Introduction to Isha Kriya – Free Guided Meditation with Sadhguru – YouTube

Standard

omlinkblog

Introduction to Isha Kriya – Free Guided Meditation with Sadhguru – YouTube.

Please click the link below the picture to follow the YouTube video about learning how to do the Isha Kriya.  For those in the Westchester, New York area…do drop into the yoga classes at OMLINK: The Studio for Yoga Synthesis…where we practice Classical Hatha Yoga and we do include the Isha Kriya into the practice…www.omlinkyoga.net   914-761-5413

Here’s to your Peace of Mind and Wellness. OM

View original post

79 responses »

  1. I found the Isha Kriya practice to be very sensational. After watching the video, I felt eager to practice on my own because of the way Sadhguru had described the feelings you attain from it. I found it very interesting when Sadhguru said don’t take breathing for granted. As humans, I realize we tend to do that a lot because it is simply a part of our every day life. We do not think that if we do not inhale we will stop living. It is not a part of our instinctual nature to think that way. However, it is not the breath you know, but rather you only know the sensations caused by the breath. Therefore, if you take out the breath, you and your body will fall apart. I find this concept to be very intriguing and would not normally associate breathing as a part of your sensations.This makes you aware, which is a necessary component to knowing that you are alive. I was inspired with Sadghuru’s words at the conclusion of this video when he said that breath, thought, and awareness in direct combination allows a slow distance to arise between you and your body.
    When practicing the Isha Kriya I was able to experience all that Sadghuru spoke of. I felt a difference between my mind and my body. I felt relaxed and more aware. I was in a state of comfort and I felt tension and anxiety rise away. I have realized that breathing is essential in order to establish a tenderly balanced life. I look forward to continuing this practice and feeling these sensations again.

    • So beautiful your honest and open comments which show your receptivity to learning how to live well! I hope you have saved the video and have decided which part of your day you will devote to practicing the Isha Kriya…so proud of you already!

  2. Sadhguru teaches the beginning steps of Isha Kriya. This begins with focusing on breathing and the relaxation it brings you. Breath thought and awareness connects people to their bodies in a grounding way. It is a simple process to practice and be conscious of everyday for general well-being.

  3. The notion of the breath as the string which ties the parts of your being, your body and mind, together is fascinating. I never considered the breath to act in such a way, but having thought about the way it was described, I am definitely convinced it is a worthwhile concept to incorporate into meditation. Being aware of the breath in this way can help us to further realize the way in which our minds and bodies are distinct. Through this realization, we can learn to utilize the abilities of each more efficiently.

  4. Isha Kriya is a practice meant to combine three elements: Thought, breath and awareness. When we realize that our body’s and our minds are two separate and distinct entities we can begin Isha
    Kriya. This practice is a powerful tool of empowerment and done correctly can bring you to a more spiritual place. It is an inward action meant to bring you from untruth to truth. When attempting to do Isha Kriya it was very difficult for me. Many thoughts run through my head and its hard to come to peace and meditate. I may need to keep practicing but I look forward to reach Isha Kriya. -Antoinette Berns

    • Thanks for being honest, when we all start to be still and try meditation all our thoughts flood in and you are correct when we continue to practice we learn how to quiet the busy “monkey” mind from jumping all around, that what the practice is for all who start, as you continue it will get better. Namaste

  5. Isha – the source of creation
    Kriya – an inward action towards that (the source of creation)
    Karma – outward action
    I assumed there would be a free guided meditation contained within the video (since it’s in the title and you wanted us to share our experience with this meditation) but much to my surprise it was simply breathing. I know you tell us during class that maintaining a certain rhythm of breathing is more important than the poses themselves but sadly from breathing along with this video I did not feel any real benefit.

  6. As I watched this video, I was amazed at how aware I became of my breathing and how he made me really think about how fragile life is. I was equally amazed at how lightly he spoke about these things, and how cheerful his attitude seemed. I found the discussion about breath being the string that ties us to our bodies fascinating, and it made me really consider how I identify my “self.” According to Sadhguru, we are a separate entity from our bodies, tied together only by breathing. Acting as if these things are one is only a deception. By using a combination of breathe, thought and awareness, I can be able to move closer to truth. I am excited and eager to practice such things, and excited to hopefully better myself in the process.

  7. The video explanation of the guided meditation showed me how to focus on my breathing not only during meditation but through daily activities as well. I appreciated the way that Sadhguru explained breathing as a “string” that connects the body and mind with individual spirit. Paying attention to my conscious breathing techniques I reacted greatly when he explained the common idea of only feeling the sensations of breathing. I feel that the sensations themselves do not last on a long term scale compared to the continuous practice of the Isha Kriya.

    • Sadhguru explains that we can create a meditative quality and that we do not “do’ meditation it is an experience that blossoms upon us…I am sure you will understand this better as we go on in the semester…OM

  8. breathing is a way that never fails to clear the mind. When we become stressed out or anxious, our breaths are shortened and oxygen doesn’t flow as much throughout our body. Meditation is a natural way to refresh our beings, and is a way to naturally clear out the bad energy. I am confident that meditation will continue to help me achieve clarity. -Brittany Petronella

  9. I have previously heard that being conscious of breath is important to staying in the present moment. Sadhguru says that we should not take things for granted, even our breath. In Koorma Nadi when speaking of breath, it is not about the sensations but breath itself. I find that breath does have the ability to connect body and mind and pull you into the present moment. By practicing this and concentrating on my breath I found that I am more clear minded with the ablility to focus more. However I do not practice this often and I can definitely see the consequences throughout my daily life.
    -Deja Raymond

  10. While practicing Isha Kriya I noticed that my breathing was very tense and fast at first, and that my mind was constantly distracting my focus on my breathing. This is interesting because I have recently begun to noticed that my thoughts and mind are very busy most of the time, and that it actually stresses me out a lot. Once I was able to clear my mind and focus all of my awareness on my breathing I noticed my chest wasn’t as tight and I began to breath deeper. Sadhguru stated that Isha Kryia involves the balance of thought, breathing, and awareness to achieve an almost super human state of existence. I know I have a long way to go before achieving a higher level of being like this, but I feel I have already begun to make progress just by noticing how much my mind effects my mental health, and breathing. Sadhguru’s response on the balance of creation was intriguing because it proves how fragile life is, and how necessary balance is to the manifestation of all creation and higher levels of being.

    -Christopher Sharrett

  11. I felt the Isha Kriya video helpful when dealing with breathing during meditation. It helps connect the mind and breath together, which I often have trouble doing when attempting to meditate. I feel too anxious and my mind tends to wander, but hopefully practicing Isha Kriya I can keep a steady pace and rhythm of breathing.

  12. Something that really stuck out for me was when Sadhguru mentioned that we take breathing for granted. The only time that I am aware of my breath is when I am reminded in yoga class to bring my attention to my breathing. I never realized that it really is something that we can control and focus on to relax and have a deeper meditation. I look forward to improving my Isha Kriya skills so that I may have an overall healthier well-being.

  13. Isha Kriya is the source of creation. Like most practices it needs a good teacher or it can be damaging, but if done right it can cause a spiritual transformation. Sadhguru eloquently explained the delicate balance of creation, how fragile yet sturdy the body is. He explains what seems like the main goal of Isha Kriya as a separation of mind and body. Through breath>thought>awareness, one can reach this powerful truth. 12-18 of this practice daily is recommended and I look forward to the challenge and am excited to see if there are any effects on my daily life.

  14. As I continue to practice the Isha Kriya, I feel as if I have been able to be more aware and relaxed. As someone who is constantly anxious, this breathing technique helps greatly to relieve my stress and anxiety. I look forward to doing this each and everyday for a healthy break of all that troubles me. I am able to be at peace during this practice and I have found that I am a more conscious being as a result of practicing the Isha Kriya. I try to practice at least 3 to 4 times a week as of now. I’d love to incorporate the practice into my daily schedule but currently it is difficult to do while on a college schedule. Namaste.

    -Caitlin McCarthy

  15. Sadhguru has inspired me. I really enjoyed him- he’s funny and clearly has a good personality and is very knowledgeable and peaceful. Agreed… I was surprised and disappointed to find that there was no meditation in the video; however, it did have me consciously breathing. Over the summer and last semester I would meditate on my own as often as possible which was about once every day although i missed some days. There are a plethora of meditation apps for apple products (and probably androids as well) which is nice, and the free ones aren’t that bad! Anyway, I know that after doing meditation often for a while, you will start to notice the benefits which for me were subtle but included a deeper sense of peace and self acceptance… Also it is a great method for dealing with anxiety (that’s most of the reason i started). I am eager to get back into the swing of regular meditation and yoga.

  16. I’m currently struggling with a lot of elements of Isha Kriya but after watching this video, I now have the confidence to begin practicing this on my own to achieve peace and mind. Breathing plays a key role in this practice and I found it interesting when Sadhguru asked the audience if they were breathing and they laughed. He is right when he says that we should not take breathing for granted and I particularly liked when he mentioned that it is not about being super human but instead it is about realizing that human is super. I look forward to what the future holds for me.

  17. This is an interesting practice that I’m enjoying more and more as time goes on. Sadhguru was not what I expected when first seeing him but I really liked his sense of humor and his ability to take this practice and connect it to the audience the way he did. I watched it once straight through just for information and then again but I found myself breathing along with him each time I watched it. I’m working on my Isha Kriya whenever I get quiet time alone and free of distractions and each time I try to improve just a little more each time, pacing myself as I go along. I think anyone can practice these if they really focus on the three parts: breathe, thought, and awareness, and not become distracted by the “wacky yogas” that exist today.
    -Emily Gregorek

    • Wonderful Emily! Do remember that free time is not going to magically float up and ring a bell for you….we must all carve out time and dedicate ourselves to our practices…best wishes…OM

  18. Breathing is one of the most essential parts of living, and yet is so automatic and unnoticed. Bringing the focus to it, and letting everything drop away, is incredibly relaxing. You feel every tense muscle begin to relax since the mind’s attention is only drawn to the intake and exhalation of breath. That part of the Isha Kriya is absolutely applicable to life, in any part of the day when you need to take a step back and meditate a bit. The video was really interesting, and I found the Sadhguru to be very calm but funny, and enjoyed listening to him speak and what he had to say—especially that life is fragile while still very hardy. What I took from him is that once devoid of breath, the body that we identify with as life is no longer ours, and no longer life—where he said we become two and our body and our mind come apart, that we separate from our being and instead become a memory and a body, rather than a whole—I found interesting.

  19. This concept from Sadhguru seems very special. When I tried it, breathing while visualizing the mind and the body as two distinct but interdependent entities, I found myself feeling very… compassionate about my body, understanding its role in my life as a human. It was more difficult to step outside the mind, since the mind is where I conceive of these images and thoughts, but I hope as I continue this practice I will feel a heightened awareness of both the mind and the body. This time, I did feel that my mind became freer, so maybe that is the beginning of what Sadhguru referred to as that ‘superhuman’ feeling.
    -Jessica

  20. Sadhguru discuses the three parts of Isha Kriya: breath, thought, and awareness. I think its a wonderful practice so far. Taking time out of the day to link all three entities which separately are taken for granted, and combining them to bring a peace and awareness to yourself is amazing. The three components are heightened and as I practice more, they lead me to think beyond normal capacities in the moment. Sadhguru explains the distance between you and your body, “moving untruth to truth” and its so enlightening. Very powerful stuff, the possibilities are endless.

  21. More and more I am becoming aware of my breath throughout the day and I am definitely grateful that it is present. I think taking deep breaths and centering myself has helped me to be more relaxed throughout my hectic schedule. It is an easy thing to do and think about that has significant repercussions throughout my day!

  22. I found Isha Kriya an interesting form of meditation. I agree with Sadhguru that the teacher has to be substantially trained. I do feel that you need the right guidance to learn how to meditate to your full potential. I also agree with Sadhguru that everything is in a perfect balance. I should definitely focus on my breathing to gain the full benefit.

  23. At first following along with Sadhguru was difficult. I realized immediately that I wasn’t engaged in listening and watching because I was multi-tasking. But once I started engaging myself I paid attention to my breathing and could actually follow where my breath was going in my body. From my nostrils into my diaphragm and into my fingertips. That was my first experience with Isha Kriya and it was insightful. I’ve done it about 6 times since then when I consciously remember and my attitude becomes more calm and conscientious. Practicing whole-heartedly is my challenge, but it is a welcomed challenge as I bring more awareness into my thoughts and breathing.

  24. I was very confused at first that I had to restart the video about two times because I wasn’t sure that I was watching the right video. but as I really paid attention and focused on what he was saying it was introducing us to become more aware with our body and how it works. the Isha Kriya seems more of controlling your breathing and understanding that it is the root of us as beings. we know that we are alive by our breathing and through breathing we can control our bodies in the way we need to. I like that it made me pay more attention to my breathing and was a good feeling to know that we are alive. we tend to forget that as human beings and it was good the point he made. It and made me dwell on that as I meditated.

  25. Sorry, I had forgot to add this comment to the other two comments I left this week. I would like to say that this practice has reinforced my awareness of the fragility of my body. Often I look around at society and see fragility in it, not realizing that what is most directly fragile is my own body as it only requires the pause of one physical motion, my breathing, for its complete failure. The body is a complex and fragile system on which our mind relies on to continue existing and thinking. The Isha Kriya practice is beneficial by allowing me to see that truth.

  26. Sadhguru’s words were so insightful. He discussed how the breath is taken advantage of and how fragile the human life is. I’ve realized the truth in these observations by reflecting on my own breathing. It is incredible to think that our lives rely so much on the breath, as small as it may seem. When practicing Isha Kriya I become more aware of my breathing thus becoming aware of my body. By breathing into certain parts of my body I am able to relax and find clarity. I have a hard time settling my thoughts and I want to continue my Isha Kriya practice to help me relax myself into meditation.

    Jasmyn Crawford

  27. Sadhguru brings up some very interesting points about the fragility of human life versus how sturdy it can be and how many things one can do in a lifetime, and how we need to be thankful for even the simplest breath because in a moment, the next inhalation may not come. I loved his point that it is not a simple thing to be human and how complex life truly is. The Isha Kriya is the practice of focusing on your breathing, inhaling “I am not the body” and exhaling “I am not even the mind.” If we focus on three things; breath, taught (to ensure we are carying out the correct practices), and awareness, Sadhguru states that we will begin to feel that a small distance will arise between “you and your body.”

  28. This video was very eye opening for me because I have done yoga before, and I have done meditation before and it is always the breath that is focused on and of course I use my breath to meditate and try to be conscious of my breath but after listening to Sadhgura speak, I have realized that I have really taken for granted my breath and it’s more of something I assume I’m doing, rather then taking each breath for what it is. And what it is, is my life line. This video really opened my eyes to how special being human is, and how much we take for grated the little things that keep us alive. During meditation, keeping this in mind, is a whole new experience. You feel as though you are one with your body, being conscious of what is really feels like to be living. The interesting part about this consciousness is, as Sadhgura says, you eventually move towards the separation of body and mind which is moving closer towards the truth. It’s a beautiful path of awareness, leading the consciousness, leading to truth.

  29. The Isha Kriya guiding video is substantially focusing on breathing techniques and how they will help tremendously. I felt similar as I do in class when we lie down after our yoga session and meditate, allowing my body and mind to solely focus on my breathing, and how it affects my outcome with the meditation. The outcome allows my mind to almost flatline, while I focus only on the breathing and avoiding worries of my everyday life.
    – Michael Nicolo

    • Hope you will find the post for the instructions for the Isha Kriya and practice regularly with them, (Feb 27, 2014 look around this date for the post with the chart/instructions. Kriya and pranayama are different in that when we practice sitting upright the energy lifts into our consciousness and other layers, when we are lying down the energy begins to become dormant/relaxed and in time sleep.

  30. Kollie,

    Now on to the first chapter. “The War Within” Easwaran talks about how the war within ourselves can be healed through meditation and practicing the teachings of the Gita. One thing that really stuck with me was how in the Gita, Sri Krishna or God tells us “how we can lean to fight the battle against self-will and separateness through the practice of meditation and it’s allied disciplines, and he shows us how in our own daily lives we can gain the will and wisdom to transform anger into compassion, fear into courage, and greed into tireless striving for welfare of others.” He then goes into The actual dialogue of the Gita, which was entirely reported by Sanjaya.

  31. In the next scripture, Easwaran puts Sri Krishna and Arjuna into context for the reader. Easwaran reminds us that Arjuna represents you and me and Sri krishna, the Lord of Love “enshrined in the heart of every creature.” As in the battle between the Kauravas and the Pandavas, when Sri Krishna and Ajuna came onto the scene in their mighty chariots yoked with white horses and blew their divine conchs everyone followed and the same exists in Easwaran reminder to the reader that Sri Krishna lives with us and can take us to great heights because he’s inside us “drawing us to himself all the time” and we’re somewhat part of him. When everyone heard the divine conch of Sri Krishna and followed, the noise “tore through heart of Duryodhana’s army.” The same thing can be said of ourselves and if we truth realize that there’s this spiritual force that exist within all of us, we can garner the power or will to achieve the greatest of self discovery, the greatest of self love and in that, we can effect as many as we intent to effect. This scripture somewhat reminds of how one man alone cannot do it all but with help from divine spiritual guidance and an army of ancestors including Sri Krishna in his background willing to lend a hand, he can accomplish the greatest feats and impact many people.

    Kollie

  32. I like that: breath, thought, and awareness. I think his point about how often these three things are taken for granted is excellent. He has a brilliant way of expressing matters of consciousness with such ease and humor. After taking a crack at the Isha Kriya i definitely felt the brain chatter subside and any anxiety flee. I used to have anxiety attacks and someone suggested I pray and meditate to alleviate the spells. Since the first time I tried it I’ve only hand about five anxiety attacks and it is only when I am seriously off my meditation game.

    Sam McCausland

  33. Again, I’m doing the make up journals and this is one I did as it is seen above. I must have forgotten the one assignment but I did complete that one earlier. Just for the record this was my response:
    This is an interesting practice that I’m enjoying more and more as time goes on. Sadhguru was not what I expected when first seeing him but I really liked his sense of humor and his ability to take this practice and connect it to the audience the way he did. I watched it once straight through just for information and then again but I found myself breathing along with him each time I watched it. I’m working on my Isha Kriya whenever I get quiet time alone and free of distractions and each time I try to improve just a little more each time, pacing myself as I go along. I think anyone can practice these if they really focus on the three parts: breathe, thought, and awareness, and not become distracted by the “wacky yogas” that exist today.
    -Emily Gregorek
    *And I updated my Isha Kriya practice in the latest journal assignments, I’ve seen some great improvements!*

  34. The Isha Kriya focuses on three main elements of awareness, thinking and your breaths. It is through the combination that we are able to find inner peace. I have started to perform the Isha Kriya on a mostly consistent basis, trying to organize my hectic schedule to work. When I first started it I was a bit timid and I found myself doubting the effects it would actually have. But I can state now that the effects are overwhelmingly positive. The task at first of sitting still for 20 minutes with my own thoughts subverted was a bit overwhelming, but after completing it I am more apt to do it again as I feel more relaxed each time I complete the Isha Kriya.

  35. As the semester has progressed, I feel that performing the Isha Kriya has become something easier and more relaxing every time. At first it was hard to focus myself and give my body and mind that time to sit still and truly relax. Slowly, I have worked on my breathing to the point that it no longer feels that I’m forcing myself but that my body is accepting it and allowing itself to relax. It has definitely helped me maintain calm and de-stress from my chaotic schedule. I no longer let myself become overwhelmed and the few minutes of Isha Kriya allows me to pace myself now.

    -Lucia Meneses

  36. I found the Isha Kriya video to be very informative because I often have trouble focusing on my breathe and awareness when doing yoga. Although I understand that these elements are very important when practicing yoga, I find myself lost in my own thoughts. This exercise helps me put my focus back into my breathing and inner peace. When doing Isha Kriya a few times a week I notice my anxiety level is lower than usual. I’ve even noticed improvements in my overall mental health!

  37. Late post, but I do remember that I had a rather difficult time when I just started the isha kriya. It was not in my daily routine to sit calmly as I think of the three elements: awareness, thinking, and breaths. In my previous attempts of meditation, I would only focus on those things separately, but after watching this video, it was made clear to me that it is so much more effective when you can connect all three elements. During the first few times, I would lose focus so quickly that I’d get frustrated, but that ended up becoming a positive effect because it would remind me to focus on my breathing again to calm my thoughts and start over. Now, I can successfully practice the isha kriya 3 times a day without any thoughts distracting me from my meditation.

  38. From watching the video of Sadhguru explain the benefits of Isha Kriya as well as practicing the method, I now consciously feel a separation of body and spirit. From this separation, I now have the ability to control body and mind. This is most important for finding fulfillment in life.

  39. I practiced Isha Kriya on Saturday evening, Sunday evening, and I believe did some on Monday during late in for afternoon along with the meditation we did in class Monday evening. On Wednesday night, I practiced for half an hour. On Thursday evening I practiced for 15 minutes. I am aware is not the amount needed for each day, however I am still getting used to it and I will continue to find the time to do it all. I feel even more happy and cheerful this week after this meditation. I even feel like a teenager again. I was getting stress over a paper that would be due soon, but after doing the Isha Kriya, I don’t feel like my nerves are going up my head. So I guess the whole week has been good with the mediatation. Jimmy Harrington

  40. Video Response: Journal Assignment 1 (CRN 42946)

    The idea that your breath is the string between that ties you together fascinated me since I had never thought of breath in that metaphorical sense. However, this clarified and gave much validity to the idea of conscious breathing and not taking breathing for granted.
    Since breathing is so automatic I don’t even acknowledge it until I am doing physical exercise to the point where breathing becomes hard, but from now on I will try to make a more conscious effort to truly feel myself breathing.
    I also loved the ending when Sadhguru said “Your breath, your thought, and your awareness, in the right combination can create a slight distance between you and your body.” The idea that with deep concentration and balance of these three ingredients one can create an almost out of body experience is fascinating, and I am curious to understand this more fully.

Leave a Reply

