Staying healthy during the seasonal changes

Standard

As the seasons change we need to put in place aids to maintain good health.  For our diets if we can keep our systems free of acidity which means really to have an alkaline balance we may stay free of colds and other illnesses.  Do you find yourself catching colds easily and/or frequently?  Do you notice that your tongue has a grayish coating? Do you notice that you have to urinate frequently? Oftentimes when we do not have the right mineral balance we cannot hold water in our system and we might easily change that by taking Himalayan salts once in the morning and once in the evening.  Himalayan salt crystals have about 108 minerals and the table salt only has 3.  One can take a half teaspoon in warm water and drink a glassful or my preferred way is to use the Himalayan salt crystals that come in a chunk size.  I keep the chunks in a glass jar with water and keep refilling.  I use it to cook with so that I am getting it throughout the day.  This ensures that the water that I drink goes fully into hydrating my cells instead of filling the toilet.  I see many who are athletic who are walking or jogging always carrying water bottles and visiting the bathroom regularly and I wonder why they invest so much for the toilet!   Next do you notice that you are craving sugary, salty and fatty foods regularly…these are telltale signs that our systems are acidic.  Also those who have a high meat/flesh diet often promote acidosis.  There is a cycle when sugar is craved next salt is craved, notice this cycle and know you may put a stop to it easily to prevent your immune system from being depleted and unable to fight off colds, flu and viruses.  When we are ready to break the cycle we can take alkaline foods and juices such as green juices.  Green juices and foods for example are:  kale, spinach, celery, cucumber, ginger, that we may add carrot and a little apple.  Also wheatgrass juice is so packed with vitamins, minerals, amino acids and most importantly chlorophyll  that builds our cells to its strongest.  For those who are not vegan, meaning they take dairy and meats, try during this time to limit both dairy and meats and stay with more green vegetables and fruits.  Grapes, raspberries, cherries, strawberries, cranberries, oranges, kiwis are some of the best choices for boosting the immune system and staying balanced.  Do look for my earlier posts about Apple cider vinegar (ACV) (look for September 1st post) and I recommend Bragg products only as they are organic and the highest quality made for this kind of health regimen.  I take 3 tablespoons in warm water along with a half teaspoon of turmeric powder every morning.  This ACV regimen is one of the best ways to make sure we can stay healthy and balanced.  For those new to this I recommend that you take one teaspoon at first to get use to the taste, in 8 ounces of warm water and you could choose to cut that with grapefruit juice to help get used to the taste.  Also some may choose to add agave for a sweetener that doesn’t have the calories of honey.  Honey does have excellent healing properties if it is truly organic and raw, which means you probably won’t find it in the supermarket chains but in a health food store or farmer’s market.  As I am staying with the vegan routine I am only keeping the raw organic expensive honey for emergencies like sore throat.  Being considerate of the bees is another gentler way to co-exist, as the bee population has been plagued by human ingestion.  We have so many other natural plant-based sweeteners like agave and stevia and also moving away from the sweet craving is what the whole post is about to prevent acidity.  When we decide to face our health and make decisions to eat for our health then we can make choices that are flavorful without damaging our systems.  The ACV regimen keeps our kidneys working to optimal levels flushing out toxins so they don’t fester into illness.  Do review the earlier posts about ACV and try to use only the Bragg product.  They have a great website that is packed with volumes of information about health, recipes, inspirational articles.  I often order my products from their website as they have sales regularly.  Do know that ACV is a very inexpensive item in most  stores and one of the best values for a healthy item for your home and body.  Stay well and share this with your friends and family….if we all are healthy there will be less germs spreading!!!! Namaste

62 responses »

  1. I love this! Reading it i was doing a mental checklist and have all the afflictions that were mentioned here and have been wondering how to make them all stop or at least quell them a bit. Immediately after reading this i sent a text to my dad telling him about the Himalayan salt- he’s always looking for healthier food options. I will try to start this food regimen asap.

  2. I’ve noticed upon coming to Purchase that I have been getting sick more frequently and being in my body feels differently than it ever has. This post was helpful in reminding me that I could overall feel better by doing simple things such as taking the Himalayan salts. I would love to decrease my ingestion of acidic foods and start eating more alkaline such as celery and kale also.

  3. I’ve heard about apple cider vinegar and the health benefits it provides but haven’t yet purchased a bottle to try for myself, reading this I may have to next time I go shopping. As a vegan who eats a diet consisting primarily of fruits and vegetables (with my staples of fruit and vegetables being the ones you listed) I still succumb to colds a handful of times throughout the winter season, ACV might help do the trick in preventing all these colds and the flu. Since eliminating refined sugar and greatly reducing added salts from my diet, I have seen the cycle of cravings completely disappear from my body. It’s interesting seeing how it’s not only psychologically caused, but also physiologically. Once detoxing my system of those kinds of foods, the cravings disappear, and if I do have a treat, I can feel the reaction in my body (wanting more, feeling sluggish, then craving more again) and it helps stop the cycle from beginning and also not wanting to eat like that again since it just doesn’t feel good. So I can definitely attest to the body’s positive reaction to plant-based foods.

  4. As I am reading this, I currently have a cold due to the fluctuation of temperatures I believe. Thus, this post is very helpful to me. I have never heard of Himalayan salt, but it sounds like an excellent investment. Since I do not mind the taste of water and salt, this should be very easy to do. I can not believe the amount of minerals this salt has inside of it! I do drink a lot of water throughout the day and feel as if I am constantly having to use the bathroom. I am definitely going to try this out and hope it works as you say. I am constantly eating greens and fruits in order to keep my immune system healthy, but this post also mentions the ACV regimen, which I believe would be able to help even more with my immune system as well as help out my kidneys. I look forward to trying out some of these items and I hope it helps keep me from getting sick! This post is very informative and I am definitely going to share it with family members and friends.

    -Caitlin McCarthy

      • I left my Isha Kriya comments for last week on the Isha Kriya video but then had realized that the e-mail said to include it in one of these comments last week. I just wanted to make sure you have received my comments so I will comment here again on how my practice with the Isha Kriya has affected me. The past two weeks I have tried to practice 3-4 days for 20-30 min. However, this week I have been able to practice it everyday since Sunday so far and I plan on continuing. I do the practice for about 20-30 minutes a day and do no longer want to go a day without it. I feel refreshed, relieved of stress, and more energized. I feel as if my breathing as drastically improved and that I am much more conscious of it. I feel calm and not as worried all the time. I used to be in a constant state of worry, but as I continue to practice the Isha Kriya I feel it being not as much of a problem. I feel more in a state of relaxation and realize that this is better for my health and the balance of my body. I look forward to building up these feelings over time and having it help me in our yoga in class.

        Namaste
        Caitlin McCarthy

  5. I have heard that alkaline foods are preferable to acidic ones but I always wondered why people preferred Himalayan salts and today I found out (larger mineral content).

    Here is my weekly Isha Kriya update:

    Since you wanted us to discuss our regular practice of the Isha Kriya, I will add this: (I don’t know if this fits into the category of the Isha Kriya but since Isha Kriya translates to an inward movement to the source of creation, any and all meditation could be classified as Isha Kriya) I started doing an almost daily meditation exercise which involves taking a stop watch and measuring how long I can retain my focus without spacing out, and the second I would space out I would stop mediating and record the time and date and the next day start again. The basic premise of this exercise is to alleviate the pressure people feel when they begin to meditate and this is done by taking baby steps. For example let’s say you only last 56 seconds on the first day before you space out, you wouldn’t get angry at yourself and force yourself to focus instead you would simply stop and record your time knowing that tomorrow you get to try again and the more you practice the better you get until you no longer need to record your progress when you get the hang of meditating.
    My experience was unusual since on the first day I tried it I expected to lose focus almost immediately but somehow I fought the limiting beliefs that kept trying to distract me and managed to focus for hours until I had to stop and go to bed. The next morning this turned out to be a big mistake since I expected to maintain that same level of focus but the opposite occurred almost as if it was a punishment for using forceful means to maintain focus instead of just observing my negative thought patterns, so on the second day I couldn’t focus and my meditation was very short. I took a break for a couple of days but my third session for whatever reason was successful and it was similar to my first but more harmonious in the sense that I was less forceful. Hopefully this method of meditating is part of the Isha Kriya and will help me in my yogic practice.

    • This is something different from the Isha Kriya and when you decide to simply practice the Isha Kriya regularly you will be able to manage your energetic patterns on a yogic level and this practice builds slowly and then exponentially. This is a requirement of the course and other practices that you choose to do are separate and apart. There is a scientific yogic measurement of progress and yogic development that compliments the work done on the mat in class. Namaste

  6. Love this post! Planning to buy a jar of Himalayan salts for sure. I did not know about the mineral content, nor did I know that those symptoms listed could be symptoms of mineral deficiency. I have also definitely noticed that the more sugar I consume, the more salt I prefer in my diet.
    Apple cider vinegar is wonderful. As far as I know, it neutralizes your body’s ph balance, which also helps with excess acidity. I work in a health food store that carries these amazing apple cider drinks made by Bragg. They’re just apple cider, water, whatever flavor the drink is—grape, ginger, etc–, and some stevia or honey. From my experience they energize instantly (not in a caffeine or sugar high way), and taste delicious, even with the apple cider kick. I really want to bring these drinks to our yoga class, as well as fresh wheatgrass which I could make at the store–but maybe with our already abundant prasad it would be excessive! Anyway, will definitely be sharing what I’ve learned about Himalayan salts. Thanks.

    -Jessica

  7. This post helped remind myself that flu and cold season is in full swing. I should definitely try to eat more dark leafy greens instead of reaching for junk food and add some Himalayan salt to my diet. The Saltana Cave in Ridgefield, CT offers Himalayan salt therapy for relaxation as an alternative therapy. As for the apple cider vinegar, I remember once about a year ago I was talking to a women about home remedies and she recommended using apple cider vinegar to treat acne. She said that she used it for years and almost completely cured her acne. I can’t remember if your supposed to drink it or apply it topically to your acne.

  8. I really enjoyed reading this as I am always looking to make my body healthier. I must admit I am more sluggish in the winter time as my motivation to work out in the cold weather is nearly non existent. It is a vicious cycle to get into with eating unhealthy foods and having a lack of exercise so the tips with the sugar and salt cravings I found to be particularly helpful. I understand how everything is connected and am making an active improvement in my dietary and physical nutrition.

  9. This article was definitely an eye opener for me going into the semester. Ive constantly found myself having multiple illnesses within a short period of time only because of my diet. I find myself having craving for fatty foods most likely do to the acidity levels in my body. Being on a college campus makes it even easier to fall into the traps of poor diet only because there are so many options for food, but very few of them are actually healthy/organic. Every time I ingest acidic foods including potato chips, sauces/condiments, and tomato sauce I become a victim of acid reflux, which seems to run in my family. This article has helped me understand what I should focus on eating to prevent this.

  10. These all sound like good tips for eating. I also recently read in a health article that apple cider vinegar is great for dropping belly fat. In this article it explains that belly fat is “the worst kind of fat — and not just because of the way it looks in beach pictures” but that “deep belly fat (the kind that makes for a classic beer belly) actually churns out proteins and hormones that make all kinds of bad things worse, including LDL (lousy) cholesterol, blood sugar, blood pressure, and triglycerides. It’s also a player in insulin resistance and red-alert-causing inflammation.” All of this was very alarming to me and definitely makes me want to go out and buy some!

  11. These tips are awesome! Purchase is such a small campus that when one gets sick, everyone else follows suit, we like to call it the Purchase Plague. Its really not fun. I’ve on this new health kick of exercising regularly and eating better since the start of the semester which I hope will improve and become permanent, so I can’t wait to adopt some of these tips and strengthen my efforts for healthy living.

  12. My body has always been very susceptible to illness and is very sensitive to environmental factors (I get frequent migraines as well) so I’m always looking for simple, natural ways to keep me healthy. I’m very interested in what was said about Himalayan salt; I had no idea that it is that much more mineral rich than table salt. I’ve had Himalayan salt before and I remember it having an incredible flavor and tasted so much richer and healthy, while table salt can often taste over processed and bitter. I’m definitely going to make the switch.

  13. It’s funny because when I’m at home I am more free to eating healthy. It’s less of a problem. But when I am here, I notice that I am eating at weird times because of classes and also eating a lot less healthier. I’m allergic to kiwis so unfortunately I cannot eat them, but out of all the flavors in the world, I have to say vinegar is my favorite, which is something I’m also allergic to.. but it’s not a bad allergy so i bare with it. I crave vinegar more than I crave anything else especially apple cider vinegar. I can’t wait until I live in an apartment on campus because It will be so much easier to be more aware of what I am putting into my body. – Brittany Petronella

  14. I am always one to get sick often during the winter months, so I have been trying my best to eat a little healthier everyday, which has become easier recently since I have acquired an apartment with a kitchen, instead of last semester’s kitchen-less dorm room. Our weekly meals have inspired me to research healthier vegan meal options, and this writing will definitely help! The sugar cravings have always bothered me, and now I am aware of the reasons and can take another step forward for my health.

  15. Hamalayan salts sound like a really great way to maintain a healthy mineral balance. Its unfortunate that one can not buy a bottle right next to the soda and bottled water. I have noticed myself craving salty and sweet foods lately, and less fulfilled each time I eat them. I will have to try out the AVC and see if it makes me feel cleansed and more balanced .

    -Christopher Sharrett

  16. I found this to be the most informative and helpful to everyday life reading so far in this class! During this time of year I am very prone to colds and knowing what causes the imbalance in my body is the first step to fighting it. Having a good balance of alkaline and minerals in your body can help keep colds away and help your body retain water. I do often crave sugary things. especially after a salty meal and I can’t believe I never noticed the cycle before. I hope to now try to incorporate things celery, cucumber, strawberries, oranges, and grapes to my daily meals, now not just for taste, but for my health. Also I have heard about apple cider vinegar and used it myself, but I’m very happy that you recommended a good brand to use that we can know is all natural. I am definitely forwarding this to family and friends as I feel is very useful to everyone. Thank you julie!

  17. I agree that preventative medicine is far more effective for the body and the wallet than other forms of medicine. Eating nutritious foods and taking the right supplements such as ACV is really the best way to ensure that your body will thrive and continue to do so for a long time. If we all took care of ourselves better through regimens such as the ones described in this blog post, many of our nation’s healthcare problems would be reduced.

  18. I have noticed that my overall health has decreased from when I lived at home, since I had more control over what I was eating by cooking on my own. I think that the apple cider vinegar suggestion is an interesting way to have our systems hold and use the water we drink and to fight dehydration. I have never taken apple cider vinegar on its own but i have used it for soups and other purposes. I crave sweet foods constantly and am rarely interested in anything with an excess amount of salt. I would love to be able to drink green juice every day since whenever I drink it I feel my best afterwards but I don’t have a juicer that I would be able to use.

  19. Eating healthy is very important to me. I try and pay close attention to my reactions and cravings to food. I’ve never tried bragg’s apple cider vinegar though, I’m very interested in that. Nor have a heard of Himalayan salts, I’ll have to give that a try too. One this I thought I’d add though, is this article I recently read about Agave nectar. I’ve never really used much of it myself, but I found this to be an interesting read, so I thought I’d share: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/dr-mercola/agave-this-sweetener-is-f_b_537936.html

  20. For the most part I have a pretty good immune system and I owe it all to the leafy greens that I can’t live without (especially kale). I’m definitely experimenting more with ACV as I’m learning about all of the health benefits. I used to do an ACV wash for my hair and it left it feeling soft and alive! I’m starting to use it a lot in salad dressings now.
    I do experience those sweet and salty cravings and I couldn’t understand it for a long time until I read this post. I realize that I have to fulfill the needs of my body in order to avoid those cravings. I’ve made green juices in the past but was not consistent and would like to get back to doing it. I also was wondering what changes I can make in my diet in order to get rid of facial break-outs and such? What foods would be especially good for clearing up my face?
    Along with a healthy diet I know that a balanced lifestyle also requires a healthy mind. After practicing Isha Kriya once a day I realize how important that time is to relax and recollect, especially at the end of the day. Taking time for yourself to be aware of your body can dramatically improve your attitude as it has done for me.

  21. As someone who does find herself getting sick quite often I always take vitamins to boost my health especially around the changing of seasons. I always try to incorporate carrot, spinach and apple into many of my meals since they are among my favorite fruits and veggies so its nice to know they are also boosting my immune system! It’s funny you mention Himalayan salt because my mother was actually the first person to tell me how mineral packed it was compared to regular table salt. It is something that is very incorporated into my diet when I am home. In the winter I always love a hot cup of lemon ginger tea and its healing properties are amazing. Whenever i have a stomach ache lemon ginger tea helps every time. When we eat healthy we feel healthy so now especially in the winter months is the time to watch our diets and keep our bodies in balance. Great informative post.

  22. I really love this post because I have been vegan for about 9 months now and super health conscious and it kind of made me feel like I was doing the right thing. One of my passions is nutrition and learning new natural ways to better your body. I’ve been meaning to buy myself ACV because I’ve been hearing so many wonderful things about it and all the natural powers it has to offer! I have many issues with my stomach lately so I wonder what I could add into my diet to possibly better my situation! I’ll have to come early next class to see what knowledge you have for the stomach. Also, I need Himilayan salts! I’m wondering if I could find this salt at a regular grocery store or if I’ll have to do some research. I’m terrible at keeping myself hydrated, I sometimes go days without water which is terrible, especially for someone who takes such care of their body in all other aspects! I can tell that the lack of water is affecting my body so now I have two things that are a must to go on my grocery list!

    • Don’t worry eating lots of veggies and fruits have a high water content, check on the blog for the interview with Ed Begeley Jr. and Sadhguru about water, if you can’t find it in the index let me know, Trader Joes has the salts as most stores now. OM

  23. I think overall I tend (or at least tended) to be a pretty healthy person and not get sick so often but with such a busy schedule and all these cold fronts it takes a toll on your body. I haven’t been able to eat as healthy as I would like and eat whatever is easiest. I’m trying to take a step back now and just do better for my body. I’ve invested in some Himalayan salt and apple cider vinegar to incorporate into my diet and am being more conscientious of what goes into my body to be healthy and just feel my best

    -Lucia Meneses

  24. I’ve noticed since becoming a vegetarian 5 years ago, I don’t get sick as frequently as I used to. But ever since coming to college, my eating habits have been out of whack. Reading this post I can now see why I don’t feel as good as I used to. So much junk gets ingested and I’m stuck in this cycle where I constantly crave sugary and salty junk food. I will definitely try out the Himalayan salts and coupled with my weekly yoga and isha kriya, I’m hoping I will feel a lot better and more in tune with my body soon!

  25. My family has always been big on apple cider vinegar especially in the cold season. When I feel a cold coming on my mom will remind me to take a tablespoon of ACV in the morning and at night before bed. Almost immediately I could feel my sinuses clearing and my body getting a boost. It becomes difficult to maintain a balanced healthy diet at college with a limited budget and difficulty getting around. It’s easy and convenient to just eat something quick and superficially satisfying. I do notice that in this cold season especially I suffer from indigestion because I really on fatty foods to keep me going in the day but what they end up doing is making me lethargic. I also didn’t realize I wasn’t retaining water because I’d always thought those 8 glasses always send you running. But retaining this liquid is the goal of so much ingestion. I will practice more mindfulness with the food I eat and have even made it a habit to get fresh green when I go shopping for food. This is a very helpful post, thank you!

  26. This information is great and inspiring. I’ve lived in Vermont for the past 13 years where the three major farm families in my down are certified organic and I can eat healthy vegetables and clean meats all year round. It is difficult in places of higher population where there is less space for farm land which leads to higher prices for quality. The upside to denser population is we are exposed to more germs which allow our immune systems to have that stress and strengthen. I’m curious what your thoughts on coffee are? I know people who claim it is terrible for you and won’t touch it. I also know doctors who claim it is beneficial for blood flow because it has been shown to expand the capillaries and veins. I’ve tried an ACV regiment but fell off because of the expense, not as an excuse, I was just not interested at the time in restructuring my budget to accommodate the change.

    • Curious about the expense of ACV, one only needs water to add to it? lets talk in class next time. Coffee has stimulant caffeine so I don’t use it or teas with caffeine. I think we all have to decide which is the best regimen to follow for ourselves, we can share information but it comes down to personal choice. OM

  27. There were so many ailments listed that I’ve been feeling recently, and such good tips on how to feel better! I’ve been insanely sick for the past few weeks with what I assume are just seasonal allergies, but they’ve somehow morphed into not only a runny nose/watery eyes/sinus headache, but also a full-body ache with constant fatigue, coughing, and general misery. I’ll definitely have to try some of these remedies ASAP, and I’ll be sure to let you know how they work out!

  28. this was a good post and I liked reading through it and making a note in my head of what I do and what I don’t. I have definitely been eating healthier since the start of this year and it is good to have seen so many results and health changes in my body. I used to get a lot of sickness very quickly while others would be sick but this has been less this year. also my vegetable and water intakes had drastically changed and I noticed having so much more energy throughout the day. As I continue this journey I am willing to implement many other methods you have listed about salts and natural sweetners, some of those I haven gotten to try like the agave. looking forward to some of these.

  29. I loved reading this. I am interested in the direct health benefits of yoga and yogi diets. I have been a vegetarian for 6 years and find it inspiring to learn about organic and healthy ways to improve my health. I liked learning about apple and cider vinegar. I once washed my hair with only apple and cider vinegar for 3 weeks to improve my hair’s health and love natural remedies!

  30. This entire post couldn’t be truer, especially for us students who are living on campus. My immune system is naturally weak and I am constantly getting sick, so I have been open to different types of cold-remedies. Also, my mom is big on Himalayan salt, so she uses it for cooking and anything else that requires salt. I believe it’s important to remember that it’s not always about WHAT you intake and its quantity, but how your body retains the important nutrients. A really great example is what you mentioned in the post about drinking water and how it makes people think that is enough, when in reality it is just going through your body and increasing your trip to the bathroom. The most important part about drinking water, is how much your body retains the water. It’s refreshing to know that you can simply better that by adding some himalayan salt to your water. There’s nothing better than a simple fix that makes a big difference.

Leave a Reply

