Chart: 8 Limbs of Yoga

OM window at Omlink Yoga Studio, West Harrison, New York, USA

OM window at Omlink Yoga Studio, West Harrison, New York, USA

patanjalis8limbs-alison-hinks-yogadork.jpg 1,584×1,224 pixels.

Please click the link above to view the chart showing the 8 stages, limbs of hatha yoga as prescribed by Shri Patanjali.  Thanks to Alison Hinks for creating and sharing this vital visual tool for Yoginis and Yogis.  Namaste


101 responses »

  1. I really liked this infographic of Patanjali’s Eight Limbs of Yoga because it presented something somewhat abstract that many might find hard to understand, in a visually concise and fairly rudimentary way. The chart presented a moral code of ethics or a way to achieve self-discovery and inner peace, with the last two limbs being beneficial consequences of living by these commandments, so to speak. It emphasizes the importance of breathing and focus exercises, meditative practices, and the resisting of harmful activities ill-moral mentalities. I look forward to using this chart as a rubric to help integrate yoga practices into my daily schedule and to remind me to keep doing Isha Kriya chants at the beginning and end of my day. It will also remind me to keep myself in check and to be aware of my body and to treat it well, instead of giving into my various vices.

    -Noah Schmitz

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s