An Animated Guide to Understanding about our role in Stress Reduction….Reblogged…

Standard

Thanks to Jacinta-Yoga for this fact filled video that is easy to understand and relate to.  It explains much that we already know but puts it into perspective in a concise way.  The animation shows us how helpful it is to review our relationship to the Tripe Cs: Commitment, Control and Change.  Good options are presented and this is a great video to hold in “Feel Better Toolbox.”  Perhaps a good thing to share with students….Best Wishes….Namaste.

Yoga Love New Zealand

Stress is related to 99% of all disease and sickness!!

Are you also keen to learn more about the single most important thing you can do for your stress? Have a look and listen:

 

View original post

97 responses »

  1. After watching this video I do believe I’ve gained more incite on how to handle what I consider stressful. Before watching this video or even joining yoga I didn’t realize we create our own stress. One quote that caught my attention was “the greatest ability to reduce stress is to choose one thought over the other.” Now instead of over-analyzing situations and creating unpleasant scenarios I will choose to remain calm and welcome optimism into my mind, body, and soul. As individuals we all don’t have control of what happens to us, but we can control how we respond and handle things.

  2. Dr. Mike Evans raises multiple points on how stress is universal and impacts people. He firstly refers to technology specifically sports impacted two different groups and how their health changed in response to stress. We can control this stress by changing how we handle situations, through response. He provides a “simple solution,” change how we “think,” which is similar to how the mind works with the body in meditation. Dr.Evan states we need to turn out thoughts down. I strongly agree. I used to think the worse of worse with people and situations I was involved with. I decide to change my diet, start yoga, work out, change my circle of friends and get out more. I discovered a change in how the problem solved and interacted with people and a lot of good came in return. The unfortunate thing for me, was realizing how easy it was to back track into my old ways if I was not consistent.

    Consistency seems prevalent with Sadhguru’s concept of breathing, uniting the body and mind. Dr.Evans has a more scientific approach by referring to studies that reveal how the body was impacted because of harmful thoughts. The increase of health risks compared to those who were provided with Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, those who received CBT, are technically on the right back to Sadhguru’s Koorma Nadi, by being able to tune out their thoughts and just focus on their breathing and body. Both suggest that outside influences come to you if you partake in bodily actions or thoughts that invites such response, therefore put out good and you shall receive good. The negative and outside influences harm the body and invite bad thoughts.

    If one does not believe this is true than they can not argue with the studies and facts shared by Dr.Evans of an increase in better physical and mental health.

  3. Stress is something that we all acknowledge and yet often don’t have a clear definition for. We label things stressful when we feel tired, overworked, or cheated. We blame our behaviors and failures on a stressful environment. But often times, I’ve found that when people talk of stress, it’s not because their lives are really all that terrible, but rather that they don’t want to be at blame for their decisions in the situation.
    I really enjoyed in the video when Dr. Evans mentioned his patient who explained the 90-10 rule. That is only 10% of what happens to us is due to the actual situation and 90% is how we react to it. I’ve found that with people who talk about stress they’ve often given up hope on an outcome before the event has even taken place. I think this video is great, because it describes step by step the different aspects of stress (both negative and POSITIVE), and explains how stress can be changed and used when a person is willing to change themselves. I think this video can not only help to improve one’s own opinions on stress, but also allow us to help other people through “stressful” times in their lives, if we take the time to help brighten our own attitudes and let that happiness break through into their lives.

    -Jasmine Fay

  4. I think that this was the most interesting video that I have watched so far, and I really found it to be very eye opening. I am personally, a very stressed person when it comes to my academic, professional and personal lives. All stress me out in different ways and occasionally the stress subjects overlap. It is one of the reasons that I do yoga in the first place: to force myself to take the time to focus on caring for my inner self. I really liked the view of good stress that goes along with bad stress, and how a good level of stress can help one succeed, as long as he/she maintains it properly. I think that the topics discussed in this video are definitely things that can be taken into every day life.

    -Amanda Domo

  5. Combating stress is one of the major reasons why I have turned to yoga. I want to incorporate it as one of my daily commitments in order to help me deal with and lessen the effects of stress. The creator of this video brings up many interesting points. The fact that “thoughts and attitudes are key holders for the stress you experience” is a very insightful observation. By changing the way we think, we can essentially alter our stress levels.

    According to the video, occupying yourself with a variety of different commitments is a mechanism to decrease stress (effectively removing all of the emphasis from one particular part of your life–such as job or school–and spreading it evenly across many diversions that range from hobbies to friends). Also, our degrees of openness to change are key contributors to how we process stress. We must be open to processing and accepting change as a natural part of life. Lastly, we must learn how to surrender control. In order to decrease stress, it is important for us to identify and discriminate that which we have control over and that which is beyond our control. We have the power to deal with that which we have control over.

    I find that a lot of stress has to do with worrying about the past or future. This disallows us from being active participants of the present moment. Through my practice of Isha Kriya, I have seen its potential to really decrease levels of stress. The goal of Isha Kriya is to separate yourself from your mind and body through breathing exercises. While I do my Isha Kriya exercises, I find that my stress levels definitely decrease. I think this is mostly due to the fact that while I am doing the exercise, the focus is not on the past or future–the focus is solely on the breath. It helps bring me back to the present moment.

    Hopefully through continued practice of Isha Kriya, I hope to experience a change in my stress/anxiety levels. I am hoping that I will be able to achieve centeredness even if faced with stressful situations.

  6. This video was a very interesting way to discuss stress and how it affects us. Rather than him just talking or having to read something he draws an entire story which really keeps the viewers attention. Its funny that he mentions towards the end of the video to keep it simple and go back to basics because the point I thought he was trying to make throughout the video is to simply change your way of thinking. I’m so used to hearing every solution to a mental health problem is to take a pill wait a week or two and you should feel better. That isn’t the case, EVER! Many people in my family suffer from stress and anxiety, my mom being one of them. Most of them take pills every day to keep them calm, but one in particular does everything the man in this video discussed and she’s in the best mental state out of all of them. I’m trying to show my mom that she doesn’t need a prescription to be happy, she just needs to appreciate smaller things in life and try to be positive.

    • The best way to show someone is to lead by example…perhaps share the Isha Kriya practice with your Mom….Namaste
      n.b. haven’t seen your log in for the second assignment last week

  7. I find this to be true for my own stress and I intend to examine my own automatic though process when challenges come up in my life. Its very helpful that he broke down the story into corresponding pieces. I’m also reminded of the isha kriya and that if we can learn to turn our attention to our breath then we can learn to choose good thoughts over stressful thoughts. Thus is the most popular lesson sought in meditation. Having done the isha kriya only a handful of times I can see how it could bring our being into a more efficient and healthy state of mind. I also notice renewed gratitude for life and a sense of awe at the perfect balance of creation. I also feel inspired to take the full 20 minutes to sit than just moving on to the next activity. Thanks!

  8. I completely agree with the fact that Stress is created through our thinking patterns. As human beings we tend to look and dwell on the negative aspects of life and block out the positive things we experience during the day which creates a lot of stress. In order to reduce stress we need to change how our mind perceives comments, things that our brought upon us. For example if somebody tells us “hey you look great today”, that uplifts our spirit and gives us confidence during the day but if somebody else says, “I don’t like that shirt you’re wearing”. That little critique had the power to change our whole day and we forget the good thing that was said to us. Another factor that brings a lot of stress is our expectations in life. We tend to control a lot of your decisions in life and forget that the control is what is creating problems in our life, if we for once went with the flow we would be more appreciative and content with our being. I can relate with some of the de-stressing approaches because they do bring solace into one’s life. Things, such as, writing them down on a piece of paper, breathing exercises, using art as a tool to vent those emotions. It’s important for us to take some time out of our day and practice changing our negative thinking habits.

  9. This is an interesting video. As a college student I can see so many things that I do that make me stressed, but I don’t even realize that I’m doing them. I agree though that is all in our own heads, and that our attitude towards the events around us really controls how we react, and if we think the right way, we can really improve our quality of life!

  10. I really liked this video. I thought the part was really interesting when the doctor explained the 90-10 rule. I knew that we created our own stress but this really helped me understand it more. I often get stressed and it is easier to look at the negative aspects of things than the positive, like the video said, but I try not to. From now on I will keep in mind how the video said “thoughts and attitudes are key holders for the stress you experience”. I think all of this information will really help me in the future.

    As for the Isha Kriya, I was able to practice it four times this past week. The first time I found it hard to concentrate on the instructions but the next times it was really relaxing. Sometimes it was hard to really focus because of noises coming from the hallway or outside. But other than that it felt really good to do nothing for a little while and just look inward.

    -Julianne Waber

    • …do nothing….hope you are breathing during your Isha Kriya?….just checking…do stay on the path…OM
      (p.s. haven’t seen your 2nd assignment: 5/25/2013 & 8/5/2012, thanks

  11. I really liked this video, i loved the graphics of it, along with the main idea of it. As I was watching it, I realized that they are very right. I am a big believer that our thinking and attitude is what cause us to take a situation as stressful and affects the way we perceive any situation. I always advice my family and friends about their attitude towards life and tell them to try to find the good in things. I was so glad to watch this video because it is supporting what I always thought and say to them. It made me think of times when I’ve been stressed and how it was mainly my thinking and my attitude towards it that made it 10x worst.
    I’ve been practicing this way of thinking, and being more positive recently already, and I definitely feel much better. I’ve been in a better mood, things get done at ease, I feel happier and with more energy. Whenever I’ve been stressed, even my body gets affected by it and I was suffering from back pain not too long ago. But as soon as I changed my way of thinking, I havent had back pain for a month now. It feels really good to be able to handle situations in a smart and positive way and find methods to handle stress so it can improve our heath in the long-term.

  12. This video is very insightful, and reminded me of some things I already knew about stress and some I did not. I can say I never really thought that I created my own stress, but when I think about it, it does make sense, my stress level is all based on how I handle a situation. I think that stress is a natural thing that everyone goes through, some people seem to be stress free all the time, even though the things they are dealing with seem to be much more stressful. I look at some of my friends and wonder, how do they do it, it’s all about outlook and the reality of the situation. Sometimes I am faced with a stressful situation and I act like it is the end of the world, that my life depends on the situation resolving itself perfectly. I over analyze things and make them much more stressful than they actually have to be, I mean how often is a situation going to be the end of the world, almost never. The video mentioned a few things that people often do that creates stress, fortune telling, mind reading, focusing on the negative and black and white thinking. These are all things that I do, some more often than others. Recently I have been trying to control my stress levels, by not overreacting to a situation and trying to see the positive side to it rather than the negative. When I do this the tightness in my stomach almost immediately loosens and I feel like a weight has been lifted. When life throws me things I find stressful I have to remind myself to not freak out, but to look at the situation for what it really is, stop assuming things will end horribly and start to become a more positive person and stop looking at the negatives in every situation. Don’t let stress eat away at your life, keep doing the things I enjoy, don’t sit alone in my room and eat a tub of chocolate ice cream. As they mentioned in the video 10 percent of life is the things that happen to us, the other 90 percent is how we respond to the situations.

  13. First of all, the animations in this video were great. It made the concepts easy to follow and created a clear, organized flow. The one part I took issue with (as a psychology student) was the speaker’s “bento box” formula, with tiny boxes for each mental illness. In clinical psychology, there is a huge emphasis on comorbidity of diseases (for example, people rarely have only Major Depressive Disorder, they typically are diagnosed with an anxiety disorder as well). Just something I noticed, but there were a lot of things I did enjoy about the video:

    I enjoyed this comprehensive look at stress and the impact it has on us. I was already familiar with quite a few of the topics, such as Cognitive Behavioral Therapy and positive thinking strategies. Also, I know that there are many studies on meditation right now to investigate the relationship between meditation and stress. Even though I already was aware of the impact of stress on the body, I still find the physiological effects to be pretty fascinating. It is amazing (and also quite dangerous, as we see in many examples of this video) how the mind can influence the body, and negative thinking can thus lead to poor health.

    As I am a senior this year, I find myself spending long hours in front of the computer doing research for my senior project. When people ask me how school is going, my response is usually the same: “it’s stressful, but good.” In the video, we are reminded that our occupation itself is not stressful, it is how we think about the situation. I loved the quote about the “10%/90%” way of living: you can let circumstances take over your life, or you can challenge yourself to conquer potential stressors through the power of positive thinking.

    So, as this semester progresses, I hope that I can implement the concepts in this video about stress reduction into my life. It can only make me appreciate my academics more and stop seeing them as something to worry about.

    Jessica Passman

    • Excellent aspirations…do let the Isha Kriya keep you focused on your goals to appreciate the senior process and to not stress so much. Don’t you deserve to have the benefits daily from the Isha Kriya…can you carve out 15 minutes a day to help you navigate? Namaste

  14. I feel that we all know the effects stress can give us. People tend to need a sense of recognition in order to handle stress, this is where Dr. Mike Evans’ example on the fail of the said phone company affected its executives, and how the mindful executives excelled in pulling through the difficult time. If distracted through things one knows they love and or are good at, the situational will move easier, and can have a lasting affect. This is why I believe that activities such as working out release stress through the body because it is an act of control; we are controlling what we do in the workout and feel a sort of accomplishment. Thinking patterns can yes, be controlled by the human being, but I still feel it truly depends on how well a person can control it based on the person that they are. Not saying its not possible for every human, but might be harder on each and every person. However, once someone is going through a difficult time and can succeed through that hard time with mindful thinking, the next obstacle can seem hopeful, and creative a bright and better outlook on each situation. It can merely take that one time! Great video to add.

  15. Oh stress- a state that I was way too familiar with at particular points in my life. I have seen the destructive affectivities that stress can impose on your body. A year after I moved to NYC, I was residing in Bushwick (Brooklyn). The environmental change, in comparison to the dormitories in Brooklyn Heights and living in the suburbs, really impacted my mindset. I was constantly in fear of either being attacked, and in the midst of some violent conflict (which gun shots were heard every other day). I was not eating right, from being too afraid to go get food on my own. Consequently, being out of tune with my environment and body, and being overly stressed, I started to lose weight. Before you know it, my stomach was hurting and checked myself into the emergency room. Long story short, I come to realize that my body started over produce bacteria that we all naturally have in our gut, resulting in the slow deterioration of my intestine. That was the very first moment that I realized how fragile one’s body can be , and how it can work against you if you do not take care if. Being stressed it detrimental, which I have come to learn through research and personal experience. There has never been anything physically and emotionally positive out of this particular emotional state. When I was watching the video ( which I have seen before, but wanted to refresh my memory), it made me realize once again on how susceptible I am to stress- and how I need to take proper care of my body to ensure that it doesn’t lead to further potential ailments and bodily issues. Stress affects your body down to a molecular level, and I truly personally feel (as well as medical researches) that stress is one of the leading causes of health complications (i.e cancer). Stress, can also be a negative festering emotion that can also lead to violence (as discussed in the previous assigned audio, part 3 of the Yamas). To conclude, however, stress overall is far from being beneficial. If anything, it is detrimental. Yoga has been one of the very few practices that has aided in calming/ diminishing stress, and also a utilitarian tool that can further aid you an being self-reflective and looking internally at what may the root of the stress and negative emotions.

      • Puscifer is a band that was started from the lead singer of the band Tool. I do not personally know him, but his music is politically charged as well as spiritually.. i have a friend in Arizona that has met him several times, and he is a humble, down to earth, and rather reserved man. He believes in higher consciousness, the third eye, and the ability to obtain a level of knowledge that has been diluted within societal construct and empire.

  16. What a great video! I really enjoyed watching this and I felt I had a lot to learn from this. Some of the methods he talked about to help de-stress I have used in the past. I write letters to people very often, and usually don’t send them. It really does help sort through the nonsense and what actually needs to be talked through with that person. This video had some great tips that I will work on moving forward.
    I did not practice my Isha Kriya this week. I had an awful week too. I’m sure that would have helped a lot too. I am going to do it along with the video again tonight and then remember to do it a few more times throughout the week. I also am going to try the 90/10 as explained in the video. Our reaction and actions after the event that occured to us have much more of an impact on us than the event itself. This makes a lot of sense to me, it is just not something that I am consciously aware of.

  17. stress in dutch men on the day of this soccor game caused them higher risk of heart problems. this deppresion can cause you to become sick like in the dutch men and most others. how much control you have on your life can help you deal with stress. the Dr’s relize that stress is in your head you can control it stop blameing other people for it.

  18. I agree with what this video says on many different levels, stress is something that is inside our head and depending on how we address the situation we can control the outcome more than we realize. People who tend to have stress and speak about their stress usually don’t take any necessary steps to fixing these warning signs. If we step back and take responsibilities as well as live our life in a way that we benefit ourselves on the inside and out we will notice the feeling of “stress” to not be as controlling as we allowed it to be in the past. This is why I do yoga in order to achieve a state of inner and outer happiness and health that will help me and others around me.

  19. This video was extremely eye opening for me, especially as a student stress is never too far away. I often find myself on the brink of stress then I recall the moments where I thought I wasn’t going to make it and did. The 90-10 rule is definitely something I am going to add to my anti-stress tool box because its a reminder that despite not having control over all events we do have control over how we allow them to effect us. I may be able to think my way into a better place after a stressful day of work faster than I would after hearing bad news from a loved one. But I think the act of starting to build a more positive thinking style is beneficial in both situations. The past week was overwhelming from several angles and I’ve done the Isha Kriya three times this week and have gradually felt free from the weights on my mind.

  20. Stress is an inescapable affliction of the human condition. Each person has different stressors, but stress naturally yields similar effects for everybody. It has the power to unapologetically flood our minds with negative thoughts and, consequently, negative energy. Stress can be devastating or a mere nuisance depending on one’s coping skills. Healthy coping skills are the key to managing the unavoidable consequences of stress. Healthy coping skills can be physical, such as exercise, but others, and perhaps the most important, are mental. As this video mentions, stress can be positively applied to motivate a person to perform at a higher level, for example, sports players. The MOST advantageous coping skill one can develop is a state of higher consciousness; the ability to avoid negative thinking via fallacies such as “mind reading” or “fortune telling”, as mentioned in the video. “Mind over matter” is a simple concept, though many people doubt its power of influence. Blocking out negative energy is very important and advantageous. Yoga and meditation are practices that can help a person realize the power of mind over matter; that is why the lesson of this video is relevant to this course. I really enjoyed this video and I feel that the content was presented in a very easily comprehensible and organized manner. If you believe, you can achieve.

  21. This video is quite an entertaining and informative way to relay a somewhat different idea for coping with stress. Today, it is all too easy to become overwhelmed by life’s nuisances, and it seems as though our society thinks the solution lies in subduing those who suffer from anxiety with medication. I believe this is not only ignoring, but also prolonging and actually exacerbating the issue. If a person does not learn how to truly cope with his or her unhappiness early on, he or she can easily fall into a pattern of negative thinking, one of which only becomes more complicated and difficult to reverse as he or she gets older. Within the past year, I had an epiphany regarding my unhappiness, and unhappiness in general, after watching a similar video (here is the link for the TED talk I am referring to: http://www.ted.com/talks/shawn_achor_the_happy_secret_to_better_work.html). Since this insight, I have slowly begun to shift my perception of the world to a more positive light. From time to time, I have suffered from bouts of depression and anxiety, although by following this advice, and finding time for relaxing exercise such as yoga, I now feel much stronger mentally, and more prepared for life’s challenges.

  22. The video is made in such a cool way- the animation helps guide the narrative. I like the 90 – 10 system referring to 10% is what happens around us and 90 % is how we perceive it. It ties in with Dr. Evans theory of changing the patterns of thought in order to change the reaction to stressful behavior. I agree with this and do believe that our thoughts (conscious or not) are the roots of our perspective in the physical world and; if one can learn to channel and control thought through breathing, the thought-to-be perspective can be positively altered.

    Mikael Kadosh

  23. After watching this video, I’ve learned a tremendous amount about stress and how it affects us as human beings. Stress is created due to negative thoughts and the decision to hold on to negative experiences and encounter. We must alter our mindset in order to function with an easier mind and an open heart.

    It is very easy to forget that we are indeed capable of controlling our destiny. We can do this through many different methods. A major method is breathing. If we can will ourselves to be more conscious of our breaths, we will have more success in our quest to find inner peace and solace. Breathing unties the body and mind, according to Sadhguru.

    With many stresses in my life, I find that the Isha Kriya is a quick relaxation ritual I can rely on to soothe myself at the end of a long day. So far, I have only done it a few times, though I look forward to performing it more and more often as the year progresses. After the 20 minutes are complete, I can often identify a newfound gratitude and energy lurking in my subconscious. It is an exhilarating, yet calming activity that more people should educate themselves about.

    -Annley Nirschel

  24. This was a wonderful video to watch, as always, DocMikeEvan’s illustrative talks really resonated with me and I absorbed every word he said. Coming from a family of angst people it’s not easy going day to day getting in a fight or an argument about small, unimportant things. Growing up, I’ve had to combat a lot of anxiety and stress, which I would do this through drinking tea and meditation. However, as I have grown so have the complexity of my problems but through breathing and writing I have found it easier and easier to take the fear out of my problems simply by taking a step back. This video has only reinforced my stress reduction tactics and I want to show it to all my friends and family. Thank you so much for posting. Namaste!!!

  25. Stress has everything to do with how we deal with things, and almost nothing to do with outside influences (which we often blame). Being mindful of your thinking and means of coping is essential in being able to stress less and deal with the daily pressures of life better. Taking care of your health (of the body and mind), avoiding negative thoughts, being optimistic and committed, and practicing having control over the way you handle and react to things will lead you on the road to living a longer life without so much stress. We need to find the space between events of the outside world and our reactions, so we can refine our reactions to being less dramatic ones. I can speak from experience that stress, and your handling of it, can truly make or break the quality of your health. Stress manifests in so many ways, and can cause so many symptoms – from headaches to something as severe as a heart attack.

    I have practiced Isha Kriya a few times this week, and it was very calming and refreshing to take some time to be super mindful about my breaths. It made me think of the mindfulness that one must practice in between outside stimulus and your mind, as the mindful breathing is very similar to this. Taking the time to notice your breaths, or your mental processing, helps slow everything down and really allows you to try to fine tune the quality of your thinking or your breathing.

  26. I completely agree with everything Dr. Mike Evans has to say about stress in this video. It absolutely accounts for most peoples discomfort in day to day life and can severely alter a persons wellbeing. On the other hand Dr. Evans also points out the positive sides of stress which can motivate people to continue their responsibilities and push people to achieve goals that are especially high. My experience with my stress day to day can get pretty tense. I’ve found stress to have pushed me achieve amazing goals like landing a trick on my skateboard or finishing my senior thesis project with no loose ends. But I’ve also found my handling of stress in the negative sense has been less than perfect at times and has affected my life in serious ways. The video makes a few good points on how to deal with this negative stress better so you can live a healthier life. A few of the obvious ones were Think Basics and Keep It Simple which really makes sense, in any scenario just break it down to the bare core and work with it from there. Simplifying things puts you in a better perspective to deal with what comes at you in a lighter manner. another point was Altruistic practices and he mentioned a quote by Abraham Lincoln, “When I do good, I feel good. When I do bad, I feel bad.” I enjoyed this honorable mention and thought the quote simply stated a very logical point of view when trying to understand this aspect of life. The 90-10 Rule is something else Dr. Evans mentioned which is, 10% of life i based on what happens to us the other 90% is how we respond. This means that in most cases our life is dictated by our own actions and in order to live happily we should participate in peaceful practices that will facilitate that notion. This video was very insightful and i enjoyed watching it and what it had to inform us on.

  27. This post about stress was very informative. It reminds me of the advice given to me a while ago, that every time I feel overwhelmed to replace the negative thing that is concerning me with a positive thought about a better outcome. It sometimes can seem a lot easier said than done. I agree that a lot of stress and anxiety results from a feeling of loss of control. It is very reassuring to hear that their are ways to gain back your control by projecting positive thoughts and energy.

  28. I found this video especially interesting as a believer that language is a limiting entity. Generally language can serve as a barrier between the subject and the phenomena he or she aims to describe, or the situations they attempt to rationalize. This becomes incredibly troubling when an individual develops patterns of thought that manifest into negative forms of behavioral reactivity. As a means of combating this, when I find myself over-thinking or inviting negative thoughts to occupy my awareness, I tend to drop out of my thoughts as soon as I realize what I am doing. The longer I have practiced this, the easier it has become to use the stillness of each present moment as my vehicle towards liberation. A common characteristic of many religious practices is the aim to keep the subject fixated on the present, and to ignore the fear and lust associated with the development of conceptual models of both the past and future.

    My ability to draw upon the serenity of each passing breath has improved my physical well being in as many ways as it has aided me mentally and emotionally. I practice kriya at least three times a week and have enjoyed all of the varying benefits that it has afforded me. Having past experience practicing yoga, I have learned to incorporate these techniques for quieting the mind into the physical art of kriya. When I feel myself fixating on doubt regarding my ability to properly execute a posture, I tend to direct my attention towards the movement and positioning of the pose, and all other thoughts quickly fade away. While I utilize these practices throughout the entirety of my day, I find them especially effective when attempting to establish a union with my high self through the practice of kriya.

  29. I found this video incredibly interesting and eye opening. Mainly because all of the points that are touched upon in the video are things I find myself constantly doing. For example, I look at things in a very black and white manner, and no matter how desperately I try to view the bigger picture my mind always seems to narrow in on the little details. I really liked when the Doctor had said, “10% of how we do in life is based on what happens to us and 90% is how we respond,” which is definitely going to be my new mantra because I’m so easily affected when things don’t go exactly as planned, And I always fixate and obsess over them, being that instead of taking a deep breath and trying to look at the situation with a new perspective, I constantly worry about what was and what didn’t go my way. I can never simply see the alternative route. Therefore I’m easily stressed out and anxiety attacks are the norm. I recently got into my first car accident while I was on my way to work, in an area I visit frequently, however after I got into the accident and was headed to work I got completely lost; because for one, I was looking at the situation in a very black and white manner and two, I couldn’t let myself see the bigger picture; it was almost as if my brain was determined to stay anxious and panicked. And the worst part of it all was that I knew exactly what I was doing to myself and I knew that me fixating on the accident and the damage to my car would only make me more nervous, anxious and just simply screwed up, mentally. Furthermore this video really pinpointed my personal attempts at dealing with stress and I enjoyed watching this video because I felt like the Doctor was individually speaking to me. And just knowing that I’m not the only crazy person in the world was comforting. After watching the video I’ve come to the conclusion that I really need a new outlook on life and with the suggested antics, hopefully I can slowly achieve that new outlook.

    • Glad you could understand that your reactions are quite similar to most of us when we continue to act unconsciously…I do hope that you will keep to your Isha Kriya daily and begin to turn around your patterns consciously…best wishes…OM

  30. This is also a really insightful post. I am also stressed. Being in school, putting yourself through college, working, paying bills, oh my goodness that can be very stressful. If only I watched this video earlier. It makes so much sense and now that I’ve watched the video, optimistic thinking has always gotten me less stressed whenever I was in a stressful situation. I believe that everyone should try and practice some positive thinking at least once a day and then whenever you get into those stressful situations and you don’t know how to handle them, you can not dwell on it and think more positive which I believe will immediately show signs of a less stressful situation. Also the part about the executives of Ma Bell that were stress free makes a lot of sense. I never thought about it that way but it makes total sense to have commitments, to think positively, to try and let go of your power or supposed status etc because I believe that these are the things that induce stress because the only reason stress exist is because of fear or the unknown and fearing or not knowing, we innately try to protect our status, assert our power, think about the unknown future (most of the times, thinking about the negative unknown future), which can and will increase your stress level rather than control or eradicate it. Thus, I believe that if we can go through the process of this video on a step by step basis and take it back to the basics as Dr. Mike Evans said. If we can consciously go through the ideas expressed in this video and go through them while we’re in stressful situations or stressed out, I believe we can learn very quickly how to manage our stress. Like the Doctor said, when he is losing in Tennis, he goes back to the basics and reminds himself to move his feet and keep an eye on the ball and I feel that that’s what it really comes down to and instead of overreacting or thinking negative while stressed or in a stressful situations, we need to remember this video and take it back to the basics of positive thinking.

  31. I have never been able to handle stress in a healthy way. Stress turns me from the successful well-functioning person I am, to the one who wants to hide in bed all day. For myself stress occurs when I believe that I am not capable of accomplishing a task/challenge. I was so happy to watch this video because it is comforting to know that everyone suffers from stress and there are solutions to it. I almost laughed when he spoke of stress thinking as the fortune teller predicting failure because it is so true. When faced with writing a paper or going to a job interview I am almost completely convinced I will not succeed even before I have taken the first step. It’s a wonder how our thoughts meant to keep us alive can construct these roadblocks of anxiety that can lead to poor health and happiness. In these moments of stress I am reminded of my mother who has always told me to, stop and take a deep breath. This concentration on breath has been a wonder to my mind. Since being in this class I have slept better. Usually at night stress thoughts buzz through my brain and I toss and turn for what seems like hours. Now I try to silence my thoughts and concentrate on my breathing. By practicing Isha Kriya three times a week it has become easier for me to take a step back from the business of the world and turn inwards. Each time after practicing Isha Kriya I feel almost as if I am being reintroduced to the world. The things I am stressed or anxious about do not swarm me, they approach me and I am able to consider and rethink them.

    Note: I apologize for the lateness of this post. I intended to post this on Sunday the 6th but there was an error with my wordpress account. I did not realize this and thought that the post had gone through. Again, I apologize.

  32. I loved the animation in this video. It really helps the viewer stay interested instead of the speaker simply standing in front of a camera and talking. I agree with much of what was said in the video too, coming from a family which has many members with stress related issues. I see the way stress affects my family and know that many of the issues they face would be easier to conquer if they managed their stress easier. That’s one of the main reasons I took a yoga class, to learn how to relax my mind and body rather than stressing over every little thing. So far, it’s working really well. I also like his mentioning of the 90/10 practice. I think it’s a very positive way to look at things and think I might start practicing it myself.

    As for the Isha Kriya, I was able to practice it three times this week. It was difficult the first time to resist getting distracted by sounds and the temptation to check the time, but the next few times were much easier and relaxing. I liked the way it made me feel like I was floating and as if I wasn’t part of my body, it’s a very cool feeling. I find myself noticing my breathing more often now. I plan on practicing more times a week.

  33. This video touches on everything every young person in America going through midterms right now should know and carry on through the rest of their life. It’ll honestly help make better people and in turn a better society. Constantly thinking negative thought and stressing yourself out for no reason only put you in a rut. In America I feel as though we’ve lost our value for free time to think and relax and actually enjoy our lives or even think instead we just treat our minds like hamster wheels exhausting ourselves and stressing out for this end goal of who knows what. I know this video has seriously influenced me and I’m definitely going to share it with my family and friends so it could maybe influence them.

    Ashley Sabino

  34. This video really spoke to me. I used to be a person very prone to stressful and negative thinking. Since I started following a somewhat regular meditation practice I’ve noticed a huge difference in my ability to control and balance my negative/positive thinking, and therefor the amount of stress in my life. I’ve found that when I start to become stressed and anxious, I can take a breath, close my eyes, and reorganize my feelings in my head. “Is this problem worth being upset over?” the answer is almost always no, it is not worth holding onto negative thoughts, and I can more easily push them away and have a more positive outlook.

    Julia Robinson T/F yoga class

  35. Looking at the ideas of mindfulness through a scientific lens it quite interesting. I began meditating and participating a local tibetan Buddhist discussions about a year and half ago now. It has truly transformed my daily experience. I was very ill and always doing things like loosing my key and my wallet and showing up late. I felt everything falling apart often. Mindfulness has reduced my stress substantially, which is great for health as discussed but also allows me to experience the present more fully and make more useful decisions.

  36. I think this video promotes mindfulness and stress reduction in a very clear, factual way. More than anything it made me so THANKFUL for being able to grow up in this age and generation where mindfulness and meditation aren’t just for Yogis and hippies, I can see the world waking up and starting to see the value of these ideas that have thousands of years of wellness to back them up. This is a video that I could show my grandma, or my uncle, or to anyone walking down the street and have confidence that it won’t be dismissed as ‘some new age crap’; this video makes sense and was a pleasure to watch.

    Apologies for all my late posts, but I guess better late than never. If it’s any consolation I sat and watched my breath for at least 10 minutes most days this week!

    Will Prinzi

    • Much more than a consolation, I am glad you are applying the practice in a meaningful way now and I am sure you will be experiencing the benefits…as we continue to practice regularly the benefits become cumulative and build. Glad you are catching up on the assignments because they are meant to be paired with the yogic process as to help you really look clearly at your own perspective and yogic development seriously, thanks for be a part of the class…Namaste

  37. This information sits well with me because I am a big stressor and it’s usually over little thing and I really stress over the big things. I can’t help it and it really is from my thinking. My boyfriend gets on my case he always say “Don’t stress, you need to relax.” But I get mad cause I feel like he doesn’t understand how I feel and it just makes me stress more it’s a vicious cycle. But I feel watching this video it’s given me the tools to better cope with my stress. What I know will help me is the mindful thinking. For me what causes my stress is allowing these thoughts into my mind. I’ll rethink things over and over again and it’s all-downhill from there. So for me the just knowing that I can control these thoughts and feelings gives me the power back to control how I feel.

  38. As a person who suffers constantly from stress I found this video to be very intriguing. I agree completely with Dr. Mike Evans in that you must change your thinking style in order to reduce stress. I often find myself blaming others for my stress, but this video helped me realize that I create the stress. By thinking negative thoughts such as, “I won’t be able to sleep tonight”, “I am going to fail this test”, or “I failed my diet by eating this candy”, I am creating my own stress. By thinking these negative thoughts I am creating negative feelings that result in feeling stressed. When Dr. Mike Evans said “the greatest weapon against stress is choosing one thought over another” I thought to myself that he is completely right. If I were to think positive and have a mindset that allowed me to believe in the action I was doing for myself, I would never worry, and thus I would not be stressed. As Dr. Evans saw in one of his studies, mindfulness techniques are just as protective against stress as medicine is. If this is the case I believe more doctors should be prescribing less medicine and offering more mindfulness techniques. This video makes me feel as if medicine is not always the answer. A lot of the time people resort to medicine because it seems to be the easiest method, however, if you can rid of the stress on your own through techniques, I believe you will feel even better because you have accomplished something all on your own. Overall, I believe that living in the moment, letting go of worries, and believing that you can control events in your life will help to reduce, if not eliminate, stress greatly. I thoroughly enjoyed watching this video and for my own stress I will now focus on keeping a positive attitude and having positive thoughts. It is very important to have as little stress as possible in your life!

    -Caitlin McCarthy

  39. This video was very well made. The interactive drawings and quotes used were well thought out and done, it was really enjoyable to watch. I completely agree with the sentiments mentioned in this talk. The way stress effects your life is all about how you choose to view it. Now that’s not to say that stress still can’t get the best of us. Stress is always hard to deal with and sometimes its even a way to see how much someone is invested into something. To have a laid back mentality sometimes portrays a “don’t care” attitude.but simultaneously this type of mentality would produce the least amount of stress. So I can understand that changing your thinking can reduce stress but it is very hard to change your thinking.

    • Once you realize that what we think makes our reality, its a matter of choice to manage our lives for optimal balance…once you decide to start take steps to become successful in managing all aspects…it is possible and yes we often fall off the wagon but its easier to get back on track once we have set the wheels in motion….OM

  40. I found this video to be very insightful… I get very stressed out easily so hearing different ways to de-stress is always a plus for me. Meditation sounds like the best option for me which is why I wanted to take this class! I agree with Dr Evans when he says that we need to change our thinking style in order to avoid stress Positive and optimistic thoughts are always a way to stay away from negativity which is something that can be stressful. When we think negatively, there is no room for happiness because we are hidden by a shadow that negativity creates. I think this video was very insightful and is a great, creative way to show this to people who are visual learners.

    -Brittany Petronella

  41. I really liked this video the visualization was also very interesting and kept me engaged. this video was beneficial to me because I am someone who stresses a lot about everything and to see I can create it myself was scary. I also see that even though I can create the stress for myself I can also work on relieving it and starting some relaxation for myself. I constantly think too much and make assumptions about a lot and some of what he says explains that all of that generates the stress and just by changing the way you think can decrease the stress. So being mindful and more at ease with things can help you in the long run and better your life. really cool video and I will definitely be applying most of these to my everyday life.

  42. I enjoyed this video because it was explained in a way that most people could understand. I am glad that it is being recognized in western medicine, the true effects of stress on our daily lives. I hope that this leads to an even greater understanding of well being by modern science and therefore a greater understanding in society.

  43. I was completely intrigued by this. Stress is my middle name a lot of the time and I am good at managing it but lately I’ve been feeling like I should do some homework on myself. I’ve been feeling as if my wheels are rusty. I think that the way this is explained also helps the feeling of “no one getting it” or not wanting to be a bother. This is proof and prevention for every person of every age and stress can lead to break through and relief but it can also ruin your life, looking out for your mental health is the best possible thing to do.

  44. This video happened to be very informative and insightful. Many of the things that were pointed out in the video about the negative sides in which stress builds up in people hit me on a personal level since I myself can often be geared to see the negative side to things whenever I feel that certain events aren’t going my way. My mother always used to say that I have a Type A personality in which I am quick to fall apart and become highly upset when I even hint at something stressful that I feel is a bump in the road. The older I get, I have become to realize that it hurts to being in that state of being and I’ve been trying to work on myself when it comes to that. For starters not taking things personally when it comes between me and others; I am working on letting it go and taking it with a grain of salt. In society its truly alarming that no one really takes into strong concern one’s mental health unless its something extreme that is difficult to get under control such as (split personality disorder) or when its a physical sickness. We constantly ignore our mental health, along with society helping us to ignore it as well; instead of once in a while taking time out for ourselves to think things through, reconfigure the situation at hand and look for a positive way through. I definitely agree that our choice of thinking is what can either avoid or cause stress. As the saying goes, no one can force you to react a certain way, that is your choice. Its all about your reaction to it.

  45. Stresses are a common part of our everyday life. There is no surefire way to avoid them. However, learning how to deal with them can change our experience significantly. I have heard plenty a time in my life exactly what the doctor said, “it is 10% the situation and 90% how you deal with it.” This is something I can identify with; something I think most people can. We’ve all been in unfortunate situations that make us want to react implusively with negative emotions or actions. But I have come to find, from firsthand experience, that it is important to take a step back and analyze the situation rationally and decide whether it is even worth getting upset over. More times than not, we realize how miniscule the problem is, and how little a difference it should make in our day.

    This is not to minimize bad events or experiences, because they are simply a part of life, but I do not see anyone complaining about helping themselves to feel better about situations. I read all the time about accepting what we feel, because they are what make us human, but not to dwell on these negative emotions. I do not think that the minimalization of stress is spoken about enough in educational systems. This topic should not be limited to anyone. I think anyone, in any age group or social class can benefit from such a video.

Leave a Reply

