Nobody Can Do Meditation! | The Isha Blog

Standard

We are best at creating a meditative quality through our Yogic Practices…read and listen to Sadhguru explain more about this….

Nobody Can Do Meditation! | The Isha Blog.

Do click the link to read this post from THE ISHA BLOG: read and hear what Sadhguru has to say about what others are so freely calling meditation.  What he says has a lot to do with why so many have little or no success with their so called “meditation”.  The path that Sadhguru has designed for those who follow clearly makes a direct road to success for Peace & Wellness in his Sadhana/Practice.  We learn from Shri Patanjali that the Science of Yoga is a process of  the eight- fold steps of Astangha.  Sadhguru has truly provided the key to success for those who listen and follow his guidance.  OM

67 responses »

  1. I have always thought we could meditate. I have never thought meditation as a certain quality. I do agree now that we are meditative, which can lead to meditation. For meditation to occur we have to cultivate your mind, bodies, energies, and emotions. This was a beautiful way of putting meditation, “Flowers and fruits will come out of a plant not because you want it, but simply because you created the necessary, conducive atmosphere.” I do agree with this statement. Taking the proper steps towards meditation can lead to it. This article was informative and interesting.

  2. I have never really thought about meditation in this way before. It was eye opening to realize that one cannot do meditation, but they can become meditative. I have never viewed meditation as a quality rather than an action but it’s an important quality to have. When someone can control their emotions and energies they then have a connection within themselves and that can lead to a pure and beautiful lifestyle, “…it will grow and bloom into flowers and fruits”, as the article stated. It’s not about picking and choosing when to meditate, it’s all about meditating naturally because of the lifestyle you have created for yourself. This logic has really inspired me and has made me think a lot about the person I am. I think I have more to work on before I can naturally meditate. It’s a work in progress, but one day I would like to be at peace like this.

  3. Wow. I always wondered if this was possible, and I always told myself that as long as I stay connected to the meditative qualities I could make my mind state congruent to that of when I’m actually meditating. It make sense to say that one does not do meditation but they are because it isn’t about practicing something but about being and not being. We can be asleep and unaware, or asleep and aware. That means we can we awake and unaware or awake and aware. It’s about being awake and aware that matters through our daily ventures because that will keep us in tune with ourselves and one another. We are constantly creating our surroundings so we should manifest them under the proper awareness and meditative qualities.

  4. As Westerners, we are incredibly goal oriented. When we go around the room and discuss our experiences with Isha Kriya, many students say that they aren’t good at it. As I am listening to them, I am aware that this word choice isn’t really what the Isha Kriya is about, yet my thoughts lead me to a similar mindset. When I first started practicing meditation, I found that every time my mind would wander, I would almost punish myself or shame myself for being indulgent and not doing “it” right. I have practiced the Isha Kriya four times this week, in the mornings. I’m finding more of a focus during the meditation. My mind wanders less, and when it does wander, I forgive myself and bring my mind back to center. I feel like that is a more important skill than we realize.

  5. This is an excellent way to describe meditation. You can’t merrily sit down and “meditate” with the assumption that you’ll reach full focus and inner peace the first time you try it. Instead you must practice certain tools to strengthen your mind until meditation happens to you. Although this sounds like the more difficult option, it is much more rewarding. I find that each time I sit down to practice this mindfulness, my focus becomes stronger. I have friends that have so much experience in meditation that their mind releases an almost psychedelic effect. They can feel themselves detaching from their body and have strong calming visuals. The power that meditation has is not to be underestimated and the way this article views meditation emphasizes that.

    Isha Kriya:

    Monday February 20
    Tuesday February 21
    Friday February 24

    This week I experimented with practicing this meditation in the morning as opposed before sleeping. I found that practicing in the morning negated any morning crankiness or grogginess I may have had and put me in a good mood going forward with my day. I also practiced outside in the forest which felt amazing. I felt very cared for within nature and gained energy from connecting to the diverse life surrounding me.

  6. SAMANTHA COFFEY

    Yoga Journal # 4

    “Nobody Can DO Meditation”

    The title of this post threw me off at first. It has struck me as some type of challenge or taunt. Like when an older sibling tells you that you can’t do something simply because they say so. But as I read on I realized that the emphasis was not on the word “can’t” but on the word “do.”

    The word “meditation” in context of the English language refers to just simply sitting quietly with your eyes closed for an extended period of time. But that is a very external mentality to have on the practice. To meditate is not to do anything, but to BE in a frame of mind. With over six different kinds of meditation, how can one be so general? I thought it quite interesting to mention how people find meditation difficult… that sitting and clearing your mind is something of a challenge. How can I clear my mind, while I am thinking about trying to clear my mind? That is the workings of someone that would ultimately benefit from meditation the most. If it was easy to clear your mind and center your four dimensions, would you even notice it’s healing powers?

    The fact that mediation is compared to successful gardening seems like the most appropriate choice. Maintaining a plant within a garden is no easy feat. You must tend to it tirelessly to reap the rewards. The plants do not grow because you’ve asked them to, they grow because they’ve received the proper care and nourishment – just as your body requires the same. Good things come with hard work. It is more than simply sitting quietly for a while.. You must keep your physical body healthy, your brain strong, your conscious clear and your heart open. You would be surprised the things you experience when your body experiences astral travel during meditation.

    “ISHA KRIYA weekly hw”

    I practiced the Isha Kriya 3 times this week:

    I am finding that it is becoming more of second nature to roll out my yoga mat, clear my throat, and empty my mind. The biggest thing I have been noticing is my capacity for oxygen. I always used to have a tender ache in my chest when I attempted to take deep breaths. I had gone to the doctor and my chest x-ray was clean so I could only guess that the pain was caused by my issues with stress and anxiety. Lately i have been able to take fuller breaths with reduced pain and it feels like pure power coursing through me. I look forward to the kriya becoming a part of my life that I no longer need to thrive, but then can take further to strengthen parts of me that need healing that have been hiding behind my rib cage.

  7. This article brought to my attention how my speech towards “becoming meditative” must change. When reading this, it became apparent to me why one cannot just “do” meditation. Wording is rather important in understanding pretty much anything that you are doing. Whether is debating or teaching, the use of language is crucial because when it is not used properly, it could portray a different message then intended. Since one must learn to become meditative, it’s very clear to me now why “doing” meditation is not even possible. Even the last few weeks in practicing Isha Kriya, I have been telling people that I’m “doing meditation”. I have not yet acquired the skills to be meditative, although I am working on it, I have been saying that I’m doing an action that can’t even been done. The effort that goes into becoming meditative is much greater than one might suspect, however it makes me have more respect for the practice. It requires discipline, as we read about in the Secret of Yamas.

    The atmospheric aspect that one must find and create in oneself stuck out to me. It put into a more personal perspective of how things such as having a clear conscious, is required to become meditative. Although I understood this aspect from reading about the ethical and conscious tenets of Niyama, it was further reinforced with this reading with and also made me realize how the atmosphere within ourselves is controllable not with just physical health, but mental health beyond just trying to seek happiness and self security. Learning to become meditative can remedy and help one reach an overall better mental state. Creating such an atmosphere could bring other great things into one’s life and totally change a person’s outlook. In order to truly become meditative, I see how one’s atmosphere must go through changes for it to be properly done.

    Isha Kriya Response:

    This week I have done Isha Kriya 3 times, but I will be doing it again after I finish this assignment. After not doing it as much since our first assignment, I feel the difference.. I have been feeling a little more anxious since I have been doing it less. However because I am feeling the impact of not practicing as often has already has thrown off my progress, it gives me more motivation to find a way to incorporate it into my schedule everyday.

  8. It was an interesting point how many people including myself instantly think closing your eyes and sitting still is what ‘meditation’ is. “You cant do meditation but you can become meditative.” This statement confused me at first, but when Sadhguru made the connection of how a flower blooms it all made sense. It takes a certain level of maturity for meditation to naturally happen just like it takes the right amount of care to let the flower grow naturally.

    This week I have practiced Isha Kriya three times. I usually practice at night but on Wednesday I changed it up and practiced in the afternoon around 1:30pm. This past week I had a very hectic dance schedule, dancing for long hours. I wanted to try something different this week and meditate before a long day of rehearsing. This turned out to be a positive outcome for me. I felt very relaxed and refreshed rather than tired and sore coming in to the rehearsal. I will definitely be trying to fit Isha Kriya more into my daily routines rather than nightly.

    -Melanie Ramos

  9. My view of what meditation was prior to this class was this: you sit quietly with your eyes closed and reflect internally, on your day, actions, life, etc.. But the way mediation is described in the post was smart. The metaphor of the plant was also helpful and very accurate. I am a nervous and fidgety person, which is why I find it intimidating and useless as my mind would wander and make me unsuccessful in trying to “meditate” on my own. However, I have completed guided meditations while on a religious retreat. Someone would be speaking in a way that kept my mind focused enough that it wouldn’t wander to silly things like my phone, while allowing it to follow a path to the goal, a meaningful, personal conversation with my God.

    This is also the reason I feel as though I need the video, or the class setting, to successfully complete the Isha Kriya. So far this week I have completed the Isha Kriya 3 times, and plan on trying at least once if not twice tomorrow. I have continued my ritual of a wake-up/morning rising Kriya and a calming/night Kriya on my days off. This morning I had an extra opportunity. I still have the sensation of my bottom sinking further into my seat while performing the Kriya. Because of the setting in which I perform my Kriya I am unable to chant aload, but I find that makes me look forward to our class Kriya all the more. It is not only the chance to chant aloud but the resonance achieved when the entire class is synchronized makes the Kriya stronger and more relaxing for me.

  10. Although this article was quite short and concise, it was rich with meaning and brought to light many themes and concepts inherent to prosperity of any kind. This article sifts out the common misconception that meditation is a singular act, by means of an end. Rather, Meditation is concept, a state of being, an ideology, a quality. Those whom interact with meditation by means of the expecting of its heard, powerful potentials and as an act of doing, therefor perceive it as something that one must do in a singular and linear fashion. The fluid qualities of the world do not work in this way. We are conditioned to value the direct cause-and-effect-nature of things when in actuality there is no nature of the sort. You cannot merely anticipate an outcome that will cure your motivations for starting the practice because the circumstances must be aligned. These circumstances being the mindset of the practicer and their perceptions on their personal individual power, their willingness to change, a maturity of emotion, intellect and empathy. No problem is fixed and cured organically by an outside force or single act. Compromise is complicated as is accepting the responsibility of personal power over own’s reactions to life. I loved this article!

    Dispersed throughout week, I practiced the Isha Kriya four times. Twice at night, as well as once in the morning, and once in the early afternoon. This week specifically, I noticed specific developments since I began the practice. By the end of this week, clearing my mind was much easier and even fluid being that I didn’t have to resist as aggressively to ward off my thoughts. Also, my breathing when I began the practice was very insufficient and I felt as if it was quite easy to loose my breath which directly attributed to my anxiety whereas now it it much more paced and relaxes me immensely. Focusing on my breathing and body became my source of attention—and this is where I see what I still need to work on. Although thoughts stemmed from my life aren’t as prevalent, sporadic, intrusive or overwhelming, I found myself getting distracted by my thoughts on my body. I kept fidgeting and noticing how many knots tensed the slate of granite that is my back and it prevented me from relaxing to my fullest capacity. Being that the knots in my back and shoulders are absolutely stress-related, I wonder if the practice is supposed to not only ease the body and mind on a scientific, mental and emotional level but on a physical or rather, muscular level as well. Hopefully I will be able to achieve this relaxation if that is so.

  11. Meditation in mass media is definitely misinterpreted and misrepresented, as is yoga which I have learned. I do believe that people can become meditative and that once that is achieved, it sticks with them throughout their daily lives.
    I have practiced IK three times this week. I was home for the weekend and practiced it on my deck and it was really nice to switch up the location. I felt more at ease because I was alone and outside in the warm sun. It is getting easier and I feel confident that I will be able to do it without a video aid to guide me.

    – Lilah Tsudome

  12. The distinction between doing meditation and becoming meditative is an interesting one. I too thought of meditation as an action rather than a state od being, but when you think about it, meditation is definitely more of a state of being. In relation to my Isha Kriya practices, I could sit in my room until I was blue in the face, but without the actually attempt to separate mind and body, I would yield no benefits from the practice.

    This past week, a friend of mine presented me with and app that he is working with and trying to help market. The app is called Headspace, and it is an interactive meditation app. While I have only done the Isha Kriya once since our last class meeting on Wednesday, I am looking forward to incorporating this app with my practice as a means of helping out my friend’s business endeavors and bettering my overall well being. I am curious to see if this will have any further effect on my past Isha Kriya experience and will note them as I move forarwd.

    -Sebastian Jean

    • Remember the IK practice is integral for your success in the course, if you don’t practice at least 3 times a week outside of class you will not be able to manifest and hold the necessary oxygenated energy to fortify you this semester. It’s fine to add other practices but this one is very important for your success and you will be measured and graded accordingly….best wishes OM

  13. Leah Ashton-Facin
    When practicing meditation can be difficult for me. It can be hard to completely focus and focus on my inner self. When I experience this, I notice shapes and dots within my closed eyes constantly shifting making it impossible to focus on. They all seem scattered but at the same time they are invisible. As my consciousness shifts in observation of my inner eyelids I begin to focus on the thoughts of the external slip into my mind. They are not complete as I considered the other people within my life and those who surrounded me. I began to listen to the sounds in and outside of the apartment. The slow hum of the bathroom shower soothed me as I sat and recited my chant. These sounds fused with the contained rushing sound of planes, partially obstructed by the walls surrounding me. As these individual sounds stood out to me they slowly begin to blend together into one unifying sound which encompassed my external environment. As they united further they began to feel as though they were a part of my own thoughts as my focus became increasingly internal.

  14. This is exactly what I needed to hear honestly. I spoke last class about my problem with the IK and how I find that all I do is think about things while I’m practicing and you assured me that that wasn’t an issue and only something that happens when you first start out. This article just reiterated what you said. (This is very relevant to my IK so i’m going to include the paragraph about it, with in this post.) I have so far practiced it twice since class and both times I found myself thinking about a lot of things. Not necessarily things that I need to get done, or people I have to see. But, for example, in my latest session I was thinking about germs because I’m reading a book that recently spoke about them. So my mind is constantly drifting all over the place and never staying in one spot. But this article is kind of like the reading that we listened to about violence. In that you can’t try and mediate just the same way you can’t fight fire. You have to let meditation grow out of your practice. I’m not sure how long it will take, but hopefully over time my mind will begin to rest during these times and embrace the moment of relaxation I’m allowing it. This reminds me also of when you say during our class to rest our eyes. I never think that our eyes are constantly working but they seriously are. Even when we are sleeping they are moving. But so is our mind and it’s a muscle, so like any other it also needs rest.

    -Phillip Laskaris

    Also pertaining to my IK, which I did not mention above. Is I have been debating whether or not to continue using the audio or just doing it on my own. For some reason I become self conscious about following with his rhythm or my own. When I’m on my own rhythm I am distracted by his and when I’m on his I feel as though it’s too fast or slow for where I am. So before class I’m going to try it without audio and see how that goes.

  15. The process of meditation has proven itself to be an interesting experience. I have done the Isha Kriya five times since the last class I attended and I’ve noticed similarities in my thought process during each practice. The article says you must become meditation. While I don’t quite comprehend that I do notice that when I am completely relaxed with no thoughts it is almost as if I am in a sleeping state. Similar to when you awake from a nap and it feels as if two minutes had passed, while it’s actually six hours later. While I’m in this state I am aware of my physical surrounding as well as my breathing and nothing else seems to worry me. Being able to relax in this way consistently has helped with my sleeping schedule most importantly but I also find I am able to organize my internal schedule a lot easier throughout the week.

  16. Sadhguru writes that in order to become meditative you must create the proper environment and atmosphere for such a practice. This includes an intense involvement in every part of your life, as mediation will happen naturally through this. Whether this is stress management or the practice of letting stimulus pass through you, rather than living in you, or being kind and non violent, you are keeping the soil fertile. Again, the practice is holistic and is not something we can participate in haphazardly. It requires a decision to think about these principles in all parts of our life. My practice of the Isha Kriya has challenged to practice these very principles. I have found it hard to practice if I have been stressed that day. When I let my To Do list penetrate my well being and control how I feel, letting it overwhelm me and letting the stress live IN me, I cannot meditate. I have had to practice mediation at all times, taking time to check in with myself during the day, during conversations and so on. It has helped me practice Isha Kriya with a clear mind.

    Giancarlo

  17. The analogy in this article stood out to me. The idea that we are soil and are creating a safe space for our crop to grow is a nice image for what we are doing internally. It releases pressure for you to arrive at some particular mental state in yoga. Instead you are simply cultivating your inner self to let dhyana have a place to grow and bloom.

    I always believed that I had to make meditation happen instead of creating a space to let it occur.
    This new found stance on meditation will help me quiet my mind and not put judgment on my process. I now realize that meditation is not an action, but rather being in the present moment and creating a space so that you can allow change within.

    I have practiced Isha Kriya three times this week, but would like to try it monday morning with the intention of being rather than trying to make meditation happen. I definitely feel a change in my inner happiness. I don’t feel like I am bothered by peoples actions as much I was in the beginning of the semester. I feel as if I have become more forgiving and loving toward others. I also find myself being able to say no buying more possessions and instead going through my closet and getting rid of the excess.
    Thursday- 9:00 a.m.
    Friday 2:30 p.m.
    Sunday 8:15 a.m. (Before I went to my job I did IK and I felt much more awake and ready to care for others.)

  18. As the article states, this is a very different concept of meditation than what I was previously told, but it makes a lot of sense. If you just try to do meditation momentarily, how will you experience any lasting benefits. It will likely be almost impossible to reach any sort of liminal meditative state, and even if you do, once you return to your normal state whatever benefits you received from doing meditation will disappear. Becoming meditative in all aspects of our lives can help prolong the benefits that meditation provides.

    This past week was very busy, as I had to spend much more time at work than I typically do. I was able to practice my Isha Kriya three times this week, but that is much less frequently than I have been practicing recently. I was waking up much earlier than usual, and struggled to make time to practice before work, which is when I always practice my Isha Kriya. On the days that I did practice, it was more difficult to focus on my breathing and the phrases than when I practice on consecutive days, but I still felt more relaxed and focused after practicing than I did on the days I did not practice. Hopefully, with working slowing down this week, I can resume my routine of practicing my Isha Kriya every morning before I get ready for work, as I continue to experience benefits from it, particularly when I practice on consecutive days.

  19. It is really interesting to understand that we cannot do meditation, but to become meditation. Meditation is a quality that people could barely do it. Thus, we become meditative to train ourself to the quality of meditation. It is giving me a much clearer goal after understand the word meditation.

    I have done Isha Kriya three times this week. I tried it once during the afternoon, but almost fell asleep while doing the last part. I believe my energy drop to the lowest point during afternoon, since I don’t have any habit of napping. However, I could somehow feel more awake and able to be more focus on my task after doing Isha Kriya.

  20. I like the idea that you become meditation instead of “doing mediation”, I agree that it’s a way of life, not just a practice. My favorite part of this article was the part about flowers and how they grow not because you want them to but because they do. I believe that speaks for all of life; you can wish as much as you’d like that your life will change, but it won’t until you act and only will if you believe in yourself and go through with the changes you wish to make.
    I have performed the Isha Kriya 3 times since class. I have been doing it in the mornings when I wake up before getting my coffee or tea for the day, and it seems to be changing the way I stand in lines (I stand straighter) and my outlook on life has been even further positive. I also took some time while it was warm out Friday to perform it outside, and the world around me seemed to buzz in response.

  21. “You cannot do meditation but you can become meditative. Meditation is a certain quality. It is not a certain act.” I think that is a very important quote because it makes so much sense. When I was young my mom meditated a lot and brought me to retreats with her. I always got distracted and antsy and tired and didn’t want to be there/ didn’t have the attention span to sit there and meditate. But now being older and understanding more, I see how you can really become meditative. With concentration and patience and truly wanting to, I hope to become meditative and able to practice.

    I have practiced the Isha Kriya 4 times this week. It has really helped me to fall asleep faster and better at night because usually I have a hard time falling asleep. I’ve started practicing at night right before bed in my room and it relaxes me before bed.

  22. It’s interesting to consider meditation not as an act but as a state of being. I found it interesting and provocative to shift my thinking in this way. It’s it easy from this perspective to see how people become easily frustrated when trying to meditate. For these people, often myself included, there is an expectation of something or a desire for results that can’t be satisfied. Sadghuru notes that becoming meditative is about creating a conducive and rich environment in which a meditative nature will frow naturally. In this way it is both a process and uncontrollable. One won’t know when they will achieve it. Yoga helps to cement and encourage mindfulness which is central to that environment. Interesting read!

  23. This article sure threw my previous assumptions of meditation out the window. I’ll admit, I was entirely under the assumption that meditation was the act of positioning oneself such that you were able to completely relax both the mind and the body. And while I guess I wasn’t entirely off in this belief, reading this article and understanding that meditation is the process of getting oneself into a meditative state makes sense. The simple humor with which Sadhguru says that meditation is not “just sitting and closing your eyes” transforms the article into a more friendly transferring of information in an informal, elementary way, making it easier to follow along.

    The example of the flower growing and blossoming Sadhguru uses is something that truly helps compare the effects of how meditation as a whole is only as good as the sum of its parts. Growth is not forced, but a result of the proper combination of the various elements necessary for the growth to happen in the first place, these elements in meditation being the body, the mind, emotion and the energies within us. In the end, it is not the act that is the vital part of achieving a meditative state, but the quality in the process towards the state.

    Isha Kriya Response:

    Now several weeks into the semester, and an additional four sessions of practicing the Kriya this week, progress is an understatement. It’s one of those things where regardless of whether or not I truly achieve that meditative state, I feel far calmer than I did going into the practice. I believe it’s more a result of the physical relaxation that is a part of the Kriya, but nevertheless, it’s a pleasing feeling after any given practice.

  24. Maybe this is sort of strange, but I don’t I’ve ever really considered meditation to be an act. Possibly this stems from some of my experiences early in life; I have an uncle who is, among other things, a fairly intense Buddhist, and he went out of his way to introduce me and my siblings to the basics of his practice. Meditation has always seemed to be a state of mind, something that happens as a side effect of spending some time being more conscious of either yourself or your surroundings. This is reflected in what Sadhguru has to say on the matter.

    This week I practiced Isha Kriya three times. It continues to be quiet restful. I’m not really seeing much difference from practice to practice, I don’t know if that means I’m doing something wrong, but I’m also not seeing anything negative come from it, so I suppose I will just wait and see.

    – Harper Stevenson

  25. I have done the Isha Kriya 3 times this week and it has led me to think about alternative forms of morning or night time meditation. I have been practicing both in the morning and at night, in my room, whenever possible. While the Isha Kriya is a wonderful mantra based practice, I have been thinking of alternative ways to start my day or end it, perhaps using meditations or chants that resonate with me in a way that push me to practice more often. This is exciting for me because your assignment is opening up a door to other pathways of practice for the future. I have been thinking about the memory of Isha Kriya that we make as a group and how beautiful it sounds and feels in that room all together.

    I have also been thinking about the word meditation, as the article talks about, and the weight that I put on the word. It feels so lovely to practice but it feels so mighty to tackle as a daily part of my routine. I would like to develop my own path to find a practice that feels right and that I can stick to on a more regular basis. This is where my focus currently lies. I am interested in creating spaces to allow this practice to flourish in even more and making my practice mobile and transportable as well. Looking forward to even more successful weeks that are more consistent. I will begin again with this week.

    Thank you,

    Raechel Teitelbaum

  26. I really like considering meditation in terms of a state of being rather than an action you can take. Often people mistake certain things to be actions rather than ways of being, and vice versa, and it is important to me that these things are differentiated. An example I like is from Bell Hook’s All About Love, she describes love as an action rather than a feeling you simply fall into. Love is constant work and often people can forget this. Mediation, or being meditative rather, would be considered the opposite. There is definitely a difference between sitting down and trying to meditate and doing something that lends itself to putting you in a meditative state. For me, photography often puts me in this state. I become very aware of my surroundings and myself, and I become much less self conscious than I usually am. It is a very freeing feeling and it is one of the many reasons photography became my passion. Trying to cultivate that feeling in everyday life is definitely something to aspire to.

    This week, I practiced isha kriya on:

    wednesday 630 am
    thursday 630 am
    friday 630 am

    I am finding that it is becoming a really great way to wake up in the morning and I believe I am having more success sitting still than I did when I tired it in the evening time. I sometimes look forward to having this as part of my morning ritual, because I am naturally a morning person so I find great pleasure in doing small things as my mind wakes up, such as drinking coffee or listening to music. Isha Kriya has left me feeling more focused, positive, and ready to start my day.

    sean sirota

  27. Sadhguru’s description of the concept of meditation is one that I have not seen before. Like he stated in the beginning of this article, the word “meditation” is full of misconceptions. My idea of the definition of this word has changed dramatically since the start of our yoga class, more and more each time I attend class or for every article we read or listen to.

    I can sympathize with the difficulty or impossibility to “do” meditation. It takes plentiful practice that requires more time than most people are willing to put in. Even then, those who dedicate much of their time to practicing meditation might find it hard for themselves to fully achieve self-enlightenment.

    This week I practiced the Isha Kriya 4 times. The first time, I tried doing it while still sick and I couldn’t truly be as dedicated to it as I wanted to be. So the next three times, I did it in the span of two days. The first day I practiced, I did it once in the morning, and once at night. I made sure not to do it too soon after waking up or too close to going to bed. I did however notice, that I much prefer doing it in the morning, and I feel as if it benefits me more to do so. So the next day I practiced once more in the morning, and came to the conclusion that this is the best time for me to do it. In the morning, I have much less on my mind, and I find it a lot easier to clear my head when there wasn’t much in it in the first place.

    -Matthew Harris

  28. I found the ideas stated in this reading to be very interesting. As I am not particularly experienced with meditation, I often find myself approaching meditation as a ‘task’ to be done, in a certain sense. Through my practice of the isha kriya I have found that the approach I take/ the mindset I adopt when beginning my meditation has a noticeable effect on what I get out of the practice. I now understand that this is not something that can be forced or ‘achieved’ with a determined mind set alone. It is something that must be cultivated through appropriate life style/practices.

    I practiced the Isha Kriya 4 times this week. This week I practiced the isha kriya before and after working out, 2 times before and 2 times after. I was pleasantly surprised by the results. I found my endurance during my workouts after doing the isha kriya had increased quite a bit, and when I performed the isha kriya after working out I found myself much better able to manage the pain of foam rolling sore muscles.

  29. This was a beautifully post, and while it was short, it was concise in it’s brevity. The post articulates the common misconceptions about yoga. For one, I like the clarification on what “meditation” truly is. Especially with the quote “one can not do meditation, but one can be meditative”. The post elaborates that true “meditation” is like a muscle, a way of life, that must be practiced and exercised each day. Meditation is not an act that one can simply just “do”, one must find the inner balance between, mind, body, and their energy, and practice the maintenance of this balance to be a “meditative” person.
    Scattered throughout the week I have practiced the Isha Kriya a total of 3 times since our last class, and plan on doing it at least 2 more times before our next class. I have noticed that my levels of stress and anxiety have drastically decreased since last week, where I was only able to practice twice due to family issues. I’ve been able to think about issues in my life much more clearly and without the added stress of life and my own mind complicating them. I will try to move my practices in the morning, as I heard it helps the other students with their daily routines.

  30. The fact that you don’t do meditation but you become it is very special to me. I personally have yet to feel this at peace, but the fact that there is potential for brings me a lot of comfort. This article was captivating because it highlighted the fact that the English word for meditation is a lot different than the actual practice of meditation.
    The incredibly Western idea of being personal-goal-oriented makes me wonder how much I will truly get to understand meditation for the short time that I will be in a yoga class this semester. I find it difficult to get into the right mindset and surrendering myself to meditation has proven to be very hard for me. After practicing to isha kriya almost every night, I feel closer to meditation than I have before. I look forward to reaching a place of emotional maturity where I can accept meditation.

    Talia (Rosie) Evans

  31. I really enjoyed this piece, It really emphasized the pressure there can be around meditation at first. Upon first learning what meditation was, my thoughts would run, I wondered if I were doing things properly and putting too much pressure on myself to be in a place I hadn’t had much expierience with. I am still constantly learning and growing, that is one of my favorite parts of life, expanding my mind. But my path changes and leads me to where I need to belong, it is my truth and beautiful as equally as every other persons path. Unity
    Isha Kriya continues to be a beneficial activity for me, when I get around to doing it. I must start to maintain everyday better. I love learning more about spirituality and yoga culture, I am so excited to go to India this summer to learn Buddhist Philosophy with the school. I am blessed to be able to study abroad and expierence so many things. I will improve my meditation rate per week, it will only benefit me! ❤

  32. I think the flower example really stuck with me. I’ve always known that to be meditative, you can’t be THINKING about meditating. I’ve also been very aware at how important atmosphere and proper components are. But to think of meditation as something that you can bring yourself to like that of a properly fed and nourished blossoming flower is profound. Setting a tone is the gateway to meditation, after passing it, things now become about letting yourself to fall in, and not DO meditation.

  33. I’ve always heard of people meditating to relieve their stress but before I took this class and read all the readings, I wasn’t quite sure on what mediation meant. I did not even know that there were many forms of meditation. I genuinely thought in consisted of closing your eyes and reflecting about your day. I know see that I was clearly wrong! After reading this article I understand that meditation is not something you do, but instead something that you become. Sadhguru stated that if you “cultivate your body, your mind, your energies and your emotions to a certain level of maturity, meditation will naturally happen.” He mentions a beautiful metaphor about keeping the soil fertile. If you take care of the soil, it will naturally bloom beautiful flowers. Our bodies are similar to soil in that way. We must take care of ourselves, then we can truly become meditative. I still practice the Isha Kriya. Now more than ever because I am in the process of completing my senior project. In this time of stress, practicing the Isha Krya, and even being more conscious of my breath have been really helpful.

Leave a Reply

