Content of Your Mind is not Your Choice

Standard

IMG_0522Content of Your Mind is not Your Choice.

For yoga practitioners we spend a lot of time thinking about the best route to wellness and peace.  There is also many paths, routes, practices, information about the BEST way…some are complicated…some require lengthy preparation….some seem dubious….of all the practices and teachings I have been fortunate to study, learn about and experience I truly believe that the Isha Inner Engineering is the highest evolution for the science of hatha yoga.  Please do click the link below the picture above to follow to a short video by Sadhguru explaining in such plain language the answer to a type of query that has troubled many a seeker.  After viewing you too may feel, believe and understand that Sadhguru has designed a method for our ultimate practice for harmony.  So I invite you to explore all the links on this page from Isha/Sadhguru….especially the”Free Guided Meditation.”  It is about the Isha Kriya which I keep posting and re-posting for it is so valuable.  Once you begin to follow the Isha Kriya and spend some time listening to Sadhguru’s talks (which he so freely shares with us via YouTube) you begin to understand why he says we cannot “do meditation….we can begin to create a meditative experience by engaging in these practices….it is a quality that we can choose to cultivate for ourselves….like beginning to design, and make a garden with our own hands….it takes a desire for something that is not yet present…a belief that the work we put out will yield the result….and the committment for the work that goes on and on.  Nowadays many say they want to “do meditation” because the scientists are now proving the benefits…but they are not really ready…they haven’t figured out that everything else is not going to be a shortcut to happiness….so they continue to go around and around….some are setback due to the misfortune of having abundant capital and may hire a gardener or landscape company to tend to their garden and miss the entire gateway to finding their own treasures…but whenever one decides to become a seeker – the answers from the aroma of the un-bloomed blossom lures one on this path!  Thank you Sadhguru and The Isha Volunteers for sharing your teachings with us and may you feel the deep gratitude that so many across the globe now feel as we try to keep this wave of peace flowing, even those of us who are not yet fortunate to experience Ananda Alai first hand….but the message has arrived first class already!

I wish you all to find your way easily towards Wellness and Peace…..OM

64 responses »

  1. I think what he said about the mind being a pile of garbage is very interesting. We all think things we don’t want to think, we all experience things we don’t want to experience them. But we can’t ignore them, we have to deal with them, and we can’t just “live in the filth”, we have to transform these useless thoughts into useful ones. This is something I have been struggling with this weekend. I attempted to ignore unwanted thoughts, and instead of going away they got bigger. It didn’t stop until I addressed these thoughts out loud and acknowledged that they were there.

    • Congrats Angelina…for being able to have the courage to face your thoughts and then to apply a method to address them…journaling, sharing with others who consciously listen and the pranayama we have done is class so far and the Isha Kriya we will share in class all are helpful ways(just to mention a few) to get off the track and clear the decks and move in postive vibrations. Namaste

  2. I agree that the content of your mind is not a choice, but I do believe the focus is. This is easier said than done, it takes practice to strengthen the skill of purposeful focus. I practice visual meditation. Sometimes I am more successful than other times at steering my focus. Then once I have it steered in the right direction, I like to let go of “the wheel” and see where my mind will take me.

    I thought the thing that he said about people running away to the Himalayas was funny. I have been to the Himalayas and will be recommending the Purchase Summer Study in India to other students. I didn’t think of the trip as running away from reality, but expanding my knowledge of reality, but I completely understand the point he was making.

    I like how he explained ignorance with the metaphor of the skydiver. It reminded me of a line from the John Galt speech in Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged “the only realm opposed to reality is the realm and premise of death.”

    • Sadhguru leads one of the best Himalyan treks that serious seekers from around the globe attend and are on waiting lists for years…he knows better than most about its spiritual powers…I think he was just making light of those who choose to run away like taking a vacation rather than face themselves where there are and deal with creating peace there as a permanent fixture. OM

  3. The Sadhguru made a lot of interesting connections between the content of your mind and the content of your environment. I had always heard the phrase “you are what you surround yourself with” but the Sadhguru made an interesting comment on the extent to which we can control what we are surrounded with. For the most part you cannot entirely control what you are exposed to and the Sadhguru explicitly stated that it is important to keep the “dirty” and “filthy” things you are exposed to in your minds content, for once they are there you cannot forget them and you will know how to divert your mind around these things by placing them in the metaphorical garbage bin of your mind. Very interesting concept that I will be trying out to see if it helps me organize my thoughts!

  4. Surroundings have a great impact in a person, and what the Sadhguru stated about the direct connections between surrounding and what the mind holds makes so much sense. I think its something we often overlook, and like he said, most of the time its out of our control. But whats important is to acknowledge that in out minds we can have a garbage bin which we have control over to help us and move forward to divide the filth and from that grow positive thoughts and create opportunities for ourselves. I think this is very important and I will work on being aware to help me guide and organize my thoughts .

  5. Moneace Smith

    I was really struck by the explaination about ones mind being exposed to the filthiness and dirtiness of the world beacuse some times I do feel as though theses are things that I should not think about, with my own personal issues, and things that you should try and fix within your self. But if you take them as the knowledge being put forth to help you further the search with in ones self it becomes a gift and not pain.

  6. I absolutely loved what Sadhguru had to say when it comes to the wandering mind and its contact with troubling thoughts. I found I could truly connect to the part when Sadhguru mentioned the saying, “Ignorance is bliss”. For a long while I always believed this is true, but eventually I realized that this is completely wrong. Being unaware of things in life that have the probability of causing a negative mood may seem like a blessing, but just as Sadguru pointed out, this feeling of blissful acknowledgement only last briefly, because in time life will come back in full force — as if you “hit the ground”. I know I have my own personal struggles and things that may cause a stress in my life, but I cannot simply choose to ignore it all, because it will only be worse when such feelings build up and finally come back around. In order to get past such negative feelings or stressful things, instead of ignoring it, I take some time to see what I can do to either deal with it, or turn it into something I can easily handle, thus making it something more positive. Just as Sadhguru mentioned, to “know all the nonsense of life but [remain] untouched by it…is beautiful”; I could whole-heartily agree because one is not letting life’s struggles devour them whole, or simply masking it with a false sense of contempt, but learning to acknowledge ones struggles and choose to turn it into something positive and worth putting energy to in the first place.

  7. I’ve never realized the mind as a type of receptacle. I must admit it’s been easy for me to forget things that disrupt my mind– or at least think I have. But, Sadhguru is right – we are a sponge, absorbing all our experiences, both consciously and unconsciously because our mind is always awake. No matter how emotionally or physically painful our experiences are we must continue to learn how to cope and exist at peace with the content of our mind. Although, for many people, I feel like this is easier said than done. Living peacefully and happily with the struggles of the mind can be extremely difficult, especially when its traumatizing or if you’re surrounded by a stressful or unhealthy environment. I believe that for the mind to be truly calm and at peace with all its experiences, we must devote time to caring for our mind and bodies and addressing their troubles by developing a serene healing process that best suits our needs. For me, yoga is one of those healing processes because I feel that it helps calm my mind, even if only for a short while. Now that I know what a positive effect it has on me, I’m going to continue with it and compliment the practice with other healthy living habits.
    Thank you for sharing Sadhguru’s wise words! – Lena Petersen

  8. To be honest I was a little hesitant to listen to Sadhguru at first because I wasn’t sure what to expect. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed his talk and I was able to relate to many of the things he spoke about. I found his description of the mind like that of a garbage can interesting. My mind seems to clutter up frequently and it can sometimes feel like a lot of work to clear it. It helped me think about it differently when he talked about how content isn’t the problem (you come into contact with so many things during the day so one should expect that your mind will be full) and that problems arise when you are in it not because what it has. I will check out his talk on meditation as well.

  9. What was said by the Sadhguru really resonated with me. After having a very difficult previous semester, I often find myself thinking back on events, and “messing with myself” as the questioner expressed in the video. I become my own worst enemy by keeping these events in my present thoughts, unable to move forward. But as the Sadhguru said, I do not have a choice. These things happened to me, I have to accept it, and not develop “an allergy to the filth” by running away, because I can’t run from my own mind, it will always be there. But I was inspired by his words and his teachings, knowing that, while I have to keep these things in my mind, I can keep them contained and I do not have to live in the “garbage pail” but use it in a more positive manner.

  10. I found it interesting to think of people just wanting to gain the benefits of meditating, not truly being ready for the practice. I think with most things people genuinely have the right intention, but it is about so much more than that. To me it is about self love and self understanding, much more than that it is about the ability to find peace in our sometimes chaotic world. These things cannot be done by meditation alone, but must be practiced in the mind and body during more time in the day. I had been meditating for a short and stressful time two years ago, and although I found it wondrously relaxing, I wasn’t ready for all that it is bringing me now- which is a kind of peace that follows me for more than just one day.

  11. Alexandra Prescia
    I think what he said about the mind being garbage was very interesting. There are many things in the world that we do not want to face but have to. We all think things that we do not want to think and instead of ignoring them we must face them and speak of them out loud to rid them of our minds. As he said we must take these useless thought and transform them into useful ones.

  12. What I got from this is that thoughts have to be put into perspective. There is useless information that is not needed, so therefore there is no time to waste on uselessness that will not further you or bring you positivity in life. During meditation, it is difficult for me because I live such a crazy schedule with kids and school. I don’t have time for the filth, my thoughts are always on preplanning and organizing and remembering certain things, appointments, assignments, due dates for bills, what needs fixing, cleaning are always running on my mind. This is the first time in many years in which I get to focus just on me and meditate and refind myself and ground myself all over again. I just have to empty out my bins and shift certain things around and make meditation more useful and meaningful for me.

    • Raaisha, you will find when you choose to make the time for cultivating meditative atmosphere that this 15-20 minutes will bring richness in the other 16 or so hours of each day and you will be more successful in all your endeavors in ways that you couldn’t imagine before and then you will start to live more consciously and a new order will start for you and yours…it is not a selfish practice…all who you serve will gain from this…i hope you have the courage to want this for yourself and your family. OM

  13. I have never viewed the mind as a sort of receptacle. I have struggled since last semester with ending an unhealthy relationship after being together for two years. Much like the man who asked the question, I fill my head constantly with “nonsense” and have negative thoughts at the forefront of my mind, questioning my actions but unable to truly move on. I really enjoyed listening Sadhguru explain that what is in your mind is not always a choice. I have been inspired by his words to learn how to better guide and organize my thoughts.

    Kathryn Wilson

  14. The video was incredibly relatable. I could not have discovered it at a more perfect time in my life. It is difficult for me to imagine keeping painful thoughts in my head, but choosing not to be affected by them? I’m not quite sure I understand how that would work. I have been in the process of changing my lifestyle for a long time and I still even find it difficult to keep my mind from wandering during yoga class. I want so badly to be able to concentrate on tasks that are physically and mentally in front of me. There is no need to worry about the past or highly anticipate the future and that is such a comforting thought. I often have to remind myself of this. Meditation seems like it might be a trap. I might spend time thinking about thoughts that are useless. I want to be able to fully embrace meditation and I want to experience it correctly.

  15. I agree with Sadhguru on his opinion that one does not have control over the content of their mind. Of course, you can focus your mind on particular thoughts, but what it is that your mind absorbs is everything that your five senses come in contact with. In wakefulness and in sleep your mind gathers, Sadhguru says, so when your mind wanders it can go to useless thoughts, and this is where a problem lies for myself. My mind tends to wander and I can’t escape my thoughts, like Sadhguru explains with a vacation to the Himalaya’s, “all your problems will follow you also…” This is a humbling way to approach the way that your brain works and can help you understand your thoughts better. Ignorance is bliss, but only for a short period of time, being more conscience of your surroundings and what your mind absorbs, could ultimately allow you to make better sense of your wandering thoughts.

  16. I feel that this is a really important theory to apply to all aspects of life, not just meditation. It’s about getting to know yourself and your limits so that you can have an open mind to all experiences. I also think it’s extremely important to attack the thoughts that do come into your mind so that they don’t become overwhelming for you. It’s interesting to evaluate yourself to think if you really are ready for true meditation or whether you just want the instant benefits.

  17. I keep rereading and telling myself that yoga is a not only a practice, but a new way to live, “an entire evolutionary process for this spiritual path.” You can learn the terms and understand their purpose, but to really truly live it is something else. These postings about wellness and achieving balance in the body and mind always seem about positivity, but it was really wonderful to also see that you can not simply ignore negativity and only focus on the positive. Difficult experiences, stressors, and problems are all natural to everyday life. Reading about how to address it instead of ignoring it, accepting it, and moving forward with it in new light is something I need to remember more. I tend to over think issues, whether for projects in school, or situations with other people, and then try to suppress them instead of turning them into something more meaningful, with a lesson learned.

  18. This is was a very interesting post and link. We don’t choose what comes and lives inside our minds. Dreams are an example of things our mind create, components we didn’t even know exist to create the skits in our dreams. I believe that finding health and peace of mind is accepting everything that lives in one’s mind. Understanding and accepting the thoughts in our mind in correlation to the occurrences or experiences that cause them, whether they are rational or irrational thoughts, they are still ones’ thoughts. Living in your own mind is painful when you enter it as an objective looking in with ideals and morals. I believe in one lives in their mind they are they worst critic because they judge their own mind; thinking what one should or should not think.

    I found it interesting when Sadhguru stated “You know all the nonsense of life but you are untouched by it, this is beautiful”. You need all the nonsenses of life to live. Ignorance is shortly lived because you are quickly made aware of your own ignorance. To live is to grow and develop and in order to grow in life is to come across the filth that exist in the world. Being untouchable is learning how to co-exist with these things. However, something Sadhguru didn’t state or pointed out is that filth never stops entering your mind. In my own journey for health and peace of mind, I am consistently learning and decreasing my own level of ignorance. And that is a journey that never ends. But of course, with every encounter you are more knowledge than the last.

  19. “A plant grows thick; it grows well, wherever the slush is thick. So these are the options that you have: either you become filth, or you develop allergy for filth, or you use this filth and convert this filth into a fragrant blossom. We are looking at the third option here.”
    I’m thinking about my compost bin and my garden a little differently now. I think I have a tendency to focus on the physical aspects of my yoga practice, what I can and cannot do, and forget about the mental parts. I have already noticed a difference since class started in my sleeping habits. Often I find myself staying up dwelling on all of the things that I have no control over, but lately it has been easier to let go of them and focus on what is best in the moment. I have been sleeping much more deeply. Being able to accept that you cannot totally extract harmful thoughts from your mind but you can chose to not let them affect you negatively is a really helpful idea. The way the Sadhguru put things makes it easier to think about incorporating these meditative thoughts more regularly and not just during out practice in class.

  20. I must admit that I had to allow some time to pass before I could fully assimilate the magnitude of meaning in Sadhguru’s response. It was one of those things that just as soon as it came together for a momentary burst of insight, it had already fallen out of perspective.

    What struck me funny was the questioner, I felt that in his insecurity he was almost making himself an object of ridicule, as if there were some shame in the question he was asking. We all struggle with this internal conflict; it’s not enough just to recognize that we create problems for ourselves. There is no easy way out, because if there were, we wouldn’t be so deeply invested in our own individual garbage bins.

    There have been so many times that I have tried to silence my mind for only a moment, but the things that I’ve sought peace from come back full volume. What I take from Sadhguru is that you can’t turn your back on the garbage bin, because it will make itself known time and time again. All those invasive thoughts, they haven’t ceased to exist just because you’ve refused to acknowledge them. We must acknowledge them because they do exist and they are an indispensable part of us. I believe the challenge is coming to terms with this. It is not until we have reached full acceptance that we can step out of the garbage bin.

    Michaela

  21. Sadhguru makes a lot of interesting points in this video. I particularly like how he says we need to keep the dirty things in our minds in relation to the larger point that we do not have control over the content of our minds. Our minds are shaped by our experiences and the environment we inhabit. If we exist in a dirty environment, our minds will soak up these negative vibrations. The same is true of a positive environment. There is a duality to life, an equal balance of positive and negative, good and evil, light and dark. We should not seek to suppress dark thoughts, but embrace them as a part of life, a part which allows the good to shine even brighter. While we do not have control of the content of our minds, we do have control over how we use them. We have the freedom to make decisions to be a source of light.

    He then claims that purity is knowing all of the nonsense of life and being unaffected by it. This is an incredible statement. I think it is a unique way of saying you need to remain true to who you are. So many people become caught up in the worlds they live in. They allow their environment to have a very strong impact on themselves. This is another example of how we don’t have the ability to control the things our minds hold on to. But we do have the ability to remain unaffected by them, if we can exercise the willpower to do it.

  22. Yoga is very new for me. I have always thought of yoga as a practice for mature individuals. I often start to do something and then allow my laziness to take over. Sadhguru made me think intently about my thoughts and where they are derived from. I find it impossible to control the content of my mind. Sadhguru mentions that the content of your mind is also determined by where you are (your environment. I often try to “throw away” my bad thoughts but of course they return with a vengeance. Sadhguru explained that you can never escape from your mind. It’s always there and there is no reason to try to throw out impure thoughts. I found it very interesting when he concluded saying, “So these are the options that you have: either you become filth, or you develop allergy for filth, or you use this filth and convert this filth into a fragrant blossom.” This means to me that even with the bad that comes with our mind, we cannot escape it so we might as well use it for good somehow. In a way I understand what he means.

  23. This video was really helpful for me since lately I’ve been wishing I could turn off the constant stream of thoughts I often have when I am trying to do things I need a lot of concentration for or even when I’m trying to to go to sleep at night. Many times I feel like I am sabotaging myself when practice or performing the trumpet because I will think about trying to not make mistakes or psych myself out before playing a difficult passage when really I should be approaching these situations from a much more positive standpoint. It is just like the questioner said that he messed with himself and although he was aware of it he still brought himself pain. I often wish I could just turn my brain off in these situations! The way Sadhghuru says that we should not try to get rid of bad thoughts but instead use them to our advantage by learning from them and keeping them at a distance I think could help me a lot. I think by practicing acknowledging these thoughts when they come up but not giving into them, I will be able to have much more successful practice sessions and performances. I hope that by working towards this new mindset and incorporating the new practices I am learning in yoga I will work towards a better ability to focus and concentrate.

  24. I agree with Sadhguru that the content of your mind is linked to your surroundings. I also feel that for many people today, technological devices such as smart phones and computers become our environments and make it easy to lose focus of the real living world. These things allow our minds to aimlessly drift from one thought to another sometimes without us even realizing it. I have A.D.D. (Attention Deficit Disorder) and find that while technology does indeed provide a great deal of distraction for the mind, my concentration is no better even if my phone is off and I do not have access to a computer. As hard as I try, I am unable to prevent my mind from going a million miles a minute, racing from one thought or stressor to the next. I have noticed that for the past year or so, my medication no longer helps my concentration, so I’m truly hoping that by following the Isha Kriya and listening to the words of Sadhguru I will be able to find inner peace and be able to better focus my attention on one thing at a time.

    • Kellyann, I am sure that each time you continue to practice you will surely slowly be aiding your powers of concentration…just continue to practice and be patient!
      n.b. do catch up with assignment missed: 8/2 &1/7
      OM

  25. I think that the idea of not being able to control your own mind is interesting. Most people tend to feel more comfortable when they feel like they are in control but to think that we are not in control of our minds is very unsettling. The point he makes: when someone tells you not to think of something, you immediately think of it, is true, and it is hard to control exactly what you think about. I am not sure if I completely agree but I think that his theory has interesting aspects. I find that journaling can help organize your thoughts and make things seem more manageable.

  26. I have been more and more aware of all the pointless “input” that we receive and pollutes our minds. I found it so interesting to hear him say that it is most important to keep the filthy “garbage” in your mind so you are not just re-finding it and drawing attention to it over and over again. I really agree that one must acknowledge the “garbage” in our lives and learn to live along side it rather than try to live disregarding it, because with disregarding the “garbage” will just come re-awareness every time you think about it or are put in a situation with it.
    His comment on how ignorance isn’t the answer was also very interesting. It’s a short-term fix, but it is not a way to find oneness, peace, or calmness in your mind. I love how he says to convert the filth into a fragrant blossom — it’s a real challenge to convert the filth in the world into something positive, but being aware of its existence and accepting it, and therefor giving it permission to enter your mind rather than it polluting your mind, is something that I would love to give a strong effort to try.
    Wonderful video

  27. Sadhguru’s comments were very intersting to me. I am curious as to how he got to a point in being able to give such incite of any matter. Yoga is a somewhat old and new experience for me. I used to practice it in my acting classes as a warm up and never got much into the terms and spirituality of it. Watching Sadhguru’s manurisms made me very curious about him and the practice of yoga itself.

    I appreciated what he said about ignorance and the mind as a garbage bin. he put alot in prospective for me when talking about needing the things that trouble you in order to be at ease with yourself ( at least that was how i took it to some degree). I think that the ideas that come with the practice of yoga would be much more beneficial if practiced on a wider scale as recreational activities are, or anything “routine”. i know that as of yet it it only thought of a heath aspect, but it take widely as a life enriching activitty, family fun, user friendly, it would help achieve much more as a community or people, because I am sure that the practice may still intimidate others.

  28. I think these words of wisdom were very liberating. Rather than feeling responsible for the pain the mind keeps coming back to, we can focus on the closing off of such pain– when appropriate. This is, of course, not a matter of blocking things off for good, for that is the same as running away from them. Everyone deserves peace of mind, and empowering oneself to mediate the swinging lid of the garbage can of the mind will allow us that peace of mind. Immediately, I feel ready to toss a few things… and I already have a good feeling about it going well! I feel a sense of freedom. How very relieving!

  29. I was unable to watch the video on my laptop so I will base my comment off the dialogue between Sadhuguru and the questioner. My favorite quote was “Knowing everything about life and remaining untouched by it is purity.” With all of the sources of information available such as the internet our intake of news is endless. This majorly impacts our psyche, how can you enjoy a cup of tea and not be plagued by concerns of carcinogens, poverty etc. I read an article about how increasingly important focus is especially for new generations. We need to focus on what is important and be able to shut down or stall other parts of our mind or we will become overwhelmed. Originally, humans were not designed to intake so much information as offered by the internet, we are recreating biological development with technology. This quote reminded me that despite all of the corruption surrounding us we need to remain simple and therefore pure.
    Also, I enjoyed the garbage theory. I never thought about how it was the most essential part of my household although I love disposing things that do not hold use. I wish my mind worked like that. Our minds are not garbage cans, mixed blessing.
    In addition, I always thought ignorance was bliss. Sadhguru’s theory proved me wrong. Ignorance stops being blissful when the fall is over. Yoga cannot change a persons mind with the snap of a finger, it can only stop ignorance through confrontation of yourself.
    Great article.
    I want to hear more of what Sadhguru has to say.

  30. I really enjoyed listening to what Sadhguru had to say about our thoughts, our surroundings and our decisions with those thoughts. I agree that the content of our mind is not our choice. Instead, our mind unconsciously fills itself with what is around us. This idea reminded of how anthropologists are able to understand different cultures according to the connections they make between the members of a culture and their environment. Moreover, I liked how he explains that is not about what we have in our mind (the content) but what we do with it. I agree with this idea since I believe humans are capable of controlling more of the human mind than what we think we can. I know there are situations in life when we think our thoughts are stronger than ourselves but if we change that mindset we can control more than we think. Another thing that I thought was interesting was his opinion on the famous idiom “ignorance is bliss”. I always took this idiom to be true but hearing his point of view changed my mind. I agree with how he explains that is not about ignoring what is around us but about knowing everything and remaining untouched by it.

    I also enjoyed the “8 Limbs – The real Ashtanga” post. It breaks down the key concepts of Yoga in a nice and easy way. As I have mentioned before in my other posts, this class has taught me that Yoga is not only about complicated positions but a way of life. This post explains just that. Yoga requires more than just a strong and flexible body. It requires a mindset that allows us to acquire consciousness of ourselves and the world around us.

  31. I feel like the more time you put into correcting negative thoughts as they come, if you stay conscious enough of yourself to do so, you are on a good track to positivity. Although it is true that when the mind is unsettled, there is little one can do besides move forward and grow. I practiced this a lot this summer, that is: correcting my negative thoughts into being grateful about something in my life I may be taking for granted. I say a real difference by the end of the summer. Now I’m the happiest I’ve been in a long time.

  32. I think this is wonderful in particular because it relates to something I have been rapidly experiencing and coming to terms with in recent times. At the risk of sounding cliché, here I am talking about a certain coming-of-age. Moving to a new state, living far from home and all of its securities, and being forced to adapt to a rather intimidating new world has come with its share of natural challenges. It was Sadghuru’s comment on the “ignorance is bliss” cliché that really resonated, in that I have been the type of person to try and hold on to my childhood naivete as long as possible, only relinquishing my grip on such rabid idealism now that I must face a darker and more complex world. “Ignorance is only bliss until you hit the ground.” I still maintain that it is important for anyone to hold on to the wisdom of their childhood, but it is also important to use that innate wisdom of years past in conjunction with the acquired knowledge of behaving with finesse and savvy in the adult world. This is something I believe Sadghuru addresses here, in that the balance of a pure mind and the knowledge of an earthly reality are crucial for the overall health of the soul, mind, and even the body.

    I also agree with his point that the content of your mind is not your choice. This is another idea I have grappled with for sometime now: the idea of “original” thought. Regardless of how earnest one’s efforts might be, it is ultimately impossible for one to completely sever oneself from all of the ideas they were raised with. Nowhere in the world is truly without stimulation, and everything you learn, regardless of where you are, is the result of your interaction with your environment and your environment’s action upon you. We are the products of our surroundings, and while it is possible to filter and adjust that environmental influence to suit one’s own desires, the idea of 100% truly independent thought, free of external influence, is an utterly unattainable fantasy. As long as the past exists, it will remain with you. You cannot erase what has been done, but you can choose what you make of it.

Leave a Reply

