to this text, however I think it perfectly represents the point of the text.

    My experiences with the Isha Kriya are similar. During the meditation I have found that I can remove myself and solely focus on breathe, forgetting my surroundings and my sense of place. However, when I am done with the meditation I notices things about my body that I typically do not. For example, a swelling feeling on my palms or chest, I feel a sensation in my spinal cord that extends into my brain stem. The practice both helps me remove myself and become in tune with my body, which is something I am very surprised by.

    Giancarlo Montes

    • Hold on there will be many more surprises for you in your practice this semester! You have written an excellent Yoga Journal essay herein with honest refreshing recollections. Your sensitivity will only become enhanced as well other dimensions for positive growth, Namaste

  9. One of the things that spoke to me the most in the reading was when John McAfee talks about Ego, and how it can only exist in the past and present itself in the future but is never in the present. I also liked the idea that we are dividing thinking into the thought and broken action into the act and fragmented the perceived into the perceiver. It makes me think that I am a lot more capable and have a lot more control over my existence in the world than I thought. Control on how I am perceived by the world but also control on how I see myself and make myself feel.

    • Again do stay with the required post for each week as it starts building concepts slowly and you have missed out by skipping around, any questions about how to follow the assignments lets talk in class, best wishes, OM

  10. I usually practice Isha Kriya in the morning right when I wake up, I have practiced 4 times this week and it has helped me to start my day feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. I usually practice in my bedroom on my yoga mat. Practicing in the morning starts my day off and helps me to feel ready to tackle anything, but also sometimes I like to do it at night because it releases the toxins and stress of they day and helps me to sleep.

  11. After all these readings, I was increasingly surprised with how frequent ignorance and the Ego were brought up. But in this final conclusion, it all gets tied together nicely. That being said, I am nowhere near, being able to separate myself from my Ego. Over the course of these courses, I, much like a scientist, am having more and more questions about how yoga works. At the beginning, I thought of yoga as just an activity, a way to get flexible. And then we began to really talk about it, and what it is. I recently read that when Watson and Crick discovered the double helix in DNA and what DNA was, people thought they had it figured out. But really it was just the beginning of their discovery. That is how I feel with my ego. I have discovered that I have one, but I am not close to relieving myself of my ignorance and ego.
    These readings have offered me a good start to understanding how to do it. The closest I get to separating myself from my actions and looking at the now is during our yoga practice. When my body and mind are both being occupied by the activity at hand. I am going to really try and take advantage of these last weeks to fully occupy myself with the asanas. Hopefully by falling deeper into that my thought process will begin to be affected more than it already has.
    -Phillip Laskaris

  12. As an artist, there is a constant battle with the ego; not just in terms of our colloquial/ societal understanding of ego. When we look at ego from the perspective of pop culture, we think of someone who is a show-off and thinks of themselves as superior. Of course, we see these personality types in the arts, but what I connected to more in this passage was a sense of how we identify. Art can feel so deep and personal that it can be a challenge to isolate yourself from it. An artist is an artist on or off the stage, but if one only identifies as an artist, it can bring a lot of pain. My challenge used to be about feeling self-worth even if I was plateauing, or not getting work. I would get stuck in this rut because it was almost as if I identified only as what I was creating, rather than just living. Art is about healing, and if we are bringing more suffering to ourselves, that is not the fault of art, but the fault of the ego. As I graduate in a few months, I am challenging myself to enjoy each moment of creating and performing. I challenge myself to refrain from letting my ego control my creativity.

  13. “The ego demands continuance.” Just one of the phrases McAfee uses, yet it is undeniably true that one’s ego is forever in search of new experiences and ways of bettering or promoting itself. McAfee sees both sides of the coin – the positive and the negative – in his exploration of the ego, but ultimately finds that the ego is something that can be controlled in a more positive manner, and therefore produce a more positive relationship with life. He suggests that the ego is part of constant thought, and perpetually expresses itself in how we go about acting and reacting to the situations we are in. McAfee instills this idea of being in tune with one’s ego, where if we can “observe ourselves and our relationships through our actions, thoughts, and feelings as they are happening,” then we will see our own ego and become at peace with it. It is certainly a very psychological approach to exploring the concept the ego as it relates to our actions and thoughts, yet it needs to be, and McAfee’s take on the ego seeks “beauty” in order to better ourselves and the afore mentioned relationships we create with others and our environments.

  14. Listening to this passage automatically reminded me of the classic Ferris Bueller quote “life moves pretty fast, if you don’t stop and look around every once in a while, you could miss it.” When I find myself looking back on past situations I always see my actions in a different light. I see my ego existing in the past when enough time has passed between me and my action to allow for unbiased thinking. I see my ego in the future when I imagine what I may be like five years from now. However I worry so much about such rigid places in time that I never have a chance to reflect during a time when I can truly affect something, the present.

  15. This reading is from the last chapter of The Secret of the Yamas – A Spiritual Guide to Yoga which continues to explore the concept of the ego. The ego is again described as what separates us from the rest of the world. It is our desire to remain a separate entity that creates distance between us and the rest of the world. In one example from the reading, the thinker and the thought both exist at the same moment. One cannot exist without the other, but the thinker will try to create distance from the thought to remain a separate entity. This distance is described as what “separates us from the infinite movement of life.” The ego also demands that our thoughts dwell in past. This creates more separation from the world as we distance ourselves from the present and begin to live our lives through past moments. It’s only when we observe our thoughts and feelings as they are happening that we can see the ego. Once we become aware of the ego it will vanish and will be “replaced by a profound silence that is beauty, infinite and not separate from ourselves.”
    This reading made me really aware of how I’m constantly thinking about the past and judging myself and others through it. I can see how this keeps me from living in the present and experiencing the joy of life as it is happening. I understand now how yoga helps me to clear my thoughts so I can keep my ego under control and I can have a greater appreciation of the people and things around.

    -Melanie Ramos

  16. This was a very interesting read that I really enjoyed. I really liked the way that each segment built upon the last, it was really helpful in understanding the fuller story, or scope of the way in which yoga became integrated into today’s world, the way we receive it now and the different ways it is often misread by especially westerners. Yogic practice definitely means something different to me after taking this class and after reading this post. I really love the way that they described yoga as reality, not as a form of exercise or as art. I think this was very important and I really just enjoyed hearing the story of the seven men following Adiyogi and the way that they became the seven basic forms of yoga. It was also very interesting the way that Shiva became Adiyogi and how he was unwilling to speak to them at first because he felt them to be so unenlightened or so out of alignment that he wouldn’t speak to them for over 80 years!

    I think about this story in relation to my own life and what it means to have very toxic people around me. I wonder how they became attached to me in the first place and how my light and love that I give out becomes blood for leeches. Since realizing that I do attract these types of people, I have been spending more time alone. But I find that every or most people crave this attention and desire to know and share love but not always in a mutually beneficial way. Yogic practice shows us that self-love and care is the most important thing in ones life. This is something I have since integrated and it has done wonders for me.

    My Isha Kriya practice has been helping me this week. It has been an incredibly difficult week for me and I felt like I had a lot of things around me that were incredibly draining and exhausting my emotions and resources. Physically I was needing to rest and my environment was causing me immense pain and suffering. I was really struggling for balance and calm. In order to rebalance myself, I choose to use my Isha Kriya practice and meditation to relax and realign myself. I also used it as a way to find out what I should do in order to rebalance, placing myself in a state of calm to gain clarity on the situation, what my true needs were and how they were to be met, eventually leading me to coming home to rest and be with family.

    Namaste. Raechel Teitelbaum.

    This was a great reading excerpt. I couldn’t help but think how excited I am to begin reading my copy of the book this summer while I was listening. This segment talked about each action holding weight and in my eyes it was about being accountable for those actions and realizing their significance in our lives. By looking at the root of each of those actions we can understand that there is a pattern or an underlying feeling behind them or that is created as a result of them. Letting go of our pride and understanding the ego is an important key to accepting our flaws and imperfection which will give us a better connection to ourselves that is more real and vivid. If we look at our actions more, it will bring us to the present moment, which this passage says, that we are not typically in. We are motivated by the past and the future but the present is not active.

    If we are alert, we can stay in the present moment and be aware of pointing fingers, judgement, hate and criticisms. Allowing ourselves to be separate entities from the people in our lives while also seeing that everything in life is not only based in relationship but is mirrored by our relationships. The way that we interact with others, however, is based on our connection to ourselves and if there is not a proper connection to the self or understanding of cause and effect in speech and behavior then there will be no developments or improvements. By seeing who you are and how you function with others, you will likely be more able to have a better connection to yourself and others. The root of the action or source holds the key, it is best to unpack that and notice it to grow. Waiting to grow is pointless. The time to change is now!

    Namaste. Raechel Teitelbaum.

    • So proud that you have really embraced the tenets of classical hatha yoga and are keeping your IK practice alive in your life…this will continue to help you heal and grow…OM

  17. The ego is the number one thing to address in order to be successful with the Yamas. Since our thoughts never stop, we must address and improve on harmful actions and violence that we inflict on ourselves as we are doing it. I think it’s very important that this notes how our constant thoughts must be changed while we are having them. When thinking about it a bit more, as you become aware of something, it is easier to note how often you are doing it and apply change where needed. For example, my mother bought to my attention the amount of times that would use the world “literally” in a short timespan. As soon as it was pointed out to me, I have never said the word without noticing it again. I lessened my use and started thinking ahead before I would do it after a while. This is just a small and easy example, but it can be applied to all of our thoughts. We must acknowledge the way we think about things and address them as they arise to create genuine changes to the way we perceive and understand the world around us.

  18. Please disregard my last post 🙂

    This post reminded me again, about the presence of the ego and the way in which it can be damaging in our lives. Our experiences have been divided in this world. The thinker cannot be separated from the thought otherwise we forget that we have the choice to create, say and do. The process of thinking and doing is incredibly important to the self. It is important to explore the nature of our ego and its influence in our lives. By taking a step back we are placing emphasis on thought and processing rather than just experiencing or doing. An example of this would be doing without thinking. By changing the way that you experience and perceive things, dividing distance and in thought and action and human ego. This is important to position us properly in the present. By processing our thoughts in conscious ways or by taking a break from the constant processing we are able to see ourselves more clearly and observe ourselves and the way we function in relationships. The ego will “go away” if it is acknowledged and understood and separated from the thoughts it is holding onto so tightly.

    Namaste. Raechel Teitelbaum.

  19. Something that stood out is the idea that the process of thinking is the only reality. Our ego demands this and the constant process of thinking in order to remain permanent. This creates identity. Coupled with memory, the ego creates and understands itself through identification. It identifies what to think and what not to think, what it is and what it is not. Through this drawing of lines and a creation of distinctions, we limit ourselves. We use terms and communicate with these terms, which is another way of grounding ourselves to the past, rather than existing in the moment. I have thought a lot about this and how to navigate this conundrum. It seems like a human condition, something that we cannot change but is just inherent to your nature. However, McAfee suggests that through recognizing this process one can be whole and collapse the distinctions between the ego and the rest of the world.

    Giancarlo

  20. We see the reality as common thing in our daily life. I never think carefully about my surrounding. As the video mentions, creating, acting and feeling are the eagle for the life. Any action means something; even a breath presents a specific type of desire. A thought can create a new thinking and further it make action. Yoga makes me feel alive and refreshing. Especially, the attitude of Yoga, “Yamas” is the key. It makes me feel nothing exist when I am doing Yoga. Not even a though, only the silent around me. My mind and my body feel like transforming into a whole new level. Bringing the attitude to Yoga into daily life is something beneficial in many ways.

  21. The balance of ego is something that I don’t necessarily struggle with in terms of balance, but I do often think about it. One point of question with the ego is deciphering between confidence and the formulation of an egotistical shield. The concept of supporting more silent thought processes makes a lot of sense given that this is the kid of thought that its pure. Often when I feel my ego emerging in a situation, it’s a conversational thought process where I am analyzing the potential outcome of my actions. In these situations, it means that I am aware that I am aware that my motives have have the potential to be perceived negatively, and therefore, should be reevaluated to a more sound process of thought.

  22. Secret of the Yamas has resurfaced so many ideas that were brought to my attention in Ekhart Tolle’s book. The ego seems to be the primary source of all peoples struggles in daily life. I enjoyed the ending chapter and its focus on creating distance between you and your thoughts. It reminded me of how in the IK we are repeating the phrase I am not the body, I am not even the mind. Verbally releasing ourselves from our personal chains is a very beautiful act. Joining my experience in class and outside class work has been such a beautiful journey. I feel like this class has created time for me to not be so egotistical and to identify aspects in my life that need improvement. The best part about this process is that with this self discovery there has been a lack of judgment toward myself and more of an encouraging behavior. The positive energy that yoga brings to my life has infected the way I internally treat myself with my process in life.
    I am reminded of a time sophomore year while reading the Ekhart Tolle book our teacher told us that when you cut yourself down you might as well tell yourself that you hate yourself. This chapter of McAffe’s book reminded me of his comment. Giving yourself space from your hateful thoughts is important and every person deserves to show themselves kindness even when they don’t believe they deserve it.

  23. I was a bit confused by macafee’s discussion of the ego in the context of time. One of the primary ideas that really stuck out as confusing was the idea that the ego can not exist in the now, only the past and future. I understand how the ego projects its self into the future in order to plan for it, however I don’t consider that to be the ego existing in the future. Our (and our Ego’s) idea of the future is merely a composite of our present expectations so it is certainly not a reality within it’s self. Similarly I can understand how the ego transports its self to the past, how ever I don’t not think it makes sense to claim that the ego can truly exist with in it.

    • These are all good concepts to revisit time and time again, as we are constantly growing and changing and our awareness broadens…I challenge you to look at these concepts once a year for the next two years and see what happens just because you have thought about them as possibilities…best wishes OM

  24. All of these sections of John McAfee’s book were beautiful, and they all fit together very well one after the other. With the daily practice of yoga and meditation I feel as if we could more easily control our emotions, as well as our egos. If we take the time to ignore the outside world, and look at ourselves as we are, we can find issues with ourselves, and find ways to fix them. Or, coming from the other side, we can use this time of meditation to understand that many of the flaws we think we have aren’t as bad as we feared.

    I think yoga and mediation can help anybody in so many different ways. From all that we’ve done in the class I’ve learned that yoga isn’t just for the physical benefits. While I’m sure it would be possible to just to yoga for stretching, committing to the process of the physical and mental techniques we’ve employed can improve our health so much more. Yoga actually has seriously helped me to learn how to relax easier. I feel like the next time I feel stressed beyond belief, I’ll be able to sit down, and calm myself down easily.

    -Matthew Harris

  25. This talk helped me understand that it is important to separate yourself from your ego. I think perhaps this means being more self aware of your actions and thoughts and trying to look at them in a more “objective” light. For me, photography is a way of separating myself from my ego, especially within the context of the way I generally like to photograph, which involves making portraits of strangers out in the world. This involves approaching someone in a way that is non threatening and convincing them that your interest in them is a sincere one and that you have the best intentions when trying to do so. This can be difficult for me, as I am a generally shy person, but if I go out to photograph for a day by the afternoon I feel a strange sensation of being separated from myself, or at least the self that is generally shy and keeps to himself. I begin to feel more outgoing and I simply feel as if I am living in the current moment, which is a very refreshing thing to feel. I also feel separated from my ego in the sense that I am not worrying about how I am perceived, but more that I am speaking from the heart as my truest self. In conclusion, I think there are many different ways of separating the self from the ego, and for me my craft is what seems to work.

  26. I love this reading, as well as the overall “theme” of this week’s readings about detatching from our ego. I admittedly find this hard to do at times, and while I can find myself getting lost in the banalities of my ego-centric living and behaviors, I often do my best to get out of it. One tool that usually helps me is my writing oddly enough. Allthough it is a tool for self expression, it helps me get outside of myself, and view the world on a grander scale. I truly can’t find the words to describe it, but I know it works for me. Another tool for me is reading. I love autobiographies, which once again seems very ego-centric. However, when you read a few of them, you tend to notice how similar we all are, no matter how hard we try to distance ourselves from that idea. Autobiographies have given me this strange window into our unified lives as a species, and allows me to get outside of myself and my problems, and view our species more as a collective, than myself as an individual.

    • I too favor autobiographies…one day when you are not so taxed with college studies you may want to read “The Autobiography of a Yogi” it is actually a free link on my blog here, also the book is found in most bookstores and for usually a nominal price $12-$20…let me know if you do read it one day…Namaste

  27. John McAfee’s, “The Secret of the Yamas” has been reflective with many of my beliefs and ideas that I wanted to understand more. “There is no ego without thought,” John McAfee said. John McAfee talks about separating ourselves from our ego. I think it’s hard for me to do that sometimes because I’m always thinking thinking thinking, but I love moments that I have to myself. When I don’t have to think about my client’s cases, or senior projects or any other assignments. I really love writing, and though writing consists of thinking, I feel separated from the outside world when I write. I write poetry about experiences in the past and how they have shaped me, and that writing process shreds so much weight off my shoulders. It’s healthy for people to separate themselves from your ego.

  28. Leah Ashton-Facin
    The binaries discussed in the beginning are very important. We often try to operate many of our experiences into two one of that being us and the other being what is outside of us. This reality of the way that we view ourselves through the Ego is something that we should try to be more aware of. It is important to be aware of our actions and the way that we view the world around us. The concept of the ego disappearing is also something important. I would compare this to the real and reality discussed in Kristeva’s piece “Approaching Abjection” in Powers of Horror: An Essay on Abjection. She discusses the way that the real is something that cannot be defined by a social construct these can be dreams, feelings of pain, or emotional feelings. They are not constructed around us in the way that reality is. The real can be related to this distance from the ego and can become much more about the real. The ego is a part of reality and it seems to be constructed through the way that we operate within it. This is a constructed awareness which distances us from what is around us. The real operates within the present moment being purely felt sometimes in an uncanny way.

  29. The three types of diversions that people become engaged within lieu of time for self-exploration is the three processes: Thinking, perceiving and acting which enables us to then choose. This can all be related due to the fact that we are in the present time and without all of that we cannot exist. We as humans, need to be able to think which helps us become observant. When we become observant, we are able to understand and perceive what we see much clearly than we did before when we thought about it. Then, we act out what we see. This is the natural process of life. We then choose and control what actions come out through what we thought about and perceived it as.

    This allows us to self explore. It is important as humans that we self explore and take time to be in tune with our bodies. This happens through the three processes I have mentioned above. Through these three processes, will bring us closer and closer to self exploration of the mind, body and most importantly ourselves.

  30. When listening to “The Secret of the Yamas” it discussed how we distract ourselves with diversions such as mass media, entertainment and sophisticated marketing that take us away from looking into the self. It shows how we distract ourselves from things that will benefit us but we would rather distract and take away from bettering ourselves, disregarding and undermining our mental health. With modernization this is becoming more prevalent within our society because of the advancement of technology as well as giving up our power to be with ourselves. It is important to be with yourself without distractions to grow and benefit from your own divine purpose.

    • A beginning in that you are able to access the Media for the assignments, however a college level essay is required for each part. Please do invest more time on your writing to earn a satisfactory grade.

Leave a Reply

