Here’s a Darshan by Ashwin Mohan about one of the secrets of Nath Yoga

Standard

IMG_0524▶ Nagayama – YouTube.

There are several types of Classical Yoga and Nath Yoga is one that still keeps to the traditional ways.  Thanks to the Graces of Ashwin Mohan who shares with us a Prescription for Inner Strength and Vital Living via activating Naga Vayu.  Naga Yama is a powerful visualization in which we begin to plant the seeds for our future growth, well being and successes.  These seeds are our thoughts which become our activities and actions that play out our Vision.  We come to understand that these seeds are our valuable energy source for expansion and fuels our goals and Vision, moving forward in our real life timeline.  By re-visiting our Vision often as Affirmation we continue to project ourselves positively within our Vision in space in time as a protective shield for inner and outer benefits.  I love when he shares that just by sitting back and accepting the status quo and being numb is for rats!  We can choose to just maintain or grow!  Checking in with our Vision and supporting it with Affirmations helps us to know where we are which determines where we can go. Thanks to Ashwin Mohan in Bangalore, India for sharing these secrets with us, he has given permission for All to share….so please spread this post with all who you care about, especially children and young adults….and most importantly do give him a “thumbs UP” on the Youtube link….of course he would love to hear your comments too!  Adesa Adesa…..Namaskaram OM!

68 responses »

  1. As I understand it, Nagayama is the power of intention. Yoga has infinite parallels to daily life and the idea of doing with intent is an important aspect of self reliance. Some may call it luck, or drive, but whatever it is, channeling all your energy towards a goal is how you can best accomplish what you set out to do. Yoga is not just when you practice, its the encouragement to better yourself and your life. The only way you can improve your life is if you intend to do it.

    • A decent beginning but your ideas could stand more support especially as you loop together luck with drive and channeling, not sure they are the same thing. Do invest more time writing supportive statements to enhance your preliminary comments for clarification and a better grade, OM

  2. I find that Ashwin Mohan has a type of sarcasm when he talks in his video, but it speaks to me in such a simple and enlightening way. When he says “shit happens” it makes me feel like we all go through similar struggles with our relations with others and even ourselves, and that we can all benefit from yoga because of it. I especially enjoyed when he demonstrated how we can focus our energy in one specific area and gain a whole new strength in that area. When he did the practice of having someone else bend his arm, although there was no actual other participant, he still made me realize how powerful we can become if we focus ourselves correctly. This brings me to talk about how when i meditate during the Isha Krya, while focusing my energy on my breathing, i can feel it nursing all parts of my body and although i am not pushing against a force, i can almost feel myself becoming stronger. I have practiced the isha krya every day this week, but while i used to do it in the middle of the day, i now do it right before bed. In the middle of the day i found my mind still wandering about homework assignments and tasks that needed to be done. At the end of the day when my schedule had been completed, i find a much deeper relaxation occurring. I am really starting to feel the benefits of this practice in my stress levels daily. ​

    • This is so amazing that you have already decided the best time for your IK practice and that you have witnessed the beginning benefits….do stay on the Path…more is in store just for you! OM

  3. Throughout the course of the things we have watched, read, or heard on the audio clips. This video on the Naga Yama is very interesting and tells me a lot that I have never learned about. What got my attention was where the information told us that Naga Yama is a powerful visualization in which we begin to plant the seeds for our future growth, well-being and successes. These seeds are our thoughts which become our activities and actions that play out our Vision. We come to understand that these seeds are our valuable energy source for expansion and it fuels our goals and Vision, moving forward in our real life timeline. I never really thought of it that way. I had heard that our hard work and determination is what helps us achieve the activities that we do but I would never imagine that our thoughts and energy was our source. The guy said that if we do not plan anything right away comparing us to plants, we will not grow or achieve our goals. I have to agree with him, if we do not do anything with our lives, then we will not be happy nor get anything out of live.

  4. The idea of having long term goals and plans is important and essential, but I don’t know if I agree that by not having a 50 year plan inherently makes one weak. People all over the world are in different situations all the time and who is to say that one person’s two year plan is any less strong than another’s 25 year plan? However I do think that planning is essential to living a full life and constantly growing and developing as a person. I also think its an interesting concept that something that happens in the next week or so can affect one’s life for the next 25 or 50 years, but there’s really no way to realize this until its been a few years since whatever event happened.
    Kristen Breitmaier

  5. shit happens so move on things may stop u but keep going anchor of who you are and when can it go

    In the beginning of the video he says “shit happens so move on.” That is a very good way to think because a lot of things are going to happen to you in your life and you can’t let every little thing stop you from living life the way you want to. You need to get through and over the bad things so you can enjoy all the good things in life. He later talks about an anchor in your life and it determining who you are and where it can go. You have to determine and take control of where your life goes. You can’t let anyone else decide that. You are on your own road in life to get to your own goals and you need to follow them
    This week in my home practice of Isha Kriya I got to do it five times. I do hope to try and do it everyday at least once a day and maybe twice if I have time for it. It is still hard to not focus on anything but the Isha Kriya, but it seems to be getting easier. Doing it in class seems easier since there is a group doing it led by an instructor. It seems to help when there is a room full of people doing it with me. I will keep practicing my Isha Kriya until it becomes second nature to me.

  6. It seems that it is very important to try your best to stay on track. He talks about how it is very important to make a plan for yourself, and even if you get distracted, you must try your best to get back on towards your plan for yourself. In the case of your body, you are stronger when you are entirely concentrating on one goal. There is a great importance about looking ahead. I feel like this is a great thing for me and all people in the same place as life to do. It is very important to have a series of goals that lead up to a place where I ultimately see myself in life. It is very important to be aware of these plans and a set of smaller plans to get myself to the ending point or in a sense my final goal for myself.
    I am starting to find that while doing the Isha Kriya my mind wanders less and less with each practice. I am noticing that I feel calmer during the day, and I use this meditation as a sense of relief from everyday stresses. It is growing increasingly more helpful to remind myself during the day that I am not the body, I am not even the mind.

  7. For the Isha Kriya, I practice on Sunday even, two times on Monday, once on Tuesday, twice on Wednesday, and I practiced once on Friday morning when I woke up. During the week, I was starting to feel stressed over an assignment that is due the following week and I have not gotten started yet but working on it. The main thing is that I did not feel as stressed as I was in the past. Whenever something like that got me all stressed out, I felt my blood pressure go up, but this week, I did not feel my blood pressure go up and I felt fine. This technique must have done something that has made my stress nerves not go up as fast as they used to. Jimmy Harrington

  8. This was a wonderful video to watch. I always find myself being able to learn better when actually watching someone speak versus just listening. I laughed when he said “shit just happens” because it is true thing just happen and you have to let them go. Worrying and stressing ones self out is just going to throw a persons meant state off balance. I really liked when he talks about setting a plan in a way for the future and just focusing on happiness. Out of all the helpful videos I have seen so far this one really struck my interest in learning and my own personal guide to happiness and meditation.

    The last four weeks practicing Isha Kriyah I have begun to feel more comfortable doing these practices. Even since last week I have noticed an improvement while chanting and relaxing. Each time I am moving towards staying relaxed during the period I am meditating with enables me to be more calm after I finish my Isha Kriya, and its starting to last for much longer after.

  9. I can relate to many points made in the video. Firstly, he talks about putting your all into whatever you do. Half-hearted attempts never mean as much as putting one hundred percent into your tasks, and doing everything in your power to pave a path for what will be doing in your future. He tells us to sit, and close our eyes, tap into psychological aspects of ourselves and picture our future. I found it especially interesting when he compared our life to a sea, and how we are the wave in the moment, and everything we are doing now will pave our path for the next fifty or even hundred years of our life. Everything we do and every choice we make determines how the rest of our lives will turn out.

    He encourages us to have a plan, so that we are not “a dry leaf in the wind,” and are able to find a way and not just move wherever the wind takes us. I have had personal experience with this, and have actually had someone tell me before a similar saying in which I will be moved anywhere the waves tale me if I do not have a destination or a goal. I do think it is important to set goals for ourselves, because life is about striving for what we want but do not yet have. When we finally achieve what we have been wanting, we set a new goal, and achieve that, and so on. This is because life is about growing and having each experience shape us into the person that we will become.

    He taught us to meditate to be able to set goals that allow growth. It is interesting because in most meditations I have done, my mind is forcibly cleared, but in this one, my mind has to forcibly think about my future. I like how we used the the phrase, “planting a seed for the future.” He has us start slowly, and think about next week, and next month, and next year, and so on until even fifty years. I have been asked where I see myself in five years, but have never thought so far ahead to fifty years into my future. He suggests to do this three times a day, so we can finally be able to shape our futures.

    I find it easier to accomplish goals when you have them set. If you know what you want and how you get there, nothing should stand in your way. But it always has to start with a goal in mind, which is what he is helping us determine.

    He helped me realize that when we are young, we focus on ourselves and on material things, and that’s okay because that is what we will feel at that certain point in our life. It is fine to embrace that, and to grow and realize that there is a bigger picture in this world. Everyone will realize it at their own rate. But, until then, we can have different experiences to help us decide who we want to be and where we want to go. Mistakes will help us learn, and help us grow.

  10. I enjoyed hearing the English translation to the words we use in class. I know we don’t use the specific chant he said, but it’s nice to know what you’re saying in detail to have a deeper understanding of the practices of the yogi. I completely agree with what Ashwin Mohan said, I felt that it was very wise and well-spoken. Our actions now do have an effect on our future selves, even fifty years down the path. Harsh words can leave a lasting impression on a person, so choosing your words carefully with people is so important to your relationship and personal happiness. This ties in perfectly with what he said about personal growth: you cannot truly embrace the idea of growing beyond the status quo when you do not have inner happiness. I think unhappiness IS the status quo. We all look for ways to fill voids in our life, but when you are happy you don’t see them as voids, you see those gaps as opportunity for growth and new relationships. Being happy with what you have gives you the chance to pick and choose the new things you would like in your life because you aren’t looking to meet anyone’s expectations or correct for something that happened in your past. You can live in the now and only accept things into your life that remain true to you and your personal joy.

  11. I very much liked his metaphor of reaching to the wall “and beyond” creating so much strength in the arm. It represents to me the way that, if our goals and expectations for ourselves are sort of meek and easy to reach, we are not putting our full energy into reaching them, but if we reach for something that’s very far, and maybe even very difficult to achieve, we stretch and reach much further than we would otherwise, and no matter if we reach our goals, we have reached farther than the meeker, less desired goals would be. Parts of this were hard for me to accept or identify with, because I am graduating in the spring, I have a very short timeline, I only have a few more months of my life planned out from this point, and I uncomfortably agree that this makes me weak. I do think it is hard to relax and function well without a plan, especially because all of my energy right now is still being put into school, so having time to apply to jobs, and plan out my life is very difficult, not to mention that I am unable to start a full time job, so I end up making plans that are vague and short sighted for the next year. When he talked about things building for the future it did comfort me, because as an artist, my work is constantly building upon itself, so even if my plans for where I will be living and what jobs i will be working are unclear I always have my artistic practice to fall back on.

    • Great comptemplative comments…do not worry…these posts are just to give you something to think about and only when and if its right for you then you may or may not choose to add some of it to the mix of your life….be easy…take your time….breathe and be….OM

  12. I really enjoyed this video for today and it spoke a lot about something that I’ve been thinking about lately, awareness. Like you wrote in your introduction to the video, we need to be aware of where we are now to show us where we can go. He spoke about having a vision of the next 50 years, which at first I was completely taken aback because I don’t know what I’m doing for the next month, let alone for the next years. But I think when he started to speak about intention, then I more fully grasped his aim. If we start of with the more immediate future, like the coming week, we can set our intentions for what we want to accomplish. By building up this intention, we come to have a vision for the future, and it involves a constant checking in with ourselves and our vision by building foundations. I often feel like I am just floating along in life without a specific aim or direction and that I am not in control of life. However by starting with small intentions, I can build up my vision and have more growth instead of just staying with the same, being content with the status quo. I also really enjoyed when he spoke about doing things with your who being. If we start doing simple things with complete awareness, devoting our whole being to the act instead of other thoughts or concerns, I think that the care that we show will translate to other areas of our life. This act of continual care, care when making a cup of coffee, or care when reading a book, etc., seems to me a continual act of living in the present moment. Awareness is a tool to take control of ourselves and our future.

  13. The yoga world is so multifaceted and ever evolving with new and or traditional ways that are inspired my current practices. Watching these videos, whether it be the Isha Kriya or Nagayama, it is so interesting to hear the beliefs and each individual’s personal experience with the yoga and how it is practiced. I will admit that the video started a little slow for me, but patiently watched and listened to the knowledge he evoked on life and how we can manipulate the outcomes for our future depending on the seeds planted as a way of positive projection. My weird understanding is that of, ‘one reaps what they sow.’ The Naga Yama sort of provokes those thoughts and sort of shapes the concepts of fulfillment and growth.

    As of today I increased my Isha Kriya by one more practice. I have now done it at least six times this week. I plan to increase the amount of time I practice but as of now, I feel great and so does by body and mind. So far it has been three full weeks and although minute in terms of time I can see a difference from the first time I ever practiced the Isha Kriya. So I definitely expect to see a significant difference by the end of the semester.

  14. This is an interesting practice, especially when I play it in contrast with the mantra of a program that I am a part of, “one day at a time.” I believe that combined, the Naga Yama makes a lot of sense. Two years ago I set forth a goal of learning to play the mandolin. One day at a time up until this point I have began to achieve my goal. The strength of having this goal set forth in the future, combined with a vision of where I expected to be in a certain amount of time, has given me the vitality to continue my practice each day. There can be pitfalls, for me with this way of thinking, if I get too wrapped up in the future I forget to live in the day. Also, it is easy to be disappointed if my expectations become too grandiose.

  15. This concept: that deep desires generated in the mind can manifest themselves in our lives, is a powerful one. I am a strong believer in this, that cultivating a direction in your life, constantly checking in with yourself to develop a vision of how you want your life to be lived, that this actually affects how your life shapes itself. As Mohan states, this kind of alignment results in a certain momentum of the body, something that drives your decisions and actions and shapes your vitality that pushes you down the appropriate paths in life.

    This is an active thing, however, one cannot sit back and let it happen – it is the result of a sort of inner vigilance that pushes you to pursue this vision. And by pursue this vision I mean it not in the conventional “career” sense, but something more profound. By pursue this vision I mean exactly what is sad in the video: the inner reflection and evaluation and examination that reinforces these desires and draws them out into your actions to help you grow as a person. And of course, your actions shape your life.

    I certainly think that I participate in this myself – I’ve always enjoyed writing in a journal on occasion where I list out goals, thoughts for the future, or just random entries. I think this is the basic process and that this activity cultivates a vitality for yourself.

    -Dakota Wayne

  16. I was interested in the notion of finding personal strength and longevity in imagining a near distant future. As I near closer to graduation, it is easy to become weighed down by thoughts of the immediate future, where likely outcomes in a post-undergrad climate become unglamorous and involve some kind of secretarial or barista work and a cramped apartment. But in trying to see past that, life can become reinvigorated and refreshing and exciting with more ideal possibilities. As well, the possibilities available in imagining a more distant future, as opposed to the immediate, lead to more than simply employment opportunities, but instead spaces to occupy and idealized lifestyles and so forth. Such distant envisioning also grants one space to grow into and build these plans, as opposed to envisioning a more immediate future, wherein action becomes much more reactionary and circumstantial. By instead planning for a considerably longer term, one can pull more motivation and strength and lust for life, as well as recognize and develop one’s ideals.

  17. Very curious. I am not the kind of person who plans ahead. I am very in the moment. I feel like planning ahead can be restrictive, but that may just be the anxious part of me afraid of failing at that plan. I do have near future aspirations, but nothing concrete. I work on things piece by piece, but will put my all into it. There are things that I want to do in life, kind of like a bucket list, but no specific time for them. It is weird for someone to say so whole-heartedly something different than what I have done for most of my life, and been successful with in society. There are many other people who have been successful as well. I am not saying that nagayama is incorrect, but how exact should you be in life? Doing something like this seems stressful. Maybe this is something I can experiment with for a month or so. Maybe this can be a way that I can prioritize specific goals.

  18. The video really put my life in perspective. In the video, the man discussed what drives us as beings on this planet. He purposes the idea of creating a timeline of 50 years for oneself. One who creates a timeline of growth will create meaning and vitality. He asks the question of what will we do within the week that will create a seed of growth for the next 50 years. This concept is uplifting and motivational, when I thought about it I realised that I am going nowhere and that I am drifting through life. While I have Ideas of what ill like to do in the near future I still have yet to act upon them. I feel that in an American society we have a culture where while we are young we are aimless and we are told that everything will work itself out.

  19. I appreciate Ashwin Mohan’s well-spokenness as well as his casualness (i.e. “shit happens”) in approaching the subject matter of the video. I often feel like there is a certain “non-casual” way of speaking about the yogic discipline that may seem jargon-esque to those who have not practiced or at least read about the practice. This video spoke to me on a deeply personal level, as I am constantly thinking about my future plan, as my discipline (as I’m sure most people’s do) requires constant planning in advance. Every day that we play and we practice as musicians affects our future, as we are constantly building upon ourselves and our abilities. I’m not sure if I necessarily agree that not planning SO far ahead into the future makes me “weak”, but I do agree with the idea behind the sentiment, which is that we must always take our entire future into consideration, both immediate and far, otherwise our immediate goals will have no purpose. I also think that the sentiments expressed in this video may not only necessarily be applied to our careers — as I’m sure many of us college students are so worried about — but also to our personal, emotional development. Taking to heart what Mohan expresses through this video allows us to see beyond our immediate selves to our future selves, or at least our idea of our future selves, and allows us to become more self-actualized and take the steps TODAY to fulfill our vision of our future selves.

  20. I enjoyed watching this clip for two reasons, one being the fact that we have to put all of our effort into doing things. This is something that my mom has always told me, either do it with my full intentions and energy or not do it at all. Many times, I have done activities without putting my whole heart into it and sometimes it took me longer or didn’t come out as good as I wanted to. In other activities, like baking cookies. I have poured my whole heart and mind and with love, the cookies, or whatever it is that I was doing, would come out better than ever. We have to go the whole way when doing anything in life in order to see good outcomes. This leads to the second reason of why I enjoyed this video. Planning ahead is one of the things I’m not too good at, I always leave things for last minute even when I know it for months. This is something I have been trying to improve by using a calendar and the reminder list on my phone. It is good to plan ahead and to have an idea of where we want to be in the next 50 years, although it sounds like a long time from now, having a goal in mind can guide us to becoming closer and closer to it for our future.

  21. Firstly, I want to comment on how personable Ashwin Mohan is! I would truly love to have a conversation with him (seems like my kind of person). Moving along, what he says on seeing yourself in the future as a way to have the “vitality” to live longer really hit home with me. I really feel like I am a goal-oriented person and this particularly has helped me ward off feelings of depression when I have setbacks (as Mohan illustrates with the ship in the storm “trying to get there.”) Both motivation and momentum are what I feel people with depression (severe or not) are lacking. They essentially don’t see themselves moving forward. I’m aboard Ashwin Mohan’s “Shit Happens” campaign.

  22. This video was very inspiring. It makes me consider going about thinking of life differently. The man in the video was advocating for making a plan for yourself for a specific time period. However long you make this time period last will be how long your body will make a vitality and momentum to accommodate it. The ability to concentrate all resources on a single goal is called Naga Vayu. And the shorter you make this time period, the weaker you will be. For example, making a plan for just the next couple of days is potentially worse than planning for the next month.
    The main concept he was getting at was thinking about how what you do this week will impact the next month, how that month will impact the next 3 months, and so on and so forth. He doesn’t say it’s easy though. We are not taught to think like this despite the fact that all of your decisions effect the next week by week, month by month. And in creating these long plans for yourself, you will place gravity on the things you do tomorrow, next week, etc.
    I think that all that the man was saying is very true. All of your actions and decisions effect every action and decision that supersedes them. Planning for this chain of events is something that can be very powerful in maintaining vitality and endurance. However, it is still an idea that goes against human nature. Humans tend to maintain the status quo. The man in the video states that ‘maintaining the status quo is for rats’. He means that any being at any level of intelligence can follow patterns and stay safe in their lives. But to picture and plan out your life is a powerful way to live even more satisfactory. The stronger the base is, the better the ‘sculpture’ will stand.

    -Max Pollio

  23. My favorite part of the video was when he discussed that things are going to derail your attention and distract you, and can prevent you from moving on, progressing, and being successful. Life’s curveballs are unavoidable. Taking days one step at a time and creating a timeline for yourself is a great way to manage goals. He said that if you set goals for one year, and do that each year, five times, you have already set yourself up for success for five years in the future. His concepts are very minimalistic and simplistic, yet hold a lot of significance and greater wisdom. Short term goals are stepping stones towards long term goals. The process is all about motivation which is an important part of yoga, and an important part of growing and developing as a human being with a healthy heart and a healthy mind.

  24. This video was a wonderful reminder of the power of intention. I firmly believe that we must have goals and aspirations our whole lives-not only does it keep us vital, but it keeps us young! If we stop moving forward and just let life happen to us-we might as just throw in the towel I don’t know how anyone could feel that they do not have anything to aspire to-at any age. Even outside of school, I have things that I want to achieve-I want to keep healthier habits, feel more relaxed, display more compassion for others, learn to speak French fluently, become a better tennis player…the list goes on and on, and I feel that these aspirations keep me engaged in life. Otheriwse, like Ashwin says, we are like a rat in the status quo. We get to chose what our lives mean, we shouldn’t just let life happen to us, otherwise we will be ground down like a rock in the surf.

  25. My family always talks about “manifesting” – they kind of do it jokingly, but I get that there’s some real truth to it…the idea is that you picture something clearly in your mind, you align with the energy of it, and you call it forth into your vibrational reality. When you train your mind to do it without even thinking (kind of like driving a car,) you start manifesting all the things that your spirit wants. This is what Nagayama seems to do, just maybe in different ways.

    I remember once, when we were on our family beach trip, my brother lost his glasses in the surf, literally just as we had first jumped into the waves. You’d think they were going to be lost forever, but my Mom declared that she was going to manifest them and bring them back. I honestly laughed at her and went back to jumping around in the water, and so was shocked when she plucked the glasses out of a breaking wave and held them over her head.

    We always say “nice manifesting” when we get a good parking spot, and when someone really wants something to happen, someone always says “get manifesting.” I think it speaks really to the personal empowerment that the conscious manipulation of energy creates, and I think it coincides with the notion of the timeline to strengthen the vision – it’s manifesting, really. Now I’m not sure that I agree with what he said about people without timelines being weak…I think there’s something to be said for spontaneity and being open to the unexpected, so maybe it’s all about balancing the timeline with accepting all the cool and unexpected stuff that The Universe sends along as we “plan.”

    • Wonderful that you have a family history around the notion of manifestation…..in jest and realistically…and your honesty about balancing spontaneity and planning….perhaps you may find different levels to live with over time…good notions to re-visit over time….thanks….OM

  26. During my watching of the video I began to think quite deeply on the notion of yoga as a practice in the general sense, as well as it’s role within things beyond bettering just the self. The notion of “shit happens” that appears early on in the video really grounds the conversation and allows for a subtly comfortable environment to be evoked. As well as this, the idea that yogic practices are used within martial arts the way that it is spoken about within the video becomes something of new information for me – seeing as how the parallels would make a decent amount of sense yet the two practices to better the self and beyond the self never truly crossed planes in my mind. Moving forward, though, the instructional method employed within the video was really straightforward and beneficial to my understanding of what was being spoken of. The traditions, the practices, and the idea of strength and the ability of the body to reflect what is made aware is something of real intrigue. When speaking on the wall metaphor, I began to understand truly the energy that is created within these practices and how it can be, in the way that it was, presented outwardly unto the world. The ability to restrict the force of others through a simple exertion of energy into the hand, beyond the wall, presents a clear idea of the potential that these meditative practices can have in reconstructing energy planes within the form. As well, real awareness is brought to mind when thinking about care, attention, and the ability to grow based on a plan to achieve and move forward. The video, in whole, really inspires one to reassess the intentions and the energies that one exists with currently and how they can be constructed in a more forward moving, positive arena of thought in the present and into the future.

  27. The ideas discussed in this video really spoke to me.
    Goal setting is something that I’ve always struggled with. In elementary and middle school they would give us worksheets and ask us to write down objectives for ourselves. I almost never wrote anything, and even less frequently strove to meet whatever filler goals I might have put down. In many ways I’ve been like a jellyfish, floating along where life has taken me without much attempt to swim against the current. I’ve never seen the point in setting hard goals, since you never know what life is going to throw at you.
    Approaching goals more as ways to grow and strengthen yourself seems like a helpful idea. Of course circumstances are going to change, that’s life (or, to quote the speaker, “shit happens”), and striving towards something is one way to give yourself momentum and direction. I’m going to try to apply that more in my daily life, even though as of right now I don’t have a fifty year plan, or even a five year one.
    The week of this assignment I was again only able to practice three times. I do notice a fairly significant reduction of stress levels after a session, although once I sat down to start and found myself so overwhelmed by anxiety that I had to get up and go distract myself for a while before I could come back and try again. Sometimes the fear of not being able to focus can be almost as stressful as the events of a busy time in our lives.

  28. Nagayama is such a powerful style of living.
    50 years, appears at first to be a very binding plan. After listening more I realized that this plan is freeing and actually helps you see past the insignificant things in life and help you to focus on your plan that you see for your future. Ashwin states that “Depression is a lack of direction.”, this statement is very harsh, but I believe it is true. Depression is debilitating and makes you not want to do anything. I think that our society has made it socially acceptable to wallow in depression, rather than taking action and over coming debilitating depression. On social media people post diary like entries that focus on the negativity rather than positivity, making it a social norm to wallow.
    I believe that if we all practiced the 50 year plan we would see a vast change on social media. We would no longer focus on the negative because our focus would be on the future and building ourselves to reach higher goals.

    This reminds me of happiness articles that I have read in the past.
    There is always a concentration on letting go of the insignificant things in life and putting focus on what you can do in the moment to be a positive energy for yourself.
    Specifically it reminds me of the ted talk about the 10/90 mentality. Both Nagayama and 10/90 have a focus on challenging yourself, letting go of insignificant things in daily life, and having self worth about your future. This leads me to believe that having a goal in the future is the best way to be happy.
    Daily troubles don’t interfere with your future goal because the direction of your goal is so much larger and the mission you must complete is time consuming in a positive way.

    During my spring break I did the IK 4 times.
    The most notable experience was when I was hiking and came across a waterfall.
    The IK was the most enjoyable yet. I felt so connected and relaxed by nature. The waterfall helped dull my mind and gave me focus. I also did 3 sets of sun salutations on Wednesday night because my body actually felt like it required that self expression. After doing the sun salutation I felt so relaxed and my legs no longer felt restless.

    My favorite quotes during the youtube:
    “Nagayama is having a direction and strength for where you see yourself going.”
    “Have clarity of at least one week, what is building that will extend past this week into the future”

  29. I definitely have been thinking a lot about manifestation and how it can play an important part in our ever day lives. A concept that can sometimes be shunned by western thought is one that might be seen as less valuable when living in the west, but the notion of a 50 year plan is one that resonated with me greatly. If we take the time to map and try to plan out the directions we wish to head in life, the directions may sometimes open up to us because we are simply open to them. In planning ahead for our lives, we are opening up many possibilities, even though it may seem to be the opposite. That is not to say I believe that changes from the plan will most certainly happen, but having those thoughts in the back of your mind may help you manifest the life you wish to lead.

  30. This video was very interesting to me, I especially liked the discussion of AUM and its representation of the three different states of being. The first state, A – jagrat represents our body state, or waking state. This focuses on mainly the external. Second, U – swapna is our dream state, or more internal world. M or sushupti is the deep sleep state, here there is no time and space and we can only recognize our involvement in this state until we are out of it and feel refreshed and rejuvenated. Becoming aware of these important states of being allows us to become more mindful in our everyday lives. Mindfulness has become more important to me than ever recently, after attending a recent mindfulness present in your power class at the wellness center. We discussed the senses and becoming more mindful of them, in an exersize we touched the carpet and were very mindful of it. A carpet had never felt so foreign to me before, I had a whole new perspective.

  31. I loved this video, especially Mohan’s laxed, somewhat sarcastic feel when speaking. This video really helped me realize the power one has over their body, and in turn, all aspects of their life. I am a firm believer that 9 times out of 10, the problems someone faces in their lives are due to their own action and behaviors, and this video helped solidify that idea for me. I notice that especially when I practice the Isha Kriya, I realize the power I have within my own life. When relaxing during the IK, I feel my breath and energy flowing throughout my body, somewhat strengthening them with each consecutive practice. I plan on taking this knowledge with me long after our class is over, and using it to take control and maintain my life and mental health in the future.

  32. This video was incredibly insightful on our perceptions of life through time and temporality. The speaker with his gentle and almost common-sense mundane tone communicated so many powerful ideas in such a simplified manner. He speaks about how we regulate our bodies based on our understandings of time and plans for the future. Where this process can become destructive is the moment that manufactured perceptions and values of success and accomplishment are funneled into these life plans. Rather the speaker of this video offers the cultivating of nava vayu yoga as a more fruitful and healthier option of life planning. As opposed to having every single task, route and accomplishment planned out, he argues that we must ease this anxiety-driven desire and make room for the inconsistencies of life. This ideal is summed up simply in his comment that “shit happens”.

  33. Also, as for my Isha Kriya practices: They have been incredibly helpful these past few weeks as finals have veered their heads and my workload has once more became a daunting reality. Through my Isha Kriya practices I have cultivated a sense of relaxation throughout my body that productively counteracts the anxiety I get from homework. This is dramatically helped my ability to focus and my stress and anxiety levels have dramatically decreased since the beginning of the semester although I’ve had fluctuations here and there dispersed throughout.

  34. The clear cut method talked about in the video was highly beneficial to my understanding of what was being spoken of. The traditions, the practices, and the idea of strength and the ability of the body to reflect what is made aware is something of real intrigue. When speaking on the topic of metaphor regarding the wall, I began to slowly understand truly the caliber of energy that is created within these practices and how it can be reflected not only within me, but outward in the surrounding world. This practice can be boiled down motivation which definitely a concentrated aspect of yoga, and an important step in the process of growing a healthy mind.

Leave a Reply

