Top 7 Myths about Yoga – Busted! | The Isha Blog

Standard

Top 7 Myths about Yoga – Busted! | The Isha Blog.

Do click the link above to read the article written by Sadhguru telling the truth about why so many in the West are confused about the real Yoga….as usual he sets it straight!!!!  The picture above is a Mega Statue of Shri Patanjali (at Sri Ram Dev’s ashram in Hardiwar that I snapped in 2007) This statue is a few stories high!  Just a small measure of the respect for Shri Patanjali.  I feel confident with Sadhguru’s worldwide scope and presence more will come to know about true Indian Classical Hatha Yoga, and it is about time.  Eternal thanks to Sadhguru !!!!

9 responses »

  1. I have had some myths I believed about yoga. I think everyone believes certain things about yoga as well. This article explained that everyone has their own ideas about certain things, but I think it’s more important to learn from them. From taking yoga, and reading a lot of these posts, it really helps you understand what yoga is and what you hope to get from it. I have learned a lot about myself and others. This article confirmed some of my thoughts about yoga and that I can teach to others who anticipate taking yoga. Yoga is a great exercise for your mind, body, and soul. I would recommend everyone to take it. It is a wonderful experience.

    • This article is very interesting because it is so true that many times yoga teachers have trouble conveying what yoga really is about. I find that many yoga classes are about the asanas and the physical excersize and do not focus on the breathing or ways to utilize yoga throughout the day. I think yoga could be a great tool for the western world to on a more natural in sync life track and I do hopee that the physical yoga switches to a more inner yoga, and outlook on life and the universe. Although I do enjoy the physical aspects of Yoga I find the mental and spiritual to be much more present and important.

  2. Yoga has always been something that I have wanted to try. There are yoga studios back at home that have appeared interesting and people have said their results from this program have sculpted them and gave them a great workout. After reading this article and having taken your class on campus, I am curious as to what they are doing in those studios, because to me it does not sound like true yoga. It’s true, a large aspect of yoga is the mental connection you find within yourself as you slowly work your body over a period of time. Books and intense classes can’t teach you what we learn in class. There is so much more to yoga than meets the eye and I am glad to say that I have experienced a life altering class that has caused me to see myself and the world in ways I never knew were possible. Yoga is far more spiritual than it is physical and without focus in the classroom, how can one truly see any sort of change?

    It was sad to me to read about the teacher who had been practicing and teaching incorrectly for fifteen years, but once she found out that she was doing the wrong thing, she gave up teaching yoga; I feel that was a little drastic. There is always room for improvement and change. All she had to do was alter her practice, discover the change within herself, and then go back and preach her learnings to others.

    I am glad to have experienced the proper yoga practice. I can proudly say that I have seen a change within myself and it has inspired me to develop a healthy lifestyle, even though that change did not include a six pack of abdominal muscles. I have learned far more than I ever expected and recommend yoga to everyone because the experience is incredible.

  3. I think the most relevant myth talked about in the article was the whole idea that doing yoga was about being able to contort yourself into a bunch of weird shapes. I feel like it was extremely important that he addressed the fact that yoga was so much more than just bending in all different directions, it’s a way of living. In fact, the asanas are only a part of one of the many sutras. A good portion of yoga is about breathing, meditation, and self-awareness. This also ties in with the other mentioned myth, that doing yoga was meant to be a workout. I especially like how he said yoga was about shaping yourself into a vessel, not a toned sculpture.

  4. This article was incredibly insightful. What I found most interesting were the myths about music during practice and yoga as a lifestyle rather than simply a practice. I enjoy having the music playing during our practice because I feel it connects us somehow and I often find that the music will match the intensity of the postures. I happen to find the music much more relaxing and helpful. However the article talks about how it causes imbalance and unknown problems. I wonder why exactly that is. I understand not speaking while you’re in the poses because that can disturb the vibrations, but I don’t see why music would be more of a burden than a help.

    I was glad to read about these myths because I will definitely share them with friends of mine who don’t believe that the practices are as beneficial as they are. Most people disregard yoga because they fear they don’t lack the stamina or the flexibility for the postures, but the point is not to be the most flexible, but that practice will get you there. And not only will you become flexible in your body but you will also be more flexible in your mind and as the article states, then you begin to see the secrets of our nature.

    • When practicing yoga and listening to music it often takes the mind away to following the musical notes missing the yogic vibrations. I play Classical Indian Hindustani music as it comes from a close sister to yoga. But I use it for large groups like yours at the college where most students don’t know one another and it gives beginners a safe place to be with the music. In my studio classes we pay close attention to our own and collective vibrations without recorded music. We do chant invocations to focus and claim our intentions for the sadhana/practice.

  5. THis article was so interesting to read because a lot of the things mentioned in the article were in fact myths that I myself had been concerned about. By taking the yoga class, I hoped to find out myself whether or not these things were true. What did I find out you may ask? Yoga is something that is totally doable, as long as you are avid with your practice. I thought that I would not be able to do the complicated poses or find time for the frequent practices that the instructor recommended but with time I found myself becoming more flexible and finding many benefits from completing my own practices outside of class. The Kriya was a lifesaver with finals and also stress in general, and I found myself reaping many benefits from the practice. Yoga is such a life altering practice that I would highly recommend to anyone and everyone.

    Megan Ong

Leave a Reply

